ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Jumio
Jumio Identity Verification checks a government ID photo, matches a selfie to it with liveness, can read a passport chip in its mobile SDK, and returns a verification decision to the business that ran the check; selfie.DONE re-verifies a returning user with a selfie. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, who holds the result afterwards, what each costs and how data is handled.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Jumio Identity Verification, its NFC chip read, Liveness Premium and selfie.DONE with ZOREAL Identify. Jumio’s AML screening, transaction monitoring (Jumio Watch) and supporting-document products are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Jumio differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
Who holds the result afterwards
Jumio returns a verification decision and the extracted data to the business that ran the check, and selfie.DONE re-verifies a returning user with a selfie against the Jumio Identity Graph; a login identifier for relying parties is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who holds it in the ZOREAL ID app and logs in with it at every relying party; the relying party receives a pairwise pseudonymous identifier that is stable within its registered sector and different at unrelated sectors, plus the assurance of each login stated in the token.
What a verification costs
Jumio publishes no price list: jumio.com/pricing returned HTTP 404 on 10 September 2026 and the contact page offers "Talk to a Sales Rep"; no free tier, trial, minimum or set-up fee is stated on the pages read. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Third-party evaluations on file
Jumio states its liveness was tested by the iBeta lab and "achieved ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 Presentation Attack Detection (PAD) conformance" (letter dated 11 September 2025: 750 attacks over 5 species, APCER 0%), and lists SOC 2 Type 2 for its platform (2022), ISO/IEC 27001:2013 and PCI DSS. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Jumio Identity Verification, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Jumio |
|---|---|---|
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | The user photographs a government-issued ID and Jumio "confirms the document is authentic and extracts its data"; a selfie is captured "to ensure the person you're onboarding is the same as the person on the ID", with liveness using "patented active illumination"; the mobile SDK can read the MRZ and NFC chips of passports, and the documentation states "NFC Read-Only scanning is disabled per default"; database checks cross-reference the person against authoritative and watchlist sources (jumio.com product and features pages, documentation.jumio.ai, September 2026). Whether the NFC read performs chip authenticity checks is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: features page, extraction reference, Android SDK README). |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | A verification decision and the extracted document data, returned to the business that ran the check. selfie.DONE lets a returning user be "instantly recognized and reverified with just a selfie" for businesses connected to the Jumio Identity Graph; a login identifier or credential for relying parties is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: selfie.DONE release and product page). |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | Jumio states "Most identity verification checks finish in seconds" and that its liveness achieved ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 PAD conformance in iBeta testing (letter dated 11 September 2025, APCER 0% on 750 attacks). No accuracy percentage for document or face matching is stated on the pages read (Identity Verification product page; ISO/IEC 30107-3 release). |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | No credential is issued to the person: the verification result belongs to the business that ran the check, and Jumio’s Online Services Privacy Notice states that it generally acts as a controller. selfie.DONE, launched 27 October 2025, recognises a returning user by selfie against the Jumio Identity Graph across connected businesses (selfie.DONE release; Online Services Privacy Notice). |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | No published price list as of September 2026: jumio.com/pricing returned HTTP 404 on 10 September 2026 and the contact page offers "Talk to a Sales Rep". No free tier, trial, minimum or set-up fee is stated on the pages read (contact page; Terms of Use). |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | No published price per verification or per selfie.DONE re-verification as of September 2026 (pages read: pricing URL, contact page, selfie.DONE product page). |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | "native mobile apps (SDK), mobile web and API-based implementations": iOS and Android SDKs published on GitHub, a web client and a REST API (features page; Jumio/mobile-sdk-ios and Jumio/mobile-sdk-android on GitHub, September 2026). |
| Data handling | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | Online Services Privacy Notice (last updated 4 August 2026): "This Notice generally describes Jumio's privacy practices as a Controller", with Jumio acting as a processor for certain customers including some in the EEA and UK; Jumio "will permanently destroy such biometric data derived from images and recordings in its possession within three years" of first provision. |
| Certifications and evaluations | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Liveness: iBeta ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 PAD conformance (release of 21 October 2025; letter dated 11 September 2025 naming Jumio PAD SDK v5.11.0(1) on iOS). SOC 2 Type 2 "with zero exceptions" for the platform (13 September 2022), and in the same release ISO/IEC 27001:2013 and PCI DSS "previously achieved". Current certificate versions could not be read: trust.jumio.com returned HTTP 403 on 10 September 2026. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Jumio offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Jumio agree
Both start from the same evidence: a government identity document and a live face. Jumio confirms the document image is authentic, captures a selfie to check that the person is the one on the ID, and tests liveness; on mobile, with the setting enabled, its SDK reads the passport chip. ZOREAL ID enrolment photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. The bar is the same one: a real document and a real person, bound together.
Both also publish what the result does not cover. Jumio’s documentation states that NFC read-only scanning is disabled by default, so a buyer knows a chip result is a setting and not a given, and its privacy notice states a fixed limit for biometric data. ZOREAL’s product definition lists what the token never asserts: not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof of free consent, and the ID token carries no personal data. Neither leaves the buyer to discover those limits in production.
