ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to GBG
GBG sells identity verification, location and fraud products: GBG Go orchestrates 110+ modules into an onboarding journey, IDscan authenticates documents and extracts identity data from the chip by NFC, and greenID checks identity details against government data sources in Australia and New Zealand. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by the ZOREAL ID credential a person enrols once from a government document chip. This page sets a per-journey verification platform, whose result the business keeps, beside a reusable login credential the person carries, so the two are not read as like for like.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: GBG Go, IDscan and greenID as onboarding verification against ZOREAL Identify as a sign-in; GBG’s Location segment, its address products and its segment revenue are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and GBG differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
A module platform beside one credential
GBG Go states 110+ identity, fraud and risk modules on one platform across 195+ countries, assembled into a journey whose result is returned to the business that ran it. ZOREAL Identify is one credential: the person enrols once in the ZOREAL ID app and the same ZOREAL ID logs in at every relying party over OpenID Connect, with a pairwise identifier per sector.
Both read the chip, at different moments
IDscan states it extracts identity data from RFID-chipped documents by NFC and runs iBeta accredited ISO 30107-3 Level 2 passive liveness, inside an onboarding journey. ZOREAL reads the chip at enrolment, re-runs Passive Authentication from the raw Security Object against its own trust store built from the ICAO master list, and face-matches a liveness capture 1:1 to the chip portrait; every login that follows states how strongly and how recently that was proven.
Published prices beside an enquiry form
GBG publishes no price list for GBG Go, IDscan or greenID as of September 2026; the pages offer intro, demo and sales enquiry forms. ZOREAL publishes its Identify prices: free to enrol, free tier a logins; only tier b logins charged.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and GBG (GBG Go, IDscan and greenID), from public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | GBG |
|---|---|---|
| How the claim is made | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | IDscan authenticates the document image against a document library, extracts identity data "from RFID-chipped documents" by NFC and matches a selfie with passive liveness; greenID matches identity details against "trusted government data sources" in Australia and New Zealand, with optional document and biometric steps; GBG Go orchestrates these modules into a journey through a single API and a journey builder and returns the result to the business. |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | IDscan states "iBeta accredited ISO 30107-3 Level 2 Passive Liveness detection technology"; greenID states liveness "Certified to ISO 30107-3 standards". A statement of assurance about the person beyond those test levels is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | GBG issues no credential to the person. The result of a GBG Go journey is returned to the business that ran it, and a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (GBG Go, IDscan, greenID, the trust centre and the FY26 results). |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | A journey result per verification, delivered to the business through GBG Go’s single API, with pre-built journey templates and a journey builder to assemble the modules. |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | No published price list as of September 2026 for GBG Go, IDscan or greenID. GBG Go offers "Book an intro" and demo forms; IDscan and greenID route to a sales enquiry form. |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | A relying-party sign-in ("sign in with" or OpenID Connect) is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (GBG Go, IDscan, greenID, the trust centre and the FY26 results), so there is no per-sign-in price to quote. |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | GBG Go: "Single API, intuitive UI", pre-built journey templates and a journey builder. IDscan: a web-based solution or an integrated API. greenID: integration with the business’s webpage or mobile app. |
| Data handling and retention | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | Not stated on the product pages we reviewed (GBG Go, IDscan, greenID); the GBG Trust Centre holds further documents behind an NDA gate. |
| Certifications stated | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | GBG Trust Centre: ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (certifying the ISMS globally), ISO/IEC 20243:2024, SOC 2 Type 2 for ExpectID and for greenID, SOC 2 Type 1, Cyber Essentials Plus, FedRAMP Moderate and PCI DSS v4.0.1, as listed in September 2026. IDscan: iBeta accredited ISO 30107-3 Level 2 passive liveness. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what GBG offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and GBG agree
Both treat a government document as the anchor and both read its chip. IDscan states NFC extraction of identity data from RFID-chipped documents and passive liveness tested to iBeta ISO 30107-3 Level 2; ZOREAL reads the chip in the ZOREAL ID app, verifies the issuing country’s signature over the data on its own side, and runs a liveness capture matched to the chip portrait. A selfie with liveness is a shared step, and this page compares the fact that both run it rather than the test levels, because ZOREAL publishes no liveness test result of its own.
Both publish organisation-level security attestations and neither claims a scheme recognition for the identity product itself. GBG lists ISO/IEC 27001:2022, SOC 2 Type 2 for named products, FedRAMP Moderate and PCI DSS v4.0.1 on its trust centre; ZOREAL lists SOC 2, PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and CSA STAR Level One for Bynn Intelligence, Inc., and states no Identify-specific certification.
And both say plainly which layer they sit in. GBG returns a journey result to the business that ran the journey, and the business keeps the account. ZOREAL returns a login to a relying party over OpenID Connect, and the person keeps the credential. A business can run GBG Go at onboarding for sanctions and PEP screening, business verification or Australian and New Zealand government-data checks, none of which ZOREAL performs, and put a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on its sign-in page for the logins that follow.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want one enrolment reused at every relying party, with a different pairwise identifier per sector and no personal data in the ID token by default
- You want the pricing structure published before the sales call: free to enrol, free tier a logins; only tier b logins charged
- You want the document chip verified on the provider’s side against the ICAO master list, with a live face matched to the chip portrait and a hardware-bound device key
- You want a standard OpenID Connect provider your existing library validates, with client libraries for React, JavaScript, React Native, Node, Ruby, Python, PHP, Go, Java and .NET
GBG may fit you if
- You want one platform with 110+ modules covering data, document, biometric, sanctions and business checks across 195+ countries
- You need NFC chip extraction plus iBeta accredited ISO 30107-3 Level 2 passive liveness inside an onboarding document product (IDscan)
- You verify Australian or New Zealand customers against government data sources (greenID)
- You need a supplier with FedRAMP Moderate, PCI DSS v4.0.1 and ISO/IEC 27001:2022 on its trust centre
Other alternatives to GBG
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- LexisNexis Risk SolutionsIDVerse, TrueID, InstantID and ThreatMetrix
A portfolio of fraud and identity services from LexisNexis Risk Solutions: database identity verification (InstantID, US), AI document authentication with face match and liveness (IDVerse, TrueID), email risk (Emailage) and device and behaviour risk (ThreatMetrix, BehavioSec).
