Skip to comparison
ZOREAL

ZOREAL Identify

Alternatives to LexisNexis Risk Solutions

LexisNexis Risk Solutions sells a portfolio of fraud and identity services rather than one product: InstantID matches an applicant’s personal data against a reference database, IDVerse and TrueID authenticate a document image and match a live face to it, and ThreatMetrix scores device, location and behaviour signals against its Digital Identity Network, each returning a result to the business that called it. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, who holds the result afterwards, what each costs and how data is handled.

Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: the LexisNexis onboarding proofing products (IDVerse, TrueID, InstantID) and the login risk products (ThreatMetrix, BehavioSec) with ZOREAL Identify. Emailage is named for context; the insurance, healthcare, government and credit products of the RELX Risk segment are out of scope.

Where ZOREAL Identify and LexisNexis Risk Solutions differ

  • The guarantee

    ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.

  • A record match beside a chip read

    LexisNexis InstantID matches the name, address, Social Security number, date of birth and phone number an applicant types against its reference database, keyed by LexID; IDVerse and TrueID check the document image optically and match a live face to it; NFC chip reading is not stated in the materials we reviewed. ZOREAL reads the document’s chip over NFC at enrolment, re-runs passive authentication on its server against a trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked, has the chip prove possession of its private key, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait; it matches nothing against a reference database.

  • What it costs

    LexisNexis publishes no general price list for its identity products; every product page reviewed routes to Contact Us or Talk To Sales. One public-sector price exists: the UK G-Cloud 14 listing shows LexisNexis ThreatMetrix at "£0.01 a transaction" for UK public bodies under the framework, which is not evidence of commercial pricing elsewhere. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.

  • Login risk beside a login

    ThreatMetrix and BehavioSec score device, IP, location and behavioural signals behind a relying party’s own login, drawn from a network the vendor states spans "over 3bn+ digital identities" and 200+ countries and territories; those identities are network personas, not verified people. ZOREAL is itself the login: the relying party redirects to the ZOREAL OpenID Provider, the person approves on their phone, and the token states in acr and amr how this login was authenticated, with a floor the relying party sets per request.

Side by side

Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and LexisNexis Risk Solutions identity products, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.

AttributeZOREAL IdentifyLexisNexis Risk Solutions
How the identity is boundEnrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope.IDVerse: document authenticity via "proprietary artificial intelligence (AI) models", "biometric face matching and liveness checks", "video-based ID document capture" for document liveness and a "server-side defender" for deepfakes. TrueID: "up to 50 different text and image-based tests" with passive liveness. InstantID: the applicant’s name, address, SSN, date of birth and phone matched to a reference database keyed by LexID. ThreatMetrix: device, location, IP, email, phone and behavioural signals matched against the Digital Identity Network (risk.lexisnexis.com product pages and the IDVerse release of 3 December 2025). NFC chip reading is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: IDVerse release, TrueID, identity verification hub).
What the relying party receivesTwo halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser.A verification or risk result per call, returned to the business that called it, which keeps its own record and re-runs the check for each onboarding: "Complete identity verification, spot fraud and uncover identity discrepancies in real time" (InstantID). A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed (identity verification hub; product pages).
GuaranteeZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine.InstantID: "covering almost 100% of U.S. adults with 99.99% precision" against its reference database (a database coverage figure and a vendor precision figure with no stated method); IDVerse: authentication "in seconds". iBeta or ISO/IEC 30107-3 testing for the identity products is not stated on the pages reviewed (InstantID page; IDVerse release; trust center).
Who issues the credentialZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses.No credential to the person: results are returned to the calling business per check. ThreatMetrix profiles a persona "against over 3bn+ digital identities", which are network personas rather than verified people. A reusable identity is not stated in the materials we reviewed (ThreatMetrix page; identity verification hub).
Cost to enrolEnrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person.No published general price list as of September 2026; every product page reviewed routes to Contact Us or Talk To Sales. One public-sector price: the UK G-Cloud 14 listing shows LexisNexis ThreatMetrix at "£0.01 a transaction" (GBP, UK public sector buyers under the framework), which is not evidence of commercial pricing elsewhere. No price for InstantID, IDVerse, TrueID or Emailage was found on any official page.
Cost per sign-inEnrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers.No published price per verification or per risk call outside the G-Cloud listing; ThreatMetrix is a per-transaction service run behind the relying party’s own login (ThreatMetrix page; G-Cloud 14 listing).
IntegrationStandard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client.TrueID: "Software developer kits (SDK) for iOS, Android, JavaScript", a Web Service API and an All-in-One Scanner. ThreatMetrix: "Flexible APIs, SDKs and workflow ready integrations" for web, mobile and backend environments. InstantID: API, batch, portal and platform delivery (TrueID, ThreatMetrix and InstantID pages).
Data handlingThe ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when.Privacy policy (last updated 1 September 2026): personal information retained "for as long as necessary to provide the Service and fulfil the transactions you have requested" and for legal, records, security and fraud purposes; data "may be stored and processed in your region or another country". TrueID: "GDPR-compliant with flexible data handling", and not an FCRA consumer report (privacy policy; TrueID page).
Certifications and evaluationsOrganization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026."successful completion of the latest SOC 2 Type II examination for Business Services" (trust center). ISO 27001, iBeta or ISO/IEC 30107-3 for the identity products are not stated on the pages reviewed.

Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what LexisNexis Risk Solutions offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.

Where ZOREAL Identify and LexisNexis Risk Solutions agree

On the document side, both start from the same evidence: a government identity document and a live face. IDVerse authenticates the document image with its models, captures it on video for document liveness, and matches a live face to it; TrueID runs its text and image tests with passive liveness. ZOREAL ID enrolment photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. The bar is the same one: a real document and a real person, bound together.

Both state a retention position in a privacy policy, and neither claims a legal signature or a KYC outcome from the login-relevant product alone. LexisNexis states a SOC 2 Type II examination for its Business Services; ZOREAL’s standards are Bynn Intelligence’s organization-level ones, with no Identify-specific certification stated. Both leave a figure unqualified where it is unqualified: LexisNexis publishes vendor precision and hit-rate figures with no stated method, and ZOREAL publishes no accuracy figure at all.

Where they differ is what is matched, who holds the result and where the product sits. LexisNexis matches typed personal data against a reference database (InstantID, US) and scores device and behaviour signals behind the relying party’s own login (ThreatMetrix), returning a result the business keeps; the realistic buyer of both, a US bank, runs LexisNexis for bureau-data checks it must make and ZOREAL Identify for the login itself. ZOREAL performs no database matching, issues the credential to the person, and the person reuses it as a sign-in at every relying party with a different pairwise identifier at each sector, at a published price.

ZOREAL Identify may fit you if

  • You want the login itself, not a risk score behind it: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
  • You want the document’s chip read and its authenticity verified at enrolment, not only the printed image checked
  • You want published pricing with no sales call: free enrolment, every Tier A login free without limit, and a charge only on a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
  • You want no personal data in the ID token and an identifier that is different at unrelated services

LexisNexis Risk Solutions may fit you if

  • You need US database verification of name, address, SSN, date of birth and phone against a reference database the vendor states covers almost 100% of US adults (InstantID); ZOREAL Identify is not KYC
  • You want device, IP and behavioural risk scoring behind your existing login, from a network the vendor states spans 200+ countries and territories (ThreatMetrix)
  • You are a UK public body buying through G-Cloud and want a framework price on file
  • You need document authentication with SDKs for iOS, Android and JavaScript and a stated library of over 6,800 ID types (TrueID)

Other alternatives to LexisNexis Risk Solutions

35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.

All 36 Identify comparisons

Common questions

How we compared

This comparison is based on publicly available information from LexisNexis Risk Solutions’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.

Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.

Sources

ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by LexisNexis Risk Solutions. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.

See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.

A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.