ZOREAL Identify
Alternatives to IDnow
IDnow is a German identity verification provider whose Trust Platform orchestrates automated, video and point-of-sale document verification with OCR, MRZ and NFC chip cross-checks, biometric liveness, government eIDs and EUDI wallets, OTP and device authentication, with "775+ trained verification specialists" for the video flow and qualified signatures through the QTSP IDnow Trust Services AB. ZOREAL Identify is a "Continue with ZOREAL" sign-in on standard OpenID Connect, backed by a credential ZOREAL issues after reading a government document chip in the ZOREAL ID app. This page sets a per-transaction verification platform, whose result the business keeps, beside a reusable login credential the person carries.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: the IDnow Trust Platform’s verification methods at onboarding and its authentication layer at login against ZOREAL Identify; IDnow’s signatures and seals through IDnow Trust Services AB are covered elsewhere and out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Identify and IDnow differ
The guarantee
ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. ZOREAL is the only solution in the world today that can give that guarantee.
An agent on video, or an automated chain
IDnow offers three deployments, automated, video and point-of-sale, and states "775+ trained verification specialists" in 12 centres across 8 countries for the video flow, alongside OCR, MRZ and NFC chip cross-checks and biometric liveness in the automated one. ZOREAL’s enrolment is automated end to end: the chip is read and its authenticity verified against the ICAO master list on the server, a liveness capture is face-matched to the chip portrait, and the device key’s hardware attestation is verified at registration.
A result per transaction or one credential
IDnow returns a verification result per transaction to the business that ordered it and accepts government eIDs and EUDI wallets issued by others. ZOREAL issues the person a credential once, under its own certificate hierarchy, and the same ZOREAL ID logs in at every relying party with a pairwise identifier per sector.
Published prices beside a contact form
IDnow publishes no price list as of September 2026; a pricing URL returned not found and the contact page offers a form. ZOREAL publishes its Identify prices: free to enrol, free tier a logins; only tier b logins charged.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Identify and IDnow (Trust Platform), from public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Identify | IDnow |
|---|---|---|
| How the claim is made | Enrolment, in the ZOREAL ID app: the document is photographed, its machine-readable zone read and its chip read over NFC. The server re-runs Passive Authentication against its own trust store built from the ICAO Public Key Directory, so the issuing country’s signature over the data is checked on ZOREAL’s side, and the chip proves possession of its private key. A liveness capture with presentation-attack detection is face-matched 1:1 against the chip portrait. The device key is generated in the phone’s hardware, its attestation is verified at registration, and every evidence call carries an app-integrity assertion. Each verified document yields two holder certificates over that key under ZOREAL’s two roots (ECDSA P-384 and ML-DSA-87), one pseudonymous and one carrying the legal name, valid until the document expires. Login: ZOREAL is the OpenID Provider. The holder approves on their phone, a stock OIDC library validates the ID token against ZOREAL’s JWKS, the relying party sets the assurance per request with acr_values, max_age and prompt, and a request that cannot meet its floor is denied, never downgraded. The subject is pairwise per sector, so one ZOREAL ID is reused at every service without being linkable across them; consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope. | Automated flow: the document image is checked for validity and template authenticity, OCR and MRZ are cross-checked against the NFC chip where read, and a selfie with liveness is compared to the document portrait. Video flow: a trained agent performs the same checks live, from 12 centres in 8 countries. eID flow: the person authenticates with a government eID (Germany’s eID card, France Identité numérique, Italy’s SPID) or an EUDI wallet and the scheme’s attributes are returned. The result goes to the business that ordered the verification. |
| Guarantee | ZOREAL guarantees that the person is real, is not an AI, exists, and is linked to a government-issued ID. One hundred percent, not ninety-nine point nine. | IDnow states "OCR, MRZ, NFC chip cross-checks" and biometric comparison with liveness for the automated flow, a trained agent for the video flow, and compliance with "eIDAS 2.0 and AMLR". An iBeta or ISO 30107 test level for the liveness is not stated in the pages we reviewed. |
