Skip to comparison
ZOREAL

ZOREAL Identify

Alternatives to Signicat

Signicat is a European digital identity hub: its eID and Wallet Hub gives a business "35 European eIDs" (Swedish and Norwegian BankID, MitID, itsme, SPID and others) and the coming EUDI wallets through a single API, and its KYC and KYB platform proofs identity by document, biometrics, liveness and data sources across 40+ countries. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential ZOREAL itself issues after reading a government document chip in the ZOREAL ID app. This page sets a broker of identities issued by national schemes beside a provider that verifies the person itself and issues the credential: two reusable, government-anchored logins a relying party adds once.

Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Signicat’s eID and Wallet Hub as a login broker and its KYC and KYB platform at onboarding against ZOREAL Identify; Signicat’s electronic signing (Dokobit) and archiving products are out of scope.

Where ZOREAL Identify and Signicat differ

  • The guarantee

    ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.

  • Who verified the person

    Through Signicat, the person authenticates with the national eID or wallet they already hold, and the assurance is the scheme’s: Signicat brokers and normalises it across 35 European eIDs. Through ZOREAL, the person was verified by ZOREAL: the document chip read and its authenticity verified against the issuing country’s certificates, a live face matched to the chip portrait, a hardware-bound key and presence, and ZOREAL issues the credential under its own certificate hierarchy.

  • What the identifier carries

    Through the eID and Wallet Hub the relying party receives the national eID’s or wallet’s assertion and attributes via one API. ZOREAL’s ID token carries a pairwise pseudonym per sector and the assurance block, and no personal data; name, birthdate and document fields are served only from userinfo, only to a confidential client with a verified domain, after the person consents on the phone.

  • Coverage stated, prices behind a login

    Signicat states "35+ electronic identity methods and digital wallets" and "40+ countries", and publishes its pricing model (setup, subscription and transaction fees, by identity method, with volume discounts) with the amounts in its dashboard after a free sign-up. ZOREAL publishes no reach figure and publishes its prices: free to enrol, free tier a logins; only tier b logins charged.

Side by side

Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Signicat (eID and Wallet Hub and the KYC and KYB platform), from public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.

AttributeZOREAL IdentifySignicat
How the claim is madeEnrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope.For login, the relying party redirects to Signicat, which authenticates the person with the national eID they hold (BankID, MitID, itsme, SPID and the rest of the 35 named schemes) or an EUDI wallet, and returns the scheme’s assertion of who they are. For proofing, the platform verifies a document, a face and liveness, or queries data sources, and returns a result. The identity is the national scheme’s or the wallet issuer’s; Signicat brokers and normalises it.
GuaranteeZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine.The assurance level is the national eID scheme’s or the wallet’s, brokered by Signicat. Signicat states it is an "EU Qualified Trust Service Provider (QTSP)" and lists eIDAS, ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II. A Signicat-stated assurance level for the person beyond the scheme’s is not stated in the public materials we reviewed.
Who issues the credentialZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses.The national scheme or the wallet issuer. Signicat brokers eIDs and wallets issued by others and states that one integration supports "both eIDs and new wallets" for Europe’s wallet rollout from 2026; a Signicat-issued credential is not stated in the pages we reviewed.
What the relying party receivesTwo halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser.The eID’s or wallet’s assertion and attributes, delivered through Signicat’s single API; for proofing, a verification result.
Cost to enrolEnrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person.Enrolment in a national eID is with its issuer, not Signicat, per the hub’s description of eIDs and wallets issued by others. For the business, Signicat’s pricing is "a combination of setup, subscription and transaction fees" depending on the products chosen, and the KYC and KYB platform is usage-based ("You pay for what you verify, not a flat monthly seat fee"); no public amount, with detailed pricing shown in the Signicat Dashboard after a free developer sign-up.
Cost per sign-inEnrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers."Transaction pricing depends on the identity methods used, and volume discounts apply." The per-login amount for each eID is shown in the Signicat Dashboard after sign-up and is not on a public page.
IntegrationStandard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client."a single API" for the 35 eIDs and the wallets; a dashboard with a free developer account and sandbox. OpenID Connect or SAML as the relying-party protocol is not named on the eID and Wallet Hub page we read.
Data handling and retentionThe ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when.Not stated on the pages we reviewed (the pricing page, the eID and Wallet Hub page, the KYC and KYB platform page, the about page, the official information page and the dashboard registration page).
Certifications statedOrganization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026.EU Qualified Trust Service Provider (QTSP); ISO 27001; SOC 2 Type II; eIDAS, as listed on signicat.com in September 2026.

Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Signicat offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.

Where ZOREAL Identify and Signicat agree

Both are a "log in with" button a relying party adds once, and both carry a government-anchored identity that the person reuses everywhere the button appears. Through Signicat the person reuses the national eID or wallet they already hold; through ZOREAL the person reuses the ZOREAL ID enrolled from a government document chip. Neither asks the relying party to run its own document or biometric pipeline.

Both let the relying party choose what a given login must prove. Signicat prices and routes by identity method, so a business decides which eIDs and wallets it accepts; ZOREAL lets the relying party set the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a pairing that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. Both publish a free way to start: a free developer account on the Signicat Dashboard with a sandbox, and ZOREAL’s Free plan with one client configuration.

And neither describes the login itself as a legal signature. Signicat is a Qualified Trust Service Provider and sells signing as a separate product, out of scope here; ZOREAL Identify is not a legal signature and not proof that the person consented freely. A European relying party can offer both buttons: a national eID through Signicat for users who hold one, and "Continue with ZOREAL" for anyone holding a supported chip document.

ZOREAL Identify may fit you if

  • You want the person verified by the provider itself, from the document chip, a live face, a hardware-bound key and presence, rather than brokered from a national scheme
  • You want a pairwise identifier per sector and no personal data in the ID token by default, with attributes released only on request and consent
  • You want the pricing structure published before the sales call: free to enrol, free tier a logins; only tier b logins charged
  • You want a login for anyone holding a supported chip document, with no national eID scheme in the path

Signicat may fit you if

  • Your users hold a Nordic, Benelux, DACH or other European national eID and you want one integration for all of them
  • You need to accept EUDI wallets from 2026 alongside eIDs
  • You need a Qualified Trust Service Provider with ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II for regulated onboarding in Europe
  • You want a free developer sandbox with pricing visible after sign-up

Other alternatives to Signicat

35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.

All 36 Identify comparisons

Common questions

How we compared

This comparison is based on publicly available information from Signicat’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.

Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.

Sources

ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Signicat. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.

See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.

A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.