ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Sumsub
Sumsub verifies a document image, a selfie with liveness and, on mobile, the NFC chip, with email, phone, KYC and AML checks alongside, and returns check results to the client; Sumsub ID lets a person who verified with one Sumsub client re-share stored document images with another after an email code, a liveness check and explicit consent. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, how reuse works, what each costs and how data is handled.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Sumsub ID Verification, Liveness & Face Match, NFC verification, Email/Phone verification and Sumsub ID with ZOREAL Identify. Sumsub’s AML screening, ongoing monitoring, proof of address, business verification (KYB), transaction monitoring and fraud prevention products are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Sumsub differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
Two kinds of reuse
Sumsub ID "securely stores only document images and related metadata", recognises the returning person by email with a time-sensitive one-time password and a liveness check, asks explicit permission before sharing, and the receiving Sumsub client runs its own checks on the shared documents; it is not enabled by default. ZOREAL ID is keyed to the document chip and a hardware-bound device key on the phone; the person logs in at any registered relying party over OpenID Connect, the relying party receives a pairwise identifier and an assurance statement, and no document image moves unless the relying party requests the identity tier and the person consents.
What a verification costs
Sumsub lists Basic at "$1.35 per verification" with a "$149 min. monthly commitment" and Compliance at "$1.85 per verification" with "$299 min. monthly commitment" (USD as displayed, geography not stated), Enterprise on request, a 14-day trial with 50 free checks, and charges for successful verifications only; a permanent free tier is not stated. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Evaluations and scheme certifications on file
Sumsub states its liveness passed iBeta testing to ISO/IEC 30107-3 PAD Level 2 on Android and iOS (April 2025), holds ETSI EN 319 401, EN 319 411-1, EN 319 411-2 and TS 119 461 certifications from SRC Security Research & Consulting GmbH (July 2024), and lists ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, ISO 22301 and SOC 2 Type 2 on its Trust Center. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Sumsub, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Sumsub |
|---|---|---|
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | ID Verification on the document image, then "Liveness & Face Match"; NFC verification "extracts data from a document's NFC chip and cross-validates it against cryptographic and visual checks", with "Verify chip authenticity" stated and the method not named, on the mobile SDKs and native plugins; the developer docs state the system extracts first name, last name, ID number and issue date from the chip and the ID photo; email and phone verification, device intelligence and Video Ident are separate checks (NFC verification page; developer docs; pricing, September 2026). |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | Check results and extracted data to the client. With Sumsub ID enabled on a verification level, a person who verified with one Sumsub client can share stored document images with another Sumsub client, and the shared documents are automatically submitted for the receiving client’s own checks (Sumsub ID developer documentation). |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | "93% users verified on the first try" (about page, undated); "Get 90%+ pass rates on average" with per-country examples (KYC page); liveness "successfully passed iBeta Quality Assurance testing in line with the ISO/IEC 30107-3 standard" at Level 2 on Android and iOS with "zero mistakes during testing" (April 2025). Periods and populations behind the figures are not stated. |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | Sumsub ID: "Sumsub ID securely stores only document images and related metadata", the returning person verifies their email with a one-time password and passes a liveness check, and "they will always be asked to give explicit permission before any data is shared"; it is not enabled by default and the receiving business must be a Sumsub client. For ordinary verifications, "Sumsub, in turn, is a Processor that conducts only those data processing activities that Clients request" (developer documentation; privacy notice). |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | Per verification, paid by the client: Basic "$1.35 per verification" with "$149 min. monthly commitment"; Compliance "$1.85 per verification" with "$299 min. monthly commitment"; Enterprise on request (USD as displayed, geography not stated; sumsub.com/pricing, September 2026). "14-day free trial with 50 free checks available"; a permanent free tier is not stated. Sumsub ID and Reusable KYC are listed in the Basic plan. |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | "you will be charged for successful verifications only"; a per-share price for Sumsub ID is not itemised on the pricing page, where Sumsub ID and Reusable KYC appear as Basic plan features (sumsub.com/pricing). |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | WebSDK (npm package, CDN script, React package), MobileSDK for iOS and Android, a React Native module with an optional MRTDReader module for NFC, Flutter and Cordova plugins, Unilink (a verification link or QR code) and the API; the identity verification page adds integration "through your preferred coding agent". Sumsub ID must be enabled per verification level (developer docs; KYC and identity verification pages). |
