ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Facebook Login
Facebook Login lets an app or website sign a person in with their Facebook account and receive the account’s public profile, an app-scoped user ID and, with permission, the email address; on iOS, Limited Login returns an OpenID Connect token instead. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect, backed by the ZOREAL ID credential, that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip, with the assurance of each login stated in the token. This page sets the two side by side: what each proves about the person, what it hands the app by default, and what each costs.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Facebook Login, including Limited Login on iOS, with ZOREAL Identify. Meta’s advertising, business messaging and Instagram products, Meta Verified and Meta’s group revenue are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Facebook Login differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
What stands behind the account
Meta’s overview describes Facebook Login as giving an app the person’s "real name and a profile picture"; the pages we reviewed state no document check, liveness step or email-verified flag as the mechanism behind that. ZOREAL’s ID token states, per login, that a human was verified against a government document chip and how this session was authenticated: a fresh liveness capture matched to the enrolled document, a registered hardware-key approval, or a remembered session.
What the app receives by default
With public_profile, granted automatically, Facebook Login returns id, first_name, last_name, middle_name, name, name_format, picture and short_name; email is returned only if a valid address is on the profile. ZOREAL’s ID token carries no personal data: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block, with name, birthdate, document fields and email served only from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain, and age returned as yes-or-no thresholds.
What the relying party pays
The Meta Platform Terms state no fee for Facebook Login and say "We do not guarantee that Platform will always be free." (terms last updated 3 February 2026). ZOREAL: Free to enrol, free Tier A logins; only Tier B logins charged; current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Facebook Login, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Facebook Login |
|---|---|---|
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | Proof of control of a Facebook account. The app receives an app-scoped user ID and the public profile fields, and the person may "grant or deny the requested permissions or any subset of them" (Facebook Login overview; Permissions reference). Meta’s overview uses the phrase "real identity"; a document check, liveness or verification of the person as a mechanism is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
| What the token proves | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | Control of a Facebook account, with a Graph API access token, or, in Limited Login on iOS, an OpenID Connect token carrying the app-scoped ID, name and profile picture (Facebook Login overview; Limited Login). An email-verified flag is not stated in the Graph API User reference we reviewed. |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | Meta’s Facebook Login pages describe the account’s name and picture; a document check or liveness step for the person is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Facebook Login overview; Graph API User reference). |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | Meta issues the access token, or the Limited Login OpenID Connect token, for a Facebook account the person created; the app receives an app-scoped user ID (Limited Login; Graph API User reference). |
| Personal data by default | None in the ID token, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. | With public_profile, granted automatically: id, first_name, last_name, middle_name, name, name_format, picture and short_name. With the email permission: the primary address on the profile, and "This field will not be returned if no valid email address is available." (Graph API User reference). |
| Identifier across apps | One ZOREAL ID serves every service: a returning person at a consented sector approves on their phone without a new capture, or silently when the relying party asks for it; the identifier is stable within the relying party’s registered sector and different at unrelated sectors, so the credential is reused without being linkable across services | An app-scoped user ID: the identifier is scoped to the app (Limited Login; Graph API User reference). A uniqueness guarantee per person across accounts is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | A Facebook account is created by the person; a fee for the account is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Facebook Login overview, Meta Platform Terms). |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | No fee stated as of September 2026. The only cost statement in the Meta Platform Terms is "We do not guarantee that Platform will always be free." (terms last updated 3 February 2026). |
| Protocol and data use | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | OAuth 2.0 with Graph API access tokens; an OpenID Connect token in Limited Login on iOS and Unity, where use of the login "will not be used to personalize or measure advertising effectiveness" (Limited Login). The Platform Terms prohibit "Selling, licensing, or purchasing Platform Data". Meta’s own retention of login events is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Facebook Login offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Facebook Login agree
Facebook Login is a convenient sign-in that costs the person nothing: one dialog, a Facebook account they already hold, and an identifier with a profile handed to the app. ZOREAL Identify takes the same shape on the sign-in page and is also free for the person from enrolment onward. Both put a consent step between the request and the disclosure: Meta lets the person "grant or deny the requested permissions or any subset of them", and ZOREAL shows every requested claim on the phone before the person approves and returns only the scopes granted.
Both give the relying party an identifier that is not shared across unrelated apps. Facebook’s user ID is app-scoped; ZOREAL’s subject is pairwise per relying-party sector. Both, in their OpenID Connect forms (Limited Login for Meta, every login for ZOREAL), hand the app a signed token to validate. Neither asserts a legal signature, and neither is KYC.
