ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Socure
Socure’s Predictive DocV verifies a document image with fraud models and binds a selfie with liveness, and its RiskOS platform combines that with data-source KYC, watchlist, phone, device and fraud scores to return a decision to the customer, self-serve per evaluation or under an enterprise contract. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, who holds the result afterwards, what each costs and how data is handled.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Socure Predictive DocV, with Socure Verify and the phone checks as adjacent inputs, against ZOREAL Identify. Socure’s Sigma fraud models, Global Watchlist Screening, Account Intelligence, Digital Intelligence and the Fravity agentic operations platform are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Socure differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
What is read from the document
Socure’s Predictive DocV page describes "patented fake ID detection and fraud models", detection of "selfie-to-headshot mismatches, screen captures, and age discrepancies" and of "presentation and API-layer injection attacks"; barcode, MRZ and NFC chip reading are not stated in the public materials we reviewed. ZOREAL ID enrolment reads the document’s chip over NFC, re-runs passive authentication on the server against a trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked, has the chip prove possession of its private key, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait.
What a verification costs
Socure Launch lists "Document Verification (DocV)" at "$0.80 per evaluation", bundles at $0.90, $1.00 and $1.30, and "$1,000 in free monthly credits", with "$" displayed and currency, geography and the meaning of "evaluation" not stated; Enterprise is usage-based with volume discounts. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Authorisations and certifications on file
Socure’s trust center lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 27017:2015, ISO/IEC 27018:2025, ISO/IEC 27701:2025, SOC 2 Type 2, FedRAMP Moderate, GovRAMP and TX-RAMP Level 2, and its DocV page describes liveness as "NIST PAD Level 2" without naming the testing lab. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Socure Predictive DocV, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Socure |
|---|---|---|
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | Predictive DocV: "Block sophisticated attacks with patented fake ID detection and fraud models"; "Detect selfie-to-headshot mismatches, screen captures, and age discrepancies"; "NIST PAD Level 2 liveness detection defeats 3D masks, dolls, and deepfakes" (vendor wording; the testing lab is not named on the page); "Detect and prevent presentation and API-layer injection attacks". Socure Verify and the RiskScores match and score against data sources, devices and phone signals (Predictive DocV page; products overview, September 2026). Barcode, MRZ and NFC chip reading are not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: Predictive DocV page, products overview). |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | A decision returned to the customer through RiskOS, "Socure's orchestration and decisioning platform", combining DocV with KYC, watchlist, phone, device and fraud scores. A reusable identity or login product is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: products overview, company page). |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | Socure states a "0.92 Second response time for 95% of transactions" and a "98.22% true accept rate" for Predictive DocV, with period and population not stated, and describes its liveness as "NIST PAD Level 2" without naming the lab; iBeta and ISO/IEC 30107-3 are not named on the pages we read (Predictive DocV page; trust center). |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | No credential is issued to the person: the decision belongs to the customer, and for identities verified on behalf of customers Socure acts "as a Processor" while processing derived insights and network risk intelligence as a controller. A reusable identity or login product is not stated (Global Privacy Policy; products overview). |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | Per evaluation, paid by the customer: Socure Launch lists "Document Verification (DocV)" at "$0.80 per evaluation", "Document Verification (DocV) + Watchlist" at "$0.90 per evaluation", "KYC + Fraud + Watchlist, DocV Step up" at "$1.00 per evaluation" and "Prefill, KYC + Fraud + Watchlist, DocV Step up" at "$1.30 per evaluation" ("$" as displayed; currency and geography not stated; socure.com/pricing, September 2026), with "$1,000 in free monthly credits" and additional evaluations billed at the solution-level rate; "evaluation" is not defined on the page and no minimum, term or trial period is stated. Enterprise: "Usage-based pricing with volume discounts". |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | Every further check is an evaluation at the listed rate once the monthly credits are used; whether the credits are a permanent free tier or an introductory allowance is not stated (socure.com/pricing). |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | API and the Launch dashboard, which sells per evaluation. SDK platforms (web, iOS, Android) and a hosted flow could not be read: developer.socure.com redirects to a dashboard login (attempted 10 September 2026). |