| Data handling | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | Privacy Notice (Sumsub Service, last updated 19 March 2026): processor for client verifications and controller for its own purposes; "Personal data, including biometric data, will be retained and stored by Sumsub and will be permanently destroyed based on a Client's instructions"; Illinois: three years from provision to the Sumsub system; Texas: up to one year after the purpose expires. EU representative: Sumsub LTD, Cyprus. |
| Certifications and evaluations | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Trust Center: SOC 2 Type 2 (attested by BARR Advisory, November 2022), ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27017, ISO/IEC 27018, ISO 22301:2019, iBeta Level 1 and Level 2 reports; ETSI EN 319 401, EN 319 411-1, EN 319 411-2 and TS 119 461 certified by SRC Security Research & Consulting GmbH (30 July 2024). A UK DIATF notice page exists but its text did not render on our fetch. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Sumsub offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Sumsub agree
Both start from the same evidence: a government identity document and a live face. Sumsub verifies the document image, matches a selfie with liveness, and on mobile reads the NFC chip and cross-validates the chip data against cryptographic and visual checks. ZOREAL ID enrolment photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. The bar is the same one: a real document and a real person, bound together.
Both also treat reuse as something the person controls. Sumsub ID shows the person what is being requested and asks explicit permission before any data is shared with another Sumsub client, and it is off until a client enables it. ZOREAL shows every requested claim on the phone before the person approves, returns only the scopes granted, and re-prompts on any new scope or claim. Both publish their pricing and a retention rule rather than leaving either to a contract.
Where they differ is what moves and who holds it. Sumsub ID moves document images and metadata from Sumsub’s store to another Sumsub client, which then runs its own checks, keyed on the person’s email address; the client pays per verification. ZOREAL moves an identifier and an assurance statement over OpenID Connect to any registered relying party, keyed on the chip and a hardware-bound key, with a different pairwise identifier at each sector; the person pays nothing and the relying party pays nothing for a Tier A login.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want a sign-in rather than a check: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
- You want reuse without moving document images: the relying party receives an identifier and an assurance statement, and identity attributes only on request and consent
- You want returning sign-ins at no per-event charge: every Tier A login is free without limit, and a charge applies only to a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
- You want the assurance of each login stated in acr and amr, with a floor you set per request and a request that cannot meet it denied rather than downgraded
Sumsub may fit you if
- You need KYC and AML in one contract: screening, ongoing monitoring, proof of address and KYB are plan features; ZOREAL Identify is not KYC
- You want a published per-verification price with a 14-day trial of 50 free checks
- You need document coverage stated at 14,000+ documents across 220+ countries and territories in 50+ languages
- You already run Sumsub and want returning users to reuse their documents through Sumsub ID and Reusable KYC
Other alternatives to Sumsub
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- JumioJumio Identity Verification and selfie.DONE
Jumio Identity Verification checks a government ID photo, matches a selfie with liveness, can read a passport chip on mobile, and runs database and watchlist checks through an SDK, mobile web flow or API; selfie.DONE (October 2025) re-verifies a returning user with a selfie across businesses connected to the Jumio Identity Graph.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Jumio’s contact page offers a sales conversation.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-ID face match; liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (letter dated 11 September 2025); NFC chip read available in the mobile SDK and disabled by default.