| Who issues the credential | ZOREAL is the issuer of the ID card: a reusable identity credential that logs in to other websites, with the person controlling the scopes each login discloses. | IDnow issues no credential to the person in the pages we reviewed; government eIDs and EUDI wallets are accepted, and each verification returns a result to the business. Qualified signatures after identification are delivered through the QTSP IDnow Trust Services AB. |
| What the relying party receives | Two halves. Proof that a real human is there: the ID token asserts this is one human (not one account, not one device), with the strength of that claim in a uniqueness field; that a government document chip was read and its authenticity verified, at the month given; and how this session was authenticated, in acr and amr, whether a live human was captured for this login, a registered device key was used, or a session was reused. And, when the relying party requests it and the person consents on the phone, the verified identity: name, birthdate and document details read from the chip, served from userinfo to a confidential client with a verified domain. The person sees every requested claim before approving, and the relying party receives only the scopes it was granted. It is not KYC, not a legal signature, not proof that the person consented freely, and not proof that the person is the one operating the browser. | A verification result per transaction from the Trust Platform, which orchestrates document, biometric, eID, wallet, data, OTP and device checks in one workflow. |
| Cost to enrol | Enrolment in the ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity: document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment, re-enrollment, recovery and revocation. Every Tier A login is free without limit on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality, with 1 client configuration on Free. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. | No published price list as of September 2026; a pricing URL returned not found and the contact page offers a form ("Questions? Talk With Our Experts."). |
| Cost per sign-in | Enrolment is free: "The ZOREAL ID app is always free for the person holding the identity, from enrollment to recovery", and "Document scan, chip read and liveness enrollment" is "Always free" on Free and Premium. Every Tier A login is free, without limit, on every plan: the pairwise identifier, the assurance block, age-threshold answers and nationality (openid, zoreal.age and zoreal.nationality, available to every registered client). Tier A logins are never charged. A charge applies only to a qualified Tier B login, where the relying party requests identity disclosure (the profile scopes, name, birthdate and document details, and email, which require a verified domain, a confidential client and client authentication), on Premium: "Identify · Identity disclosure", "Name, birth date and document details", "One charge for name, birth date or document details, even when several are returned"; "Identify · Fresh-liveness login", "Coming soon"; "Content and contract signing authorization", "Coming soon". Client configurations per website or app: 1 on Free, 10 on Premium; private-key JWT and mTLS client authentication on Premium. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Answering an identity request is always free for the person. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. ZOREAL Identify is the cheapest way to do KYC in the market: free to enrol, free to check, paid only for the higher disclosure tiers. | The Trust Platform lists OTP and device authentication as an authentication layer inside the business’s own flow; no price is published, and an OpenID Connect or "sign in with" identity is not stated in the pages we reviewed. |
| Integration | Standard OpenID Connect from the provider at id.zoreal.com (discovery, JWKS, token and userinfo endpoints); any stock OIDC library validates the token. One client library per platform: @zoreal/oauth2-react, @zoreal/oauth2-js and @zoreal/oauth2-react-native on npm for the front end, and backends for Node (@zoreal/oauth2-node), Ruby (zoreal-oauth2), Python (zoreal-oauth2), PHP (zoreal/oauth2), Go, Java (com.zoreal:oauth2) and .NET (Zoreal.OAuth2). The React package renders the button and drives the flow itself, with no hosted script and nothing to allowlist in a Content Security Policy. Registration is self-serve in the dashboard (Identify, Assets): redirect addresses, origins and permitted scopes, with domain verification; personal-data scopes require a verified domain and a confidential client. | "SDK, API or the IDnow Trust Platform"; "Simple integration via SDK, API or native app"; workflow orchestration in the Trust Platform. |
