ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Supabase Auth
"Supabase Auth makes it easy to implement authentication and authorization in your app": it is the authentication component of the Supabase platform, verifying email and password, magic link, one-time code, social, custom OAuth2 or OIDC and SAML credentials and issuing JSON Web Tokens that the app and Postgres row-level security consume. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect, backed by the ZOREAL ID credential, that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip, with the assurance of each login stated in the token. This page sets the two side by side: where each sits in the stack, what each token proves about the person, and what each costs.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Supabase Auth with ZOREAL Identify. The Supabase database, storage and edge functions, and Supabase’s funding beyond the figures it publishes, are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Supabase Auth differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
Database auth layer, or identity provider
Supabase Auth verifies a credential and issues a JWT that the app and Postgres row-level security consume, with 19 social providers listed and any "OAuth2 or OIDC-compatible identity provider" for custom set-ups; what its token proves is the credential or the upstream provider’s result. ZOREAL is an upstream OpenID Connect provider; a Supabase project can consume it as a custom provider, and its third-party auth feature accepts external JWTs, while the app keeps Supabase tokens and row-level security.
What is known about the person
Any identity proofing, document verification or liveness is not stated in the Supabase Auth materials we reviewed. ZOREAL builds the document chip read, the face match and the liveness capture into enrolment, and states per login in acr and amr whether a fresh capture, a registered hardware key or a remembered session authenticated this session.
Per user, or only when disclosing
Supabase’s Free plan is "$0/month" with "50,000 monthly active users"; Pro is "from $25/month" with "100,000 monthly active users" then "$0.00325 per MAU", and SSO users "50 included, then $0.015 per MAU" (supabase.com/pricing, USD, September 2026). ZOREAL: Free to enrol, free Tier A logins; only Tier B logins charged; there is no per-MAU meter, and current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Supabase Auth, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Supabase Auth |
|---|---|---|
| Role in the stack | An upstream OpenID Connect identity provider at id.zoreal.com; the relying party redirects, the holder approves on their phone, and a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS. ZOREAL is not an authentication layer or user store for the relying party’s own users. | The authentication component of the Supabase platform, using "JSON Web Tokens (JWTs) for authentication", with the JWT consumed by the app and by Postgres row-level security (Supabase Auth guide). |
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | Supabase Auth verifies a credential (email and password, magic link, one-time code, social OAuth from Apple, Azure, Bitbucket, Discord, Facebook, Figma, GitHub, GitLab, Google, Kakao, Keycloak, LinkedIn, Notion, Slack, Spotify, Twitter, Twitch, WorkOS and Zoom, a custom OAuth2 or OIDC provider, or SAML SSO on paid plans) and issues a JWT (Supabase Auth guide; pricing). A document check or liveness is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
| What the token proves | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | The credential or the upstream provider’s result, carried in a JWT (Supabase Auth guide). |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | Not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Supabase Auth guide, pricing, Series F release, terms). |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | Supabase Auth issues the JWT for the project after verifying a credential or an upstream provider; each project holds its own users (Supabase Auth guide). |
| Identity proofing | Built into enrolment (document photographed, machine-readable zone read, chip read over NFC and verified server-side, flash-plus-zoom liveness capture face-matched 1:1 to the chip portrait) and, on request through acr_values, into a login: a live floor requires a presence attestation minted after scoring a fresh capture, and a pairing that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. | Not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Supabase Auth guide, pricing). |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | The project’s users are created in Supabase or arrive through a provider; the Free plan is "$0/month" with "50,000 monthly active users" and third-party MAU "50,000 included", SSO not included, and "Free projects are paused after 1 week of inactivity" (supabase.com/pricing, USD, September 2026). |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | Priced per monthly active user, not per sign-in. Pro: "from $25/month", "100,000 monthly active users" then "$0.00325 per MAU", SSO "50 included, then $0.015 per MAU", spend caps on by default; Team: "from $599/month" with the same MAU and SSO rates; Enterprise: "custom pricing" (supabase.com/pricing, USD, September 2026). |
| Standards and scale stated | OpenID Connect and OAuth 2.0 from the provider at id.zoreal.com. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. ZOREAL states no count of enrolled holders or relying parties. | JWT, OAuth 2.0, OpenID Connect (custom providers) and SAML 2.0 (SSO) (Supabase Auth guide). Supabase states "Over 250,000 customers" in its June 2026 Series F release. Compliance attestations and retention of auth records are not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Supabase Auth offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Supabase Auth agree
Supabase Auth gives an app a convenient sign-in for its users at no cost up to 50,000 monthly active users, with the identities of Google, Apple, GitHub and sixteen other providers reused and a JWT handed to the app and the database. ZOREAL Identify is also free for the person from enrolment onward and free for basic sign-ins on every plan. Both are OpenID Connect and JWT based, and both hand the app a signed token to validate.
The two occupy different layers. Supabase Auth is the app’s authentication layer, tied to Postgres row-level security; ZOREAL is an upstream identity provider that Supabase can consume as an OIDC-compatible custom provider, or whose token the third-party auth feature can accept. A relying party on Supabase keeps its Supabase JWTs and row-level security and adds ZOREAL’s claims. Neither asserts a legal signature, and neither is KYC.
