Skip to comparison
ZOREAL

ZOREAL Identify

Alternatives to Veriff

Veriff verifies a document photo and a selfie with passive liveness, optional background video and device signals, with an NFC chip read shipped as a separate framework in its mobile SDKs, and returns a decision and extracted fields to the business that ordered the session. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, who holds the result afterwards, what each costs and how data is handled.

Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Veriff Identity Verification, its NFC framework and its Reverification use case with ZOREAL Identify. Veriff’s PEP and sanctions screening, ongoing monitoring and the KYB product acquired with Vespia are out of scope.

Where ZOREAL Identify and Veriff differ

  • The guarantee

    ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.

  • Who holds the result afterwards

    Veriff returns a decision and extracted fields to the business that ordered the session, and its Reverification use case re-checks a returning user "with document and biometric checks" for that business; a cross-business identifier or login is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who holds it in the ZOREAL ID app and logs in with it at every relying party; the relying party receives a pairwise pseudonymous identifier, stable within its registered sector and different at unrelated sectors, plus the assurance of each login stated in the token.

  • What a verification costs

    Veriff lists Essential at "$0.80 per verification" with "$49/ month min.", Plus at $1.39 and $99, Premium at $1.89 and $209 (USD as displayed, geography not stated), with a 15-day trial of up to 50 sessions and no card; a permanent free tier is not stated. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.

  • Third-party evaluations on file

    Veriff states it "completed the ISO/IEC 30107-3 iBeta Level 2 Compliance evaluation for biometric passive liveness detection" (September 2024, IAPAR 0%) and that its Full Auto IDV "achieved the FIDO Alliance Document Authenticity (DocAuth) Certification" (April 2026, 19 document types from 12 countries), and its Trust Center lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022, 27017, 27018 and SOC 2 Type II. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026.

Side by side

Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Veriff Identity Verification, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.

AttributeZOREAL IdentifyVeriff
How the identity is boundEnrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope."User takes a photo of their identity document", then "user takes a selfie" with liveness detection; "Biometric information is extracted from photos and an optional non-disruptive background video"; "More than 1,000 data points are automatically analyzed, using network and device analytics". On iOS and Android the SDK can read the NFC chip of ePassports and compatible ID cards, and "The NFC scanning logic is provided as a separate framework" (Identity Verification product page; iOS SDK guide, September 2026). Whether the NFC read verifies chip authenticity is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: NFC launch post, iOS SDK guide, product page).
What the relying party receivesTwo halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser.A decision and extracted data fields for the ordering business, with session generation via API, webhook configuration and media download on every self-serve plan. Reverification: "Instantly reverify users with document and biometric checks" for the same business. A cross-business identifier or login product is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: Reverification use case, pricing).
GuaranteeZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine.Veriff states a "6-second average verification time", a "98% check automation rate powered by AI" and "95% of genuine users verified successfully on their first try", without period, plan or population; passive liveness completed the iBeta ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 evaluation (September 2024, IAPAR 0%) and Full Auto IDV holds FIDO DocAuth certification (April 2026) (Identity Verification product page; press releases).
Who issues the credentialZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses.No credential is issued to the person: results belong to the ordering business, and Veriff states "Veriff processes End-Users' information as directed by our Customers" as a processor. Reverification is described per customer; a reusable credential is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (privacy notice; Reverification use case).
Cost to enrolEnrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person.Per verification, paid by the business: Essential "$0.80 per verification" with "$49/ month min."; Plus "$1.39 per verification" with "$99/ month min."; Premium "$1.89 per verification" with "$209/ month min."; Enterprise at volume pricing for 5000+ verifications a month (USD as displayed, geography not stated; veriff.com/pricing, September 2026). A 15-day free trial of up to 50 sessions with no credit card; a permanent free tier is not stated (veriff.com/plans/self-serve).
Cost per sign-inEnrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers.Each reverification is a verification session at the plan rate; "You only pay for actual verification sessions, not for retry attempts" (veriff.com/plans/self-serve). Extended data retention, additional extracted fields, PEP and sanctions checks and ongoing monitoring are per-verification add-ons on the pricing page.
IntegrationStandard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client."iOS, Android, mobile web, and web SDK or API", plus a hosted verification page on every self-serve plan; the iOS SDK ships via Swift Package Manager, CocoaPods, Carthage or XCFramework and requires iOS 15.0; Android, React Native and Flutter SDKs on the developer portal; session generation via API, webhooks and a free sandbox on all plans (product page; pricing; iOS SDK guide).
Data handlingThe ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when.Processor: "Veriff processes End-Users' information as directed by our Customers" (privacy notice, last updated 16 April 2026). Self-serve plans include "3-month data retention" (Essential) or "6-month data retention" (Plus, Premium), with "Extended data retention 2 years: +$0.3/per verification" and session deletion via API on Premium; for Illinois residents, biometric identifiers are destroyed when the purpose is satisfied or within 3 years of the last interaction, whichever occurs first.
Certifications and evaluationsOrganization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026.Trust Center: ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 27017:2015, ISO/IEC 27018:2019, SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 1 and Level 2 (iBeta), GDPR, UKDIATF and FIDO Document Authenticity (DocAuth) certification evaluated by Ingenium Biometrics. iBeta test dates and confirmation letters are not linked from veriff.com.

Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Veriff offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.

Where ZOREAL Identify and Veriff agree

Both start from the same evidence: a government identity document and a live face. Veriff photographs the document, takes a selfie, tests liveness passively and, where the NFC framework is enabled, reads the chip of an ePassport or compatible ID card. ZOREAL ID enrolment photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. The bar is the same one: a real document and a real person, bound together.

Both publish their pricing and a limit on what is kept. Veriff lists its plans per verification with the monthly minimum beside each, states that retries are not billed, and prints the retention period of each plan on the pricing page. ZOREAL lists enrolment as free, every Tier A login as free without limit, and a charge only on a Tier B login where identity disclosure is requested, and its ID token carries no personal data at all. A buyer can price either without a call.

Where they differ is what happens after the check. Veriff’s result goes to the business that ordered the session, and reverification re-checks the same person for that business, each session at the plan rate. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who reuses it as a sign-in at every relying party with a different pairwise identifier at each sector; the person pays nothing, and the relying party pays nothing for a Tier A login.

ZOREAL Identify may fit you if

  • You want a sign-in rather than a check: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
  • You want the person, not your database, to hold the credential, and to reuse it at every service without being linkable across them
  • You want returning sign-ins at no per-event charge: every Tier A login is free without limit, and a charge applies only to a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
  • You want the assurance of each login stated in acr and amr, with a floor you set per request and a request that cannot meet it denied rather than downgraded

Veriff may fit you if

  • You want a published per-verification price with a low monthly minimum and a trial that needs no card
  • You must verify people who will not install an app: Veriff runs in mobile web and a web SDK
  • You need document coverage stated at 12.5K+ identity documents from 230+ countries and territories
  • You need KYC add-ons such as PEP and sanctions checks or ongoing monitoring on the same invoice; ZOREAL Identify is not KYC

Other alternatives to Veriff

35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.

All 36 Identify comparisons

Common questions

How we compared

This comparison is based on publicly available information from Veriff’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.

Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.

Sources

ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Veriff. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.

See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.

A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.