What differs is the assurance behind the identifier. Facebook Login proves control of a Facebook account and returns the profile’s name and picture; ZOREAL’s token states that a human was verified against a government document chip and how this particular login was authenticated. A relying party can run both, because they answer different questions.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You need to know that a real human verified against a government document chip is behind the account, with the strength of each login stated in acr and amr
- You want no personal data in the ID token, with name, birthdate and document fields released only on request and with the person’s consent
- You want age thresholds and nationality as yes-or-no answers without a birthdate, on the free tier
- You want the pricing structure published: Tier A logins free and unlimited, with a charge only on a Tier B login where identity disclosure is requested
Facebook Login may fit you if
- You want a login your users already hold on Facebook (Meta reports 3.60 billion family daily active people for June 2026, a family-of-apps figure)
- You need name and picture at sign-up without an extra step, as public_profile returns them automatically
- You ship on iOS, Android, web, desktop, smart TVs or devices without a browser, which Meta’s overview lists
- You do not need assurance about the person behind the account beyond control of it
Other alternatives to Facebook Login
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- Sign in with GoogleSign in with Google (Google Identity Services)
Google’s account login for websites and apps: a button, One Tap, and an OpenID Connect ID token carrying the Google Account ID, email, name and picture.
- Pricing
- No fee stated in Google’s developer terms as of September 2026; usage beyond documented limits may carry additional terms or charges.
- Assurance
- Proves control of a Google Account; the token flags whether Google verified the email address. No statement about the person behind the account.
- Reuse
- The same Google Account ID is presented to every relying party; a person may hold several accounts.
- Sign in with AppleSign in with Apple (native, Sign in with Apple JS and the REST API)
Apple’s account login for apps and websites: a button backed by the Apple Account’s two-factor authentication, with a one-time name and email share and an optional relay email.
- Pricing
- No separate fee stated; requires Apple Developer Program membership at 99 USD per membership year, as listed on developer.apple.com in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Proves control of an Apple Account and returns a three-valued real user status signal. No document check or liveness is stated.
- Reuse
- The same Apple Account is used across apps; Apple’s pages do not state a uniqueness guarantee per person.
- Microsoft Entra IDMicrosoft identity platform: Microsoft account sign-in, Microsoft Entra External ID and Microsoft Entra ID
Microsoft’s identity platform: consumer Microsoft account and Entra work-account sign-in, plus Entra External ID for customer identity with social and enterprise federation.
- Pricing
- External ID is free for the first 50,000 monthly active users, then per-MAU meters listed at $0.03 (Basic) and $0.01625 (Core) in Microsoft’s retail price list; Entra ID P1 is $7.00 per user per month paid yearly, as listed in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Proves control of a Microsoft or Entra account, with a pairwise subject per application. No document check or liveness is stated for sign-in.
- Reuse
- Microsoft accounts and Entra accounts are reused across applications; Verified ID lets organisations issue reusable verifiable credentials to Microsoft Authenticator.
- Auth0Auth0 by Okta (customer identity platform)
Okta’s Auth0 customer identity platform: hosted login, user database, social and enterprise connections, and OpenID Connect tokens for your app.
- Pricing
- Free up to 25,000 monthly active users; paid plans from $35 per month at 500 MAU (B2C Essentials), Enterprise by contact, as listed on auth0.com in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Whatever the upstream connection proves; identity proofing is available through Marketplace partner integrations, not built in.
- Reuse
- Not an identity network; each tenant holds its own users. Upstream social and enterprise identities are reused through connections.
- Amazon CognitoAmazon Cognito user pools
AWS’s hosted user directory and OAuth 2.0 identity provider: local sign-in, social and SAML or OIDC federation, and JWTs for your app.
- Pricing
- 10,000 monthly active users free on Lite and Essentials, then $0.0055 to $0.020 per MAU by tier; federated users $0.015 per MAU above 50, as listed on aws.amazon.com in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Whatever the local credential or upstream provider proves; no document check or liveness is stated.
- Reuse
- Not an identity network; each user pool is the app’s own directory. Upstream identities are reused through federation.
- Firebase AuthenticationFirebase Authentication, with the Identity Platform upgrade
Google’s Firebase Authentication: backend, SDKs and drop-in UI for email, phone, social and, with Identity Platform, SAML and OIDC sign-in.
- Pricing
- No cost up to 50,000 monthly active users, then from $0.0055 per MAU (Tier 1) and $0.015 per MAU for OIDC and SAML users above 50, as listed by Google in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Whatever the credential or upstream provider proves; no document check or liveness is stated.
- Reuse
- Not an identity network; each project holds its own users. Upstream identities are reused through providers.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Facebook Login’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Meta, Facebook Login overview: real name and picture, permissions, platforms Read 2026-09-10
- Meta, Permissions reference: grant or deny any subset Read 2026-09-10
- Meta, Graph API User reference: public profile fields, email conditional Read 2026-09-10
- Meta, Limited Login: OpenID Connect token, app-scoped ID, no ad personalization Read 2026-09-10
- Meta, Platform Terms: free not guaranteed, Platform Data restrictions Read 2026-09-10
- Meta, Q2 2026 results (SEC exhibit 99.1): family daily active people Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Facebook Login. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.