What differs is the assurance behind the identifier. Supabase’s token proves the credential or the upstream provider’s result, with no document check or liveness stated; ZOREAL’s token states that a human was verified against a government document chip and how this particular login was authenticated.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You need to know that a real human verified against a government document chip is behind the account, with the strength of each login stated in acr and amr
- You want a pairwise identifier per sector and no personal data in the ID token
- You want age thresholds and nationality as yes-or-no answers without a birthdate, on the free tier
- You want Tier A logins free without limit and a charge only on a Tier B login where identity is disclosed, rather than a per-MAU meter
Supabase Auth may fit you if
- Your app already runs on Supabase Postgres and you want authentication tied to row-level security
- You want 50,000 monthly active users free, then $0.00325 per MAU above 100,000 on Pro
- You need many social providers out of the box: 19 are listed, plus custom OAuth2 or OIDC and SAML SSO on paid plans
- You do not need assurance about the person from the authentication layer itself
Other alternatives to Supabase Auth
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- Sign in with GoogleSign in with Google (Google Identity Services)
Google’s account login for websites and apps: a button, One Tap, and an OpenID Connect ID token carrying the Google Account ID, email, name and picture.
- Pricing
- No fee stated in Google’s developer terms as of September 2026; usage beyond documented limits may carry additional terms or charges.
- Assurance
- Proves control of a Google Account; the token flags whether Google verified the email address. No statement about the person behind the account.
- Reuse
- The same Google Account ID is presented to every relying party; a person may hold several accounts.
- Facebook LoginFacebook Login (including Limited Login on iOS)
Meta’s account login for apps and websites: a login dialog returning an app-scoped user ID, name, picture and, if granted, email.
- Pricing
- No fee stated in the Meta Platform Terms as of September 2026; the terms say free is not guaranteed.
- Assurance
- Proves control of a Facebook account and returns the profile’s name and picture. No document check, liveness or email-verified flag is stated.
- Reuse
- An app-scoped user ID per app; a person may hold more than one account.
- Sign in with AppleSign in with Apple (native, Sign in with Apple JS and the REST API)
Apple’s account login for apps and websites: a button backed by the Apple Account’s two-factor authentication, with a one-time name and email share and an optional relay email.
- Pricing
- No separate fee stated; requires Apple Developer Program membership at 99 USD per membership year, as listed on developer.apple.com in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Proves control of an Apple Account and returns a three-valued real user status signal. No document check or liveness is stated.
- Reuse
- The same Apple Account is used across apps; Apple’s pages do not state a uniqueness guarantee per person.
- Microsoft Entra IDMicrosoft identity platform: Microsoft account sign-in, Microsoft Entra External ID and Microsoft Entra ID
Microsoft’s identity platform: consumer Microsoft account and Entra work-account sign-in, plus Entra External ID for customer identity with social and enterprise federation.
- Pricing
- External ID is free for the first 50,000 monthly active users, then per-MAU meters listed at $0.03 (Basic) and $0.01625 (Core) in Microsoft’s retail price list; Entra ID P1 is $7.00 per user per month paid yearly, as listed in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Proves control of a Microsoft or Entra account, with a pairwise subject per application. No document check or liveness is stated for sign-in.
- Reuse
- Microsoft accounts and Entra accounts are reused across applications; Verified ID lets organisations issue reusable verifiable credentials to Microsoft Authenticator.
- Auth0Auth0 by Okta (customer identity platform)
Okta’s Auth0 customer identity platform: hosted login, user database, social and enterprise connections, and OpenID Connect tokens for your app.
- Pricing
- Free up to 25,000 monthly active users; paid plans from $35 per month at 500 MAU (B2C Essentials), Enterprise by contact, as listed on auth0.com in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Whatever the upstream connection proves; identity proofing is available through Marketplace partner integrations, not built in.
- Reuse
- Not an identity network; each tenant holds its own users. Upstream social and enterprise identities are reused through connections.
- Amazon CognitoAmazon Cognito user pools
AWS’s hosted user directory and OAuth 2.0 identity provider: local sign-in, social and SAML or OIDC federation, and JWTs for your app.
- Pricing
- 10,000 monthly active users free on Lite and Essentials, then $0.0055 to $0.020 per MAU by tier; federated users $0.015 per MAU above 50, as listed on aws.amazon.com in September 2026.
- Assurance
- Whatever the local credential or upstream provider proves; no document check or liveness is stated.
- Reuse
- Not an identity network; each user pool is the app’s own directory. Upstream identities are reused through federation.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Supabase Auth’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Supabase, Pricing: plans, MAU allowances, overage, SSO, free project pause Read 2026-09-10
- Supabase, Auth guide: what it is, methods, providers, JWT, custom OIDC, third-party auth Read 2026-09-10
- Supabase, Series F release (PR Newswire, 4 June 2026): customers Read 2026-09-10
- Supabase, Terms of Service: legal entity Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Supabase Auth. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.