ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to Experian
Experian’s CrossCore is a digital identity and fraud platform that orchestrates Precise ID, which matches an applicant’s name, address, date of birth, Social Security number and phone number against Experian’s data with knowledge-based authentication as a step-up, with FraudNet device risk and partner document and biometric checks, into one decision for the business. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential the person holds in the ZOREAL ID app after a document chip read, a face match and a liveness capture. This page sets the two side by side on mechanism, who holds the result afterwards, what each costs and how data is handled.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Experian CrossCore, Precise ID, CrossCore Doc Capture and the UK identity services on Experian’s developer portal with ZOREAL Identify. Experian’s consumer credit reports, marketing services, health, automotive and Consumer Services businesses are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Experian differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
Bureau data beside a chip read
Experian’s Precise ID matches the "name, address, date of birth, Social Security number and phone number" an applicant types against Experian’s data and steps up with knowledge-based authentication; documents and biometrics come through CrossCore Doc Capture and partners, and NFC chip reading and the liveness method are not stated in the materials we reviewed. ZOREAL reads the document’s chip over NFC at enrolment, re-runs passive authentication on its server against a trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked, has the chip prove possession of its private key, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait; it matches nothing against bureau data.
What it costs
Experian publishes no price list for CrossCore, Precise ID or Doc Capture; the pages route to "Get started with CrossCore", "Schedule a demo" and contact forms. ZOREAL: Free to enrol; Tier A logins free and unlimited on every plan and never charged; only a Tier B login, where identity disclosure is requested, is charged on Premium. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Who holds the result afterwards
Experian returns a verification and fraud risk decision to the business that called it, which keeps the account and re-runs checks as it sees fit; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed. ZOREAL issues the credential to the person, who holds it in the ZOREAL ID app and logs in with it at every relying party; the relying party receives a pairwise pseudonymous identifier, stable within its registered sector and different at unrelated sectors, plus the assurance of each login stated in the token.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and Experian CrossCore and Precise ID, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | Experian |
|---|---|---|
| How the identity is bound | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | Precise ID: the applicant’s "name, address, date of birth, Social Security number and phone number" are matched against Experian’s data to return a verification and fraud risk result, with knowledge-based authentication as a step-up; FraudNet adds device risk; CrossCore Doc Capture "seamlessly orchestrates out-of-band document verification" with "biometric capabilities" as a hosted or on-site service, and CrossCore partners supply "document verification, biometrics, and email and device risking capabilities" (experian.com CrossCore, Precise ID and Doc Capture pages, September 2026). NFC chip reading and the liveness method are not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: CrossCore, Precise ID, Doc Capture). |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | A verification and fraud risk decision per call, returned to the business, which keeps the account and re-runs checks as it sees fit; CrossCore is "an integrated, digital identity and fraud platform that enables you to connect, access and orchestrate decisions". A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the Experian materials we reviewed (CrossCore page; Precise ID page). |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | "real-time" for Precise ID; no accuracy percentage is stated on the pages reviewed. Experian states Precise ID is "used by more than 2,000 organizations" and that "9 of the top 10 U.S. banks use Precise ID services" (Precise ID page). |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | No credential to the person is described; the decision belongs to the calling business. A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed (pages read: CrossCore, Precise ID, Doc Capture, UK KYC page, developer portal). |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | No published price list as of September 2026; CrossCore, Precise ID and Doc Capture route to "Get started with CrossCore", "Schedule a demo" and contact forms, and the UK developer portal lists products without a price statement (CrossCore, Precise ID, Doc Capture and developer portal pages). |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | No published price per decision as of September 2026 (pages read: CrossCore, Precise ID, Doc Capture, developer portal). |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | CrossCore: "Developer portal and API hub"; the UK Experian Global Developer portal lists Age Threshold Verification, Date of Birth Verification, a knowledge-based Anti-Fraud Quiz, bank account verification and CrossCore Identity & Fraud; Precise ID is available through the Experian Ascend Platform and through multiple third-party integrators; Doc Capture is hosted or on-site (CrossCore, developer portal, Precise ID and Doc Capture pages). |
| Data handling | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | No CrossCore-specific retention statement was found on the pages reviewed. The UK Business Information data privacy policy (updated 20 May 2026) keeps data "only as long as we need it to provide the Experian products and services you've signed up to" where no specific period is given; its scope is Experian Limited’s business information services, not the US CrossCore service. |
| Certifications and evaluations | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Not stated on the CrossCore, Precise ID, Doc Capture and developer portal pages we reviewed; this page claims nothing about Experian’s certifications. Experian Ltd states on its UK page that it is "authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority". |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Experian offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and Experian agree
Both state document verification with biometrics at onboarding: Experian through CrossCore Doc Capture and its partners, which orchestrate out-of-band document verification with biometric capabilities, and ZOREAL through the ZOREAL ID app, which photographs the document, reads its machine-readable zone, reads the chip over NFC, checks the issuing country’s signature over the chip data on ZOREAL’s side, and face-matches a liveness capture against the chip portrait. Both leave the relying party to decide which checks to require: Experian through CrossCore decisioning, ZOREAL through the acr_values, max_age and prompt a relying party sets per request and the scopes it registers.