| Data handling and retention | The ID token carries no personal data, ever: a pairwise pseudonym per sector plus the assurance block. Name, birthdate, document fields and email are served only from userinfo, against a ten-minute single-audience access token with no refresh token, and only to a confidential client with a verified domain; a relying party that needs the data again asks the person again. Age is returned as registered yes-or-no thresholds, never an age or a birth year. The document portrait is a separately gated tier and is biometric data under GDPR Article 9 for the relying party that requests it. Consent is remembered per sector and re-prompted on any new scope or claim, and the consent screen shows only what ZOREAL verified about the relying party. ZOREAL, as the OpenID Provider, sees every login: which holder, which relying party, when. | Not stated on the pages we reviewed (the homepage, the identity verification hub, the document, biometric and eID pages, the Trust Platform page, the about page, the contact page and the imprint). |
| Certifications stated | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Identify-specific certification or scheme recognition is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | IDnow Trust Services AB certified as a Qualified Trust Service Provider in the EU (2024). ISO 27001, ETSI TS 119 461, ANSSI PVID or BSI approvals for the verification products are not stated on the pages we read; a security page URL returned not found. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what IDnow offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Identify and IDnow agree
Both read the document chip and both run liveness on a selfie. IDnow states OCR, MRZ and NFC chip cross-checks and biometric comparison with liveness in its automated flow; ZOREAL reads the chip in the ZOREAL ID app, verifies the issuing country’s signature over the data on its own side, and face-matches a liveness capture to the chip portrait. Both offer a fully automated path with no human in the loop, and neither publishes an accuracy percentage on the pages read.
Both are plain about which layer they occupy. IDnow returns a verification result per transaction to the business that ordered it and accepts identities issued by governments and wallet providers; ZOREAL returns a login to a relying party over OpenID Connect and the person keeps the credential. Neither describes its verification as a legal signature: IDnow routes signatures to a separate QTSP, and ZOREAL asserts no legal effect anywhere.
A German or French business that needs agent-assisted video identification for a regulated onboarding, or a national eID accepted at sign-up, keeps IDnow for that, and can put "Continue with ZOREAL" on its sign-in page for the verified-human logins that follow.
ZOREAL Identify may fit you if
- You want one enrolment reused at every relying party, with a pairwise identifier per sector and no personal data in the ID token by default
- You want the pricing structure published before the sales call: free to enrol, free tier a logins; only tier b logins charged
- You want an automated chain the provider verifies itself: chip authenticity against the ICAO master list, a live face matched to the chip portrait, a hardware-bound device key and presence
- You want a standard OpenID Connect provider your existing library validates, with client libraries for the front end and for Node, Ruby, Python, PHP, Go, Java and .NET
IDnow may fit you if
- You need agent-assisted video identification alongside automated checks, from centres in eight countries
- You verify German, French or Italian users through their national eID or the coming EUDI wallets
- You need qualified signatures after identification through a QTSP partner
- You want a supplier that states 145M+ transactions a year and 600+ customers
Other alternatives to IDnow
35 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Identify, from their own public materials.
- LexisNexis Risk SolutionsIDVerse, TrueID, InstantID and ThreatMetrix
A portfolio of fraud and identity services from LexisNexis Risk Solutions: database identity verification (InstantID, US), AI document authentication with face match and liveness (IDVerse, TrueID), email risk (Emailage) and device and behaviour risk (ThreatMetrix, BehavioSec).
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; contact sales. A UK public-sector G-Cloud listing shows ThreatMetrix at £0.01 a transaction.
- Assurance
- Optical document checks, biometric face match and liveness (IDVerse, TrueID); personal data matched to a reference database the vendor states covers almost 100% of US adults (InstantID); device and behavioural risk scores (ThreatMetrix). Chip reading is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the calling business per check. A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- ExperianCrossCore and Precise ID
Experian’s CrossCore is a digital identity and fraud platform that orchestrates Precise ID (US bureau-data identity verification with knowledge-based authentication), device risk and partner document and biometric checks into one decision for the business.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; contact sales.
