ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Persona
Persona runs government ID, selfie, phone, document and database verifications inside an embedded web module, a hosted flow or native mobile SDKs, and returns the inquiry result to the business through its dashboard and API; its help center publishes an Essential plan at $250 per month on an annual contract. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, who holds the result afterwards, what each costs and what could be read about data handling.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Persona’s Government ID and Selfie verifications, with Phone, Document and Database verifications as adjacent inputs, against ZOREAL Identify. Persona’s marketing site, pricing page, security page and privacy policy returned HTTP 403 on 10 September 2026 and are not quoted.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Persona differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
Who holds the result afterwards
Persona returns the inquiry result to the business that embedded or hosted the flow, through its dashboard and API; a reusable identity or login product is not stated on the pages we could read. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who holds it in the ZOREAL ID app and logs in with it at every relying party; the relying party receives a pairwise pseudonymous identifier, stable within its registered sector and different at unrelated sectors, plus the assurance of each login stated in the token.
What a verification costs
Persona’s help center lists Essential at "$250/month (on an annual contract)" with "500 free services per month" and "$1.50 per service" beyond, "$" as displayed with currency and geography not stated; Growth and Enterprise are priced through sales, and a 60-day trial covers up to 50 services with no card. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
What is read from the document
Persona’s documentation describes a submitted government ID image ("a driver license, national ID, or passport") and a real-time selfie video that "Persona checks that the individual is live and real"; NFC chip reading is not stated in the public materials we could read. ZOREAL ID enrolment reads the document’s chip over NFC, re-runs passive authentication on the server against a trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked, has the chip prove possession of its private key, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Persona, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Persona |
|---|---|---|
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | Government ID: "The individual is asked to submit a government ID such as a driver license, national ID, or passport." Selfie: "The individual is asked to take a video of their face in real-time, and Persona checks that the individual is live and real." Phone: a confirmation PIN, then a check against public and private databases. Database: personal information checked against AAMVA, eCBSV, the Phone Carrier Database, Serpro (Brazil) and the IRS TIN Database (docs.withpersona.com verification types, September 2026). NFC chip reading is not stated in the public materials we could read (pages read: verification types, mobile SDKs). |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | The inquiry result, returned to the business that embedded or hosted the flow, through the dashboard and the REST API. A reusable identity or login product is not stated in the public materials we could read (pages read: docs index, verifications overview). |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | "Persona checks that the individual is live and real." (verification types). Certifications, liveness test levels and accuracy figures could not be read: withpersona.com/security, trust.withpersona.com and the privacy policy returned HTTP 403 on 10 September 2026, and this page does not claim their absence. |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | No credential to the person is described on the readable pages; the inquiry result belongs to the business. Persona’s controller or processor role could not be read (privacy policy returned HTTP 403 on 10 September 2026). |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | Per plan, paid by the business: Essential "$250/month (on an annual contract)" with "500 free services per month" and "$1.50 per service" beyond, "$" as displayed with currency and geography not stated; Growth and Enterprise are custom; a 60-day free trial with "up to 50 services" and no credit card (help.withpersona.com Plans Overview, September 2026). A "service" is the vendor’s billing unit; how many services one government ID plus selfie inquiry consumes is not stated on the page read. |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | Each further verification consumes services at the plan rate, and "the 500 free services per month do not roll over". 12 x $250 = $3,000 per year on the annual contract; at the full allotment the effective rate is $250 / 500 = $0.50 per service before overage (Plans Overview). |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | Embedded Flow, "a drop-in module that enables you to seamlessly verify individuals within your web page"; a Hosted Flow; native SDKs for Android, iOS and React Native (SDK v2); a REST API (docs.withpersona.com, September 2026). Minimum OS versions could not be read: the SDK guide pages returned 404. |
| Data handling | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | Not readable: withpersona.com/legal/privacy-policy returned HTTP 403 on 10 September 2026, so this page states nothing about Persona’s retention periods or its controller or processor role. |
| Certifications and evaluations | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Not readable: withpersona.com/security and trust.withpersona.com returned HTTP 403 on 10 September 2026; no certification is quoted here and none is claimed absent. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Persona offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Persona agree
Both start from the same evidence: a government identity document and a live face. Persona asks the person to submit a driver licence, national ID or passport and to take a real-time video of their face, and checks that the individual is live and real. ZOREAL ID enrolment photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. The bar is the same one: a real document and a real person, bound together.
Both publish a price and let a buyer start without a card. Persona’s help center lists the Essential plan with its monthly allotment and per-service overage, and a 60-day trial of up to 50 services. ZOREAL lists enrolment as free, every Tier A login as free without limit, and a charge only on a Tier B login where identity disclosure is requested. This page says less about Persona than Persona’s own site does, because that site could not be read on the review date; nothing here should be taken as a statement that Persona lacks a certification or a retention policy.