| Data handling | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | Global Privacy Policy (effective 19 June 2026): processor for identities verified on behalf of customers, controller for derived insights and network or graph-based risk intelligence; biometric information ("facial landmarks" and "facial embeddings" derived from the document photo and selfie) retained "No more than 3 years from your last interaction with Socure"; several identity verification data categories "No more than 7 years from collection". |
| Certifications and evaluations | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Trust center: "ISO/IEC 27001:2022", "ISO/IEC 27017:2015", "ISO/IEC 27018:2025", "ISO/IEC 27701:2025", "SOC 2 Type 2", "FedRAMP Moderate", "GovRAMP", "TX-RAMP Level 2". Liveness: "NIST PAD Level 2" on the DocV page; iBeta and ISO/IEC 30107-3 are not named on the pages read. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Socure offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Socure agree
Both start from the same evidence: a government identity document and a live face. Socure’s Predictive DocV runs fake ID detection and fraud models on the document image, checks the selfie against the document headshot, and tests liveness with injection-attack detection. ZOREAL ID enrolment photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. The bar is the same one: a real document and a real person, bound together.
Both publish their pricing and a ceiling on biometric retention. Socure lists its Launch prices per evaluation with the monthly credits beside them, and its privacy policy caps biometric information at three years from the last interaction. ZOREAL lists enrolment as free, every Tier A login as free without limit, and a charge only on a Tier B login where identity disclosure is requested, and its ID token carries no personal data at all. A buyer can price either without a call.
Where they differ is what happens after the check. Socure’s decision goes to the customer through RiskOS, alongside KYC, watchlist and fraud scores the customer also pays per evaluation. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who reuses it as a sign-in at every relying party with a different pairwise identifier at each sector; the person pays nothing and the relying party pays nothing for a Tier A login. A U.S. relying party that needs bureau-style KYC and fraud scoring can run Socure at onboarding and ZOREAL Identify at sign-in.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want a sign-in rather than a check: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
- You want the document’s chip read and its authenticity verified at enrolment, not only the printed image checked
- You want returning sign-ins at no per-event charge: every Tier A login is free without limit, and a charge applies only to a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
- You want the person, not your database, to hold the credential, and to reuse it at every service without being linkable across them
Socure may fit you if
- You need U.S. KYC, watchlist and fraud scoring alongside document verification in one decision; ZOREAL Identify is not KYC
- You need a vendor with FedRAMP Moderate, GovRAMP or TX-RAMP Level 2 authorisation on file
- You want a self-serve per-evaluation price with $1,000 in monthly credits and no stated minimum
- You must verify people who will not install an app: document and selfie capture inside your own flow
Other alternatives to Socure
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- JumioJumio Identity Verification and selfie.DONE
Jumio Identity Verification checks a government ID photo, matches a selfie with liveness, can read a passport chip on mobile, and runs database and watchlist checks through an SDK, mobile web flow or API; selfie.DONE (October 2025) re-verifies a returning user with a selfie across businesses connected to the Jumio Identity Graph.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Jumio’s contact page offers a sales conversation.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-ID face match; liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (letter dated 11 September 2025); NFC chip read available in the mobile SDK and disabled by default.
- Reuse
- Within Jumio’s network: selfie.DONE recognises a returning user by selfie against the Jumio Identity Graph. A login identifier for relying parties is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- VeriffVeriff Identity Verification
Veriff verifies a document photo and a selfie with passive liveness, optional background video and device signals, with an NFC chip read available in the mobile SDKs, through iOS, Android, web SDK, API or a hosted page; self-serve plans are priced per verification and reverification re-checks a returning user for the same business.