Where they differ is what happens after the check. Jumio’s result goes to the business that ran it, and selfie.DONE recognises a returning user within Jumio’s network; the business pays Jumio under a contract with no published price. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who reuses it as a sign-in at every relying party with a different pairwise identifier at each sector; the person pays nothing, and the relying party pays nothing for a Tier A login.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want a sign-in rather than a check: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
- You want the person, not your database, to hold the credential, and to reuse it at every service without being linkable across them
- You want published pricing with no sales call: free enrolment, every Tier A login free without limit, and a charge only on a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
- You want the assurance of each login stated in acr and amr, with a floor you set per request and a request that cannot meet it denied rather than downgraded
Jumio may fit you if
- You need KYC or AML onboarding with database and watchlist checks alongside the identity check; ZOREAL Identify is not KYC
- You must verify people who will not install an app: Jumio offers mobile web and API-based flows
- You need document coverage stated at more than 5,000 ID document types across 200 countries and territories
- You require a liveness product with an iBeta ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 letter on file
Other alternatives to Jumio
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- VeriffVeriff Identity Verification
Veriff verifies a document photo and a selfie with passive liveness, optional background video and device signals, with an NFC chip read available in the mobile SDKs, through iOS, Android, web SDK, API or a hosted page; self-serve plans are priced per verification and reverification re-checks a returning user for the same business.
- Pricing
- Essential $0.80 per verification with a $49 per month minimum; Plus $1.39 and $99; Premium $1.89 and $209; a 15-day trial of up to 50 sessions; Enterprise at volume pricing (veriff.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-document face match; passive liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (September 2024); FIDO DocAuth certification for Full Auto IDV (April 2026); NFC chip read as an optional SDK framework.
- Reuse
- Per business: reverification re-checks the same user for the same customer. A cross-business identifier or login is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Entrust IDV (Onfido)Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido)
Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido) runs document, chip, biometric and device checks in configurable Workflow Studio journeys through Web, iOS and Android SDKs, a hosted link or the API, and returns clear or consider results to the business; it is certified under ETSI TS 119 461 and the UK DIATF for regulated identity proofing.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Entrust’s contact-sales page is the route to a quote.
- Assurance
- Document classification by Atlas AI or an eMRTD chip read with passive and active authentication; face bound with Motion liveness stated as iBeta PAD Levels 1 and 2 on iOS and Android.
- Reuse
- Per business: results belong to the client workflow. A cross-business identifier or login product is not stated in the public materials we could read.
- SumsubSumsub platform and Sumsub ID
Sumsub verifies a document image, a selfie with liveness, and optionally the NFC chip, email and phone, through WebSDK, mobile SDKs, a link or the API, with KYC and AML add-ons; Sumsub ID (March 2025) lets a person who verified with one Sumsub client re-share stored document images with another Sumsub client after an email code, a liveness check and explicit consent.
- Pricing
- Basic $1.35 per verification with a $149 monthly minimum; Compliance $1.85 with $299; Enterprise on request; 14-day trial with 50 free checks (sumsub.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document checks plus liveness and face match; liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 on Android and iOS (April 2025); NFC chip data cross-validated against cryptographic and visual checks on mobile.
- Reuse
- Within the Sumsub client base: Sumsub ID stores document images and metadata, recognises the person by email plus a one-time code and liveness, and shares with explicit consent to another Sumsub client, which runs its own checks. A login identifier for relying parties is not stated.
- SocurePredictive DocV on the RiskOS platform
Socure’s RiskOS platform combines Predictive DocV (document and selfie verification with liveness and injection detection) with data-source KYC, watchlist, phone, device and fraud scoring, sold self-serve per evaluation or as an enterprise contract.
- Pricing
- Socure Launch lists DocV at $0.80 per evaluation and bundles up to $1.30, with $1,000 in free monthly credits; Enterprise is usage-based with volume discounts (socure.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document fraud models plus selfie liveness the vendor describes as NIST PAD Level 2, with injection-attack detection; chip reading is not stated. ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2 and FedRAMP Moderate are listed on its trust center.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
- PersonaPersona Government ID and Selfie verifications
Persona runs government ID, selfie, phone, document and database verifications inside an embedded web module, a hosted flow or native Android, iOS and React Native SDKs, with results returned to the business through its dashboard and API.
- Pricing
- Essential at $250 per month on an annual contract with 500 free services per month and $1.50 per service beyond; Growth and Enterprise on request; 60-day trial of up to 50 services (help.withpersona.com Plans Overview, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Government ID image checks plus a real-time selfie video liveness check; database and phone checks as options. Certifications and chip reading are not stated in the public materials we could read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we could read.
- TruliooTrulioo Identity Document Verification and Person Verification
Trulioo verifies people against data sources in 195 countries and verifies identity documents with OCR, MRZ extraction, passive liveness and face match, through web, iOS and Android SDKs, an API and a no-code Workflow Studio, alongside business verification and watchlist screening.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the pricing page offers a demo booking.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity checks plus selfie-to-document face match with passive liveness; data-source matching for person verification. The liveness test lab and level are not named on the pages we read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Jumio’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Jumio Identity Verification product page (what is checked, speed) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio Features page (document coverage, NFC and MRZ, platforms) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio Liveness Detection product page (active illumination) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 press release (21 October 2025) Read 2026-09-10
- iBeta confirmation letter for Jumio PAD SDK v5.11.0(1), 11 September 2025 Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio SOC 2 Type 2 press release (13 September 2022) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio Online Services Privacy Notice (controller role, biometric retention) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio Terms of Use (legal entity, no fee schedule) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio contact page ("Talk to a Sales Rep") Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio pricing URL (HTTP 404 on the review date) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio trust center (HTTP 403 on the review date) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio selfie.DONE launch press release (27 October 2025) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio selfie.DONE product page Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio documentation, Extraction reference (NFC disabled by default) Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio Android SDK README Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio mobile SDK for iOS on GitHub Read 2026-09-10
- Jumio mobile SDK for Android on GitHub Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Jumio. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.