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; contact sales. A UK public-sector G-Cloud listing shows ThreatMetrix at £0.01 a transaction.
- Assurance
- Optical document checks, biometric face match and liveness (IDVerse, TrueID); personal data matched to a reference database the vendor states covers almost 100% of US adults (InstantID); device and behavioural risk scores (ThreatMetrix). Chip reading is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the calling business per check. A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- ExperianCrossCore and Precise ID
Experian’s CrossCore is a digital identity and fraud platform that orchestrates Precise ID (US bureau-data identity verification with knowledge-based authentication), device risk and partner document and biometric checks into one decision for the business.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; contact sales.
- Assurance
- Applicant personal data matched against Experian data with KBA step-up (Precise ID); device risk (FraudNet); document verification with biometric capabilities via Doc Capture and partners. Liveness method and chip reading are not stated in the materials reviewed.
- Reuse
- Decisions are returned to the calling business per check. A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- ProveProve Identity Platform and Prove Pre-Fill
Prove verifies identity through the phone: possession of the handset, the phone number’s reputation and ownership of the number by the named person, and pre-fills sign-up forms with verified identity data (Prove Pre-Fill).
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the vendor’s AWS Marketplace listing states pricing is agreed customer by customer, with an implementation fee plus tiered transactional fees
- Assurance
- Phone possession (Prove Key, Mobile Auth or SMS), phone reputation (Trust Score) and ownership match against authoritative sources; the vendor states no document scans or selfies are needed
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the calling business per request; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- PlaidPlaid Identity Verification and Plaid Identity
Plaid Identity Verification checks a new user’s typed details against records, reads an uploaded government ID from 16,000+ types across 200 countries and territories, and matches a live selfie to it; Plaid Identity separately confirms name, phone, email and address from the user’s linked bank account.
- Pricing
- Plan structure published (Pay as You Go, Growth, Custom) with 200 free API calls per product in Limited Production; per-event amounts for Identity Verification are shown only when applying for Production access (September 2026)
- Assurance
- Data source verification, documentary verification and a selfie check that the video is "a genuine, live video of a real human" matching the document, plus SMS and watchlist screening; chip reading and a liveness test certification are not stated in the materials we reviewed
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the business per session; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- SignicateID and Wallet Hub and the KYC and KYB platform
Signicat’s eID and Wallet Hub lets a business accept 35 European national eIDs (BankID, MitID, itsme, SPID and others) and, from 2026, EUDI wallets through one API, alongside identity proofing by document, biometrics, liveness and data sources across 40+ countries.
- Pricing
- Setup, subscription and per-transaction fees by identity method with volume discounts; amounts are shown in the Signicat Dashboard after a free developer sign-up (September 2026)
- Assurance
- The assurance of the national eID or wallet the person already holds, brokered by Signicat; proofing by document checks, biometrics and liveness where no eID exists; Signicat states it is an EU Qualified Trust Service Provider with ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II
- Reuse
- Yes: the person reuses the national eID or wallet they hold at every business that integrates Signicat; a Signicat-issued credential is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- NamirialNamirial Onboarding and SPID
Namirial Onboarding is an Italian Qualified Trust Service Provider’s identity proofing suite: automated document and ICAO chip checks, facial biometrics with passive liveness, operator video identification and national eID or EUDI wallet login, certified to ETSI TS 119 461 under eIDAS 2. Namirial also issues SPID, Italy’s public digital identity.
- Pricing
- No published business price for Namirial Onboarding as of September 2026; a personal SPID identity is free with an electronic identity card or 19,90€ + IVA by video identification, with a 9,99€ + IVA annual renewal where no other Namirial service is active (Italy)
- Assurance
- Document authenticity with OCR and ICAO chip reading, facial biometrics with passive liveness, or a live operator, as remote identity proofing flows certified to ETSI TS 119 461 v2.1.1 under eIDAS 2
- Reuse
- Yes for SPID: the person reuses the Namirial-issued SPID identity at every Italian service that accepts SPID; Onboarding results otherwise belong to the business that ran them
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from GBG’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- GBG Go platform page (modules, countries, checks, integration, demo forms) Read 2026-09-10
- GBG IDscan product page (document authentication, NFC, iBeta ISO 30107-3 Level 2, integration, sales contact) Read 2026-09-10
- GBG greenID page (government data sources, document and biometric options, ISO 30107-3, sales contact) Read 2026-09-10
- GB Group plc full year results for the year ended 31 March 2026 (RNS on Investegate) Read 2026-09-10
- GBG Full Year Results 2026 news page (revenue, customer count) Read 2026-09-10
- GBG Trust Centre (certifications and attestations, gated documents) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published prices) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by GBG. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.