- Pricing
- Essential $0.80 per verification with a $49 per month minimum; Plus $1.39 and $99; Premium $1.89 and $209; a 15-day trial of up to 50 sessions; Enterprise at volume pricing (veriff.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document authenticity plus selfie-to-document face match; passive liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 (September 2024); FIDO DocAuth certification for Full Auto IDV (April 2026); NFC chip read as an optional SDK framework.
- Reuse
- Per business: reverification re-checks the same user for the same customer. A cross-business identifier or login is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Entrust IDV (Onfido)Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido)
Entrust Identity Verification (formerly Onfido) runs document, chip, biometric and device checks in configurable Workflow Studio journeys through Web, iOS and Android SDKs, a hosted link or the API, and returns clear or consider results to the business; it is certified under ETSI TS 119 461 and the UK DIATF for regulated identity proofing.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; Entrust’s contact-sales page is the route to a quote.
- Assurance
- Document classification by Atlas AI or an eMRTD chip read with passive and active authentication; face bound with Motion liveness stated as iBeta PAD Levels 1 and 2 on iOS and Android.
- Reuse
- Per business: results belong to the client workflow. A cross-business identifier or login product is not stated in the public materials we could read.
- SumsubSumsub platform and Sumsub ID
Sumsub verifies a document image, a selfie with liveness, and optionally the NFC chip, email and phone, through WebSDK, mobile SDKs, a link or the API, with KYC and AML add-ons; Sumsub ID (March 2025) lets a person who verified with one Sumsub client re-share stored document images with another Sumsub client after an email code, a liveness check and explicit consent.
- Pricing
- Basic $1.35 per verification with a $149 monthly minimum; Compliance $1.85 with $299; Enterprise on request; 14-day trial with 50 free checks (sumsub.com/pricing, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Document checks plus liveness and face match; liveness tested by iBeta to ISO/IEC 30107-3 Level 2 on Android and iOS (April 2025); NFC chip data cross-validated against cryptographic and visual checks on mobile.
- Reuse
- Within the Sumsub client base: Sumsub ID stores document images and metadata, recognises the person by email plus a one-time code and liveness, and shares with explicit consent to another Sumsub client, which runs its own checks. A login identifier for relying parties is not stated.
- PersonaPersona Government ID and Selfie verifications
Persona runs government ID, selfie, phone, document and database verifications inside an embedded web module, a hosted flow or native Android, iOS and React Native SDKs, with results returned to the business through its dashboard and API.
- Pricing
- Essential at $250 per month on an annual contract with 500 free services per month and $1.50 per service beyond; Growth and Enterprise on request; 60-day trial of up to 50 services (help.withpersona.com Plans Overview, September 2026).
- Assurance
- Government ID image checks plus a real-time selfie video liveness check; database and phone checks as options. Certifications and chip reading are not stated in the public materials we could read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we could read.
- TruliooTrulioo Identity Document Verification and Person Verification
Trulioo verifies people against data sources in 195 countries and verifies identity documents with OCR, MRZ extraction, passive liveness and face match, through web, iOS and Android SDKs, an API and a no-code Workflow Studio, alongside business verification and watchlist screening.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the pricing page offers a demo booking.
- Assurance
- Document authenticity checks plus selfie-to-document face match with passive liveness; data-source matching for person verification. The liveness test lab and level are not named on the pages we read.
- Reuse
- Not stated: no reusable identity or login product appears in the public materials we reviewed.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Socure’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Socure pricing (Socure Launch per-evaluation prices, credits, Enterprise) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure Predictive DocV product page (mechanism, liveness wording, figures) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure products overview (RiskOS, product list) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure company page (customers, mission) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure Trust Center (certifications and authorisations) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure Global Privacy Policy, effective 19 June 2026 (roles, retention) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure growth investment and Fravity release (27 August 2026) Read 2026-09-10
- Socure developer portal (redirects to a dashboard login) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Socure. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.