Neither side’s login-relevant product claims a legal signature, and both are careful about what a figure means. Experian publishes a transaction count for Precise ID and no accuracy percentage; ZOREAL publishes no accuracy figure and no volume. Both publish what they retain in a privacy notice, and this page repeats the limits of those notices: Experian’s readable retention statement covers its UK business information services, not CrossCore, and ZOREAL’s ID token carries no personal data at all.
Where they differ is what is matched and who holds the result. Experian matches the personal data an applicant typed against bureau data and returns a decision the business keeps, under a contract with no published price; the realistic buyer of both, a US lender, runs Experian for the bureau matching it must do and ZOREAL Identify for a verified-human login. ZOREAL performs no bureau matching, issues the credential to the person, and the person reuses it as a sign-in at every relying party with a different pairwise identifier at each sector, at a published price.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want the login itself, not a decision behind it: a "Continue with ZOREAL" button on standard OpenID Connect that returns a pairwise pseudonymous identifier for a human verified against a government document chip
- You want the document’s chip read and its authenticity verified at enrolment, rather than typed data matched to records
- You want published pricing with no sales call: free enrolment, every Tier A login free without limit, and a charge only on a Tier B login where you request identity disclosure
- You want no personal data in the ID token and an identifier that is different at unrelated services
Experian may fit you if
- You need US bureau-data verification of name, address, SSN, date of birth and phone with knowledge-based authentication as a step-up (Precise ID); ZOREAL Identify is not KYC
- You want one platform that orchestrates Experian, partner and in-house checks into a single decision (CrossCore)
- You are a UK business wanting age threshold, date-of-birth or bank account verification through Experian’s developer portal
- You want a supplier with a stated 612M annual Precise ID transactions and more than 2,000 organisations using it
Other alternatives to Experian
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- LexisNexis Risk SolutionsIDVerse, TrueID, InstantID and ThreatMetrix
A portfolio of fraud and identity services from LexisNexis Risk Solutions: database identity verification (InstantID, US), AI document authentication with face match and liveness (IDVerse, TrueID), email risk (Emailage) and device and behaviour risk (ThreatMetrix, BehavioSec).
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; contact sales. A UK public-sector G-Cloud listing shows ThreatMetrix at £0.01 a transaction.
- Assurance
- Optical document checks, biometric face match and liveness (IDVerse, TrueID); personal data matched to a reference database the vendor states covers almost 100% of US adults (InstantID); device and behavioural risk scores (ThreatMetrix). Chip reading is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the calling business per check. A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- GBGGBG Go, IDscan and greenID
GBG Go is GB Group plc’s identity platform: 110+ identity, fraud and risk modules across 195+ countries, including IDscan document authentication with NFC chip extraction and passive liveness, greenID government-data verification in Australia and New Zealand, sanctions and PEP screening and business verification.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; GBG Go offers intro and demo forms, and IDscan and greenID route to a sales enquiry form
- Assurance
- IDscan: document authentication with NFC chip extraction and iBeta accredited ISO 30107-3 Level 2 passive liveness; greenID: identity details matched to government data sources with liveness certified to ISO 30107-3
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the business per journey; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- ProveProve Identity Platform and Prove Pre-Fill
Prove verifies identity through the phone: possession of the handset, the phone number’s reputation and ownership of the number by the named person, and pre-fills sign-up forms with verified identity data (Prove Pre-Fill).