Where they differ is what happens after the check. Persona’s inquiry result goes to the business that ran it, which pays per service under its plan. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who reuses it as a sign-in at every relying party with a different pairwise identifier at each sector; the person pays nothing and the relying party pays nothing for a Tier A login.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want a sign-in rather than a check: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
- You want the document’s chip read and its authenticity verified at enrolment, not only the printed image checked
- You want returning sign-ins at no per-event charge: every Tier A login is free without limit, and a charge applies only to a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
- You want the person, not your database, to hold the credential, and to reuse it at every service without being linkable across them
Persona may fit you if
- You want a published monthly plan with a free service allotment and a 60-day trial that needs no card
- You need U.S. database checks such as AAMVA, eCBSV or the IRS TIN database alongside ID verification; ZOREAL Identify is not KYC
- You must verify people who will not install an app: the Embedded Flow and Hosted Flow run in the browser
- You want native Android, iOS and React Native SDKs inside your own app
Other alternatives to Persona
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- JumioJumio Identity Verification and selfie.DONE
Jumio Identity Verification checks a government ID photo, matches a selfie with liveness, can read a passport chip on mobile, and runs database and watchlist checks through an SDK, mobile web flow or API; selfie.DONE (October 2025) re-verifies a returning user with a selfie across businesses connected to the Jumio Identity Graph.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Jumio’s contact page offers a sales conversation.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-ID face match; liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (letter dated 11 September 2025); NFC chip read available in the mobile SDK and disabled by default.
- Reuse
- Within Jumio’s network: selfie.DONE recognises a returning user by selfie against the Jumio Identity Graph. A login identifier for relying parties is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- VeriffVeriff Identity Verification
Veriff verifies a document photo and a selfie with passive liveness, optional background video and device signals, with an NFC chip read available in the mobile SDKs, through iOS, Android, web SDK, API or a hosted page; self-serve plans are priced per verification and reverification re-checks a returning user for the same business.
- Pricing
- Essential $0.80 per verification with a $49 per month minimum; Plus $1.39 and $99; Premium $1.89 and $209; a 15-day trial of up to 50 sessions; Enterprise at volume pricing (veriff.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-document face match; passive liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (September 2024); FIDO DocAuth certification for Full Auto IDV (April 2026); NFC chip read as an optional SDK framework.
- Reuse
- Per business: reverification re-checks the same user for the same customer. A cross-business identifier or login is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Entrust IDV (Onfido)Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido)
Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido) runs document, chip, biometric and device checks in configurable Workflow Studio journeys through Web, iOS and Android SDKs, a hosted link or the API, and returns clear or consider results to the business; it is certified under ETSI TS 119 461 and the UK DIATF for regulated identity proofing.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Entrust’s contact-sales page is the route to a quote.
- Assurance
- Document classification by Atlas AI or an eMRTD chip read with passive and active authentication; face bound with Motion liveness stated as iBeta PAD Levels 1 and 2 on iOS and Android.
- Reuse
- Per business: results belong to the client workflow. A cross-business identifier or login product is not stated in the public materials we could read.
- SumsubSumsub platform and Sumsub ID
Sumsub verifies a document image, a selfie with liveness, and optionally the NFC chip, email and phone, through WebSDK, mobile SDKs, a link or the API, with KYC and AML add-ons; Sumsub ID (March 2025) lets a person who verified with one Sumsub client re-share stored document images with another Sumsub client after an email code, a liveness check and explicit consent.
- Pricing
- Basic $1.35 per verification with a $149 monthly minimum; Compliance $1.85 with $299; Enterprise on request; 14-day trial with 50 free checks (sumsub.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document checks plus liveness and face match; liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 on Android and iOS (April 2025); NFC chip data cross-validated against cryptographic and visual checks on mobile.
- Reuse
- Within the Sumsub client base: Sumsub ID stores document images and metadata, recognises the person by email plus a one-time code and liveness, and shares with explicit consent to another Sumsub client, which runs its own checks. A login identifier for relying parties is not stated.
- SocurePredictive DocV on the RiskOS platform
Socure’s RiskOS platform combines Predictive DocV (document and selfie verification with liveness and injection detection) with data-source KYC, watchlist, phone, device and fraud scoring, sold self-serve per evaluation or as an enterprise contract.
- Pricing
- Socure Launch lists DocV at $0.80 per evaluation and bundles up to $1.30, with $1,000 in free monthly credits; Enterprise is usage-based with volume discounts (socure.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document fraud models plus selfie liveness the vendor describes as NIST PAD Level 2, with injection-attack detection; chip reading is not stated. ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2 and FedRAMP Moderate are listed on its trust center.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
- TruliooTrulioo Identity Document Verification and Person Verification
Trulioo verifies people against data sources in 195 countries and verifies identity documents with OCR, MRZ extraction, passive liveness and face match, through web, iOS and Android SDKs, an API and a no-code Workflow Studio, alongside business verification and watchlist screening.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the pricing page offers a demo booking.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity checks plus selfie-to-document face match with passive liveness; data-source matching for person verification. The liveness test lab and level are not named on the pages we read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Persona’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Persona Help Center, Plans Overview (Essential, Growth, Enterprise, trial) Read 2026-09-10
- Persona docs, Verification types Read 2026-09-10
- Persona docs, Verifications overview Read 2026-09-10
- Persona docs, Embedded Flow Read 2026-09-10
- Persona docs, Mobile SDKs Read 2026-09-10
- Persona docs index (API reference) Read 2026-09-10
- Persona security page (HTTP 403 on the review date) Read 2026-09-10
- Persona privacy policy (HTTP 403 on the review date) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Persona. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.