- Reuse
- Within Jumio’s network: selfie.DONE recognises a returning user by selfie against the Jumio Identity Graph. A login identifier for relying parties is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- VeriffVeriff Identity Verification
Veriff verifies a document photo and a selfie with passive liveness, optional background video and device signals, with an NFC chip read available in the mobile SDKs, through iOS, Android, web SDK, API or a hosted page; self-serve plans are priced per verification and reverification re-checks a returning user for the same business.
- Pricing
- Essential $0.80 per verification with a $49 per month minimum; Plus $1.39 and $99; Premium $1.89 and $209; a 15-day trial of up to 50 sessions; Enterprise at volume pricing (veriff.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-document face match; passive liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (September 2024); FIDO DocAuth certification for Full Auto IDV (April 2026); NFC chip read as an optional SDK framework.
- Reuse
- Per business: reverification re-checks the same user for the same customer. A cross-business identifier or login is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Entrust IDV (Onfido)Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido)
Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido) runs document, chip, biometric and device checks in configurable Workflow Studio journeys through Web, iOS and Android SDKs, a hosted link or the API, and returns clear or consider results to the business; it is certified under ETSI TS 119 461 and the UK DIATF for regulated identity proofing.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Entrust’s contact-sales page is the route to a quote.
- Assurance
- Document classification by Atlas AI or an eMRTD chip read with passive and active authentication; face bound with Motion liveness stated as iBeta PAD Levels 1 and 2 on iOS and Android.
- Reuse
- Per business: results belong to the client workflow. A cross-business identifier or login product is not stated in the public materials we could read.
- SocurePredictive DocV on the RiskOS platform
Socure’s RiskOS platform combines Predictive DocV (document and selfie verification with liveness and injection detection) with data-source KYC, watchlist, phone, device and fraud scoring, sold self-serve per evaluation or as an enterprise contract.
- Pricing
- Socure Launch lists DocV at $0.80 per evaluation and bundles up to $1.30, with $1,000 in free monthly credits; Enterprise is usage-based with volume discounts (socure.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document fraud models plus selfie liveness the vendor describes as NIST PAD Level 2, with injection-attack detection; chip reading is not stated. ISO 27001, SOC 2 Type 2 and FedRAMP Moderate are listed on its trust center.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
- PersonaPersona Government ID and Selfie verifications
Persona runs government ID, selfie, phone, document and database verifications inside an embedded web module, a hosted flow or native Android, iOS and React Native SDKs, with results returned to the business through its dashboard and API.
- Pricing
- Essential at $250 per month on an annual contract with 500 free services per month and $1.50 per service beyond; Growth and Enterprise on request; 60-day trial of up to 50 services (help.withpersona.com Plans Overview, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Government ID image checks plus a real-time selfie video liveness check; database and phone checks as options. Certifications and chip reading are not stated in the public materials we could read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we could read.
- TruliooTrulioo Identity Document Verification and Person Verification
Trulioo verifies people against data sources in 195 countries and verifies identity documents with OCR, MRZ extraction, passive liveness and face match, through web, iOS and Android SDKs, an API and a no-code Workflow Studio, alongside business verification and watchlist screening.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the pricing page offers a demo booking.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity checks plus selfie-to-document face match with passive liveness; data-source matching for person verification. The liveness test lab and level are not named on the pages we read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Sumsub’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Sumsub pricing (plans, trial, billing rules) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub reusable digital identity press release (25 March 2025) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub ID product page Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub ID developer documentation (mechanics, consent, default off) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub About (first-try figure, coverage) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub KYC page (coverage, pass rates, integration) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub identity verification page Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub NFC verification product page Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub NFC-based ID verification (developer docs) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub Trust Center (certification list) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub iBeta Level 2 press release (23 April 2025) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub SOC 2 Type II press release (10 November 2022) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub ETSI certifications press release (30 July 2024) Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub Privacy Notice (Sumsub Service), 19 March 2026 Read 2026-09-10
- Sumsub SDK documentation: WebSDK, React Native module, Flutter plugin Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Sumsub. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.