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the vendor’s AWS Marketplace listing states pricing is agreed customer by customer, with an implementation fee plus tiered transactional fees
- Assurance
- Phone possession (Prove Key, Mobile Auth or SMS), phone reputation (Trust Score) and ownership match against authoritative sources; the vendor states no document scans or selfies are needed
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the calling business per request; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- PlaidPlaid Identity Verification and Plaid Identity
Plaid Identity Verification checks a new user’s typed details against records, reads an uploaded government ID from 16,000+ types across 200 countries and territories, and matches a live selfie to it; Plaid Identity separately confirms name, phone, email and address from the user’s linked bank account.
- Pricing
- Plan structure published (Pay as You Go, Growth, Custom) with 200 free API calls per product in Limited Production; per-event amounts for Identity Verification are shown only when applying for Production access (September 2026)
- Assurance
- Data source verification, documentary verification and a selfie check that the video is "a genuine, live video of a real human" matching the document, plus SMS and watchlist screening; chip reading and a liveness test certification are not stated in the materials we reviewed
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the business per session; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- SignicateID and Wallet Hub and the KYC and KYB platform
Signicat’s eID and Wallet Hub lets a business accept 35 European national eIDs (BankID, MitID, itsme, SPID and others) and, from 2026, EUDI wallets through one API, alongside identity proofing by document, biometrics, liveness and data sources across 40+ countries.
- Pricing
- Setup, subscription and per-transaction fees by identity method with volume discounts; amounts are shown in the Signicat Dashboard after a free developer sign-up (September 2026)
- Assurance
- The assurance of the national eID or wallet the person already holds, brokered by Signicat; proofing by document checks, biometrics and liveness where no eID exists; Signicat states it is an EU Qualified Trust Service Provider with ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II
- Reuse
- Yes: the person reuses the national eID or wallet they hold at every business that integrates Signicat; a Signicat-issued credential is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- NamirialNamirial Onboarding and SPID
Namirial Onboarding is an Italian Qualified Trust Service Provider’s identity proofing suite: automated document and ICAO chip checks, facial biometrics with passive liveness, operator video identification and national eID or EUDI wallet login, certified to ETSI TS 119 461 under eIDAS 2. Namirial also issues SPID, Italy’s public digital identity.
- Pricing
- No published business price for Namirial Onboarding as of September 2026; a personal SPID identity is free with an electronic identity card or 19,90€ + IVA by video identification, with a 9,99€ + IVA annual renewal where no other Namirial service is active (Italy)
- Assurance
- Document authenticity with OCR and ICAO chip reading, facial biometrics with passive liveness, or a live operator, as remote identity proofing flows certified to ETSI TS 119 461 v2.1.1 under eIDAS 2
- Reuse
- Yes for SPID: the person reuses the Namirial-issued SPID identity at every Italian service that accepts SPID; Onboarding results otherwise belong to the business that ran them
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Experian’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Experian CrossCore product page (platform, partners, developer portal, contact route) Read 2026-09-10
- Experian Precise ID product page (elements verified, KBA, organisation and bank counts, volume) Read 2026-09-10
- Experian CrossCore Doc Capture page (out-of-band document verification, biometric capabilities) Read 2026-09-10
- Experian Global Developer, Our Products (UK identity and fraud products) Read 2026-09-10
- Experian CrossCore Identity Services for KYC (UK page, FCA statement) Read 2026-09-10
- Experian plc FY26 full-year results announcement, 20 May 2026 (revenue, employees, countries) Read 2026-09-10
- Experian Limited Business Information data privacy policy, 20 May 2026 (retention statement, scope) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Experian. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.