- Assurance
- Applicant personal data matched against Experian data with KBA step-up (Precise ID); device risk (FraudNet); document verification with biometric capabilities via Doc Capture and partners. Liveness method and chip reading are not stated in the materials reviewed.
- Reuse
- Decisions are returned to the calling business per check. A reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials reviewed.
- GBGGBG Go, IDscan and greenID
GBG Go is GB Group plc’s identity platform: 110+ identity, fraud and risk modules across 195+ countries, including IDscan document authentication with NFC chip extraction and passive liveness, greenID government-data verification in Australia and New Zealand, sanctions and PEP screening and business verification.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; GBG Go offers intro and demo forms, and IDscan and greenID route to a sales enquiry form
- Assurance
- IDscan: document authentication with NFC chip extraction and iBeta accredited ISO 30107-3 Level 2 passive liveness; greenID: identity details matched to government data sources with liveness certified to ISO 30107-3
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the business per journey; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- ProveProve Identity Platform and Prove Pre-Fill
Prove verifies identity through the phone: possession of the handset, the phone number’s reputation and ownership of the number by the named person, and pre-fills sign-up forms with verified identity data (Prove Pre-Fill).
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the vendor’s AWS Marketplace listing states pricing is agreed customer by customer, with an implementation fee plus tiered transactional fees
- Assurance
- Phone possession (Prove Key, Mobile Auth or SMS), phone reputation (Trust Score) and ownership match against authoritative sources; the vendor states no document scans or selfies are needed
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the calling business per request; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- PlaidPlaid Identity Verification and Plaid Identity
Plaid Identity Verification checks a new user’s typed details against records, reads an uploaded government ID from 16,000+ types across 200 countries and territories, and matches a live selfie to it; Plaid Identity separately confirms name, phone, email and address from the user’s linked bank account.
- Pricing
- Plan structure published (Pay as You Go, Growth, Custom) with 200 free API calls per product in Limited Production; per-event amounts for Identity Verification are shown only when applying for Production access (September 2026)
- Assurance
- Data source verification, documentary verification and a selfie check that the video is "a genuine, live video of a real human" matching the document, plus SMS and watchlist screening; chip reading and a liveness test certification are not stated in the materials we reviewed
- Reuse
- Results are returned to the business per session; a reusable identity carried by the person between services is not stated in the materials we reviewed
- SignicateID and Wallet Hub and the KYC and KYB platform
Signicat’s eID and Wallet Hub lets a business accept 35 European national eIDs (BankID, MitID, itsme, SPID and others) and, from 2026, EUDI wallets through one API, alongside identity proofing by document, biometrics, liveness and data sources across 40+ countries.
- Pricing
- Setup, subscription and per-transaction fees by identity method with volume discounts; amounts are shown in the Signicat Dashboard after a free developer sign-up (September 2026)
- Assurance
- The assurance of the national eID or wallet the person already holds, brokered by Signicat; proofing by document checks, biometrics and liveness where no eID exists; Signicat states it is an EU Qualified Trust Service Provider with ISO 27001 and SOC 2 Type II
- Reuse
- Yes: the person reuses the national eID or wallet they hold at every business that integrates Signicat; a Signicat-issued credential is not stated in the materials we reviewed
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from IDnow’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- IDnow homepage (transactions, documents, specialists, customers) Read 2026-09-10
- IDnow document verification (deployment options, checks, specialists, centres, integration) Read 2026-09-10
- IDnow eID schemes (named schemes, one-platform statement, AMLR and eIDAS 2.0) Read 2026-09-10
- IDnow Trust Platform (methods orchestrated, compliance statements, integration) Read 2026-09-10
- IDnow digital signatures and trust services (QTSP partner) Read 2026-09-10
- About IDnow (ownership, employees, offices, QTSP certification in 2024) Read 2026-09-11
- IDnow biometric verification (liveness method) Read 2026-09-10
- IDnow contact page and imprint (form, legal entity) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published prices) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Identify product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by IDnow. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Identify for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.