ZOREAL Mark
Alternatives to ProofMode
ProofMode describes itself as media and reality, verified: a free and open-source camera app with built-in provenance and authentication for chain of custody, which signs each photo or video with an OpenPGP key generated in the app, records sensor data, adds optional OpenTimestamps and Google SafetyNet receipts, and is C2PA conformant in its 3.x releases. ZOREAL Mark is a signed marker a holder pastes into a post or comment so that anyone can check that a real human, verified by ZOREAL, vouched for exactly that text on that page at that time. This page sets an anonymous capture-integrity tool beside a verified-human vouching tool: what each signs, who is named, what third-party evidence each carries, and how a reader checks it.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: ProofMode Capture and Verify, as published on proofmode.org and GitHub, against ZOREAL Mark; ProofMode’s Identify, Connect and Enhance products and its commercial developer services are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Mark and ProofMode differ
One of a kind
ZOREAL Mark is one of a kind: the only product of its kind, and the leading product in the market.
A verified human, or a key
ProofMode generates an OpenPGP keypair inside the app as its proof identity and states that it does not require a persistent identity or account; its verify page notes that the key is not certified with a trusted signature. A ZOREAL Mark is signed under a certificate issued after ZOREAL verified the person against a government document and its chip, the face and a liveness capture, and names a per-site persona or the legal name verified against their passport.
Text, or media at capture
ProofMode’s object is a photo or video at the moment of capture, hashed with SHA-256 and signed with the in-app key, with sensor and device data written to a signed proof file. A Mark’s object is text pasted into any text box on any site, with the hash of the text bound to the page URL at the time of signing.
Where the timestamp comes from
ProofMode adds optional notarisation receipts from third parties: an OpenTimestamps file and a Google SafetyNet token. ZOREAL countersigns each Mark with a presence attestation and writes an immutable public record holding the hash, the URL, the identity mode, the timestamp and the signatures.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Mark and ProofMode, from public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Mark | ProofMode |
|---|---|---|
| What is proven | A Mark asserts exactly four things: a human verified by ZOREAL vouched for this text; a live human was present when it was signed, at the stated grade (recent or live); it was signed for this page; and it was signed at this time. It does not assert that the human wrote the text, that the text is true, that the persona is one person across sites, that the person consented freely, or anything about the platform account that posted it. The holder chooses, per signature, which identity signs: the platform persona ("A verified human", a pseudonym derived per site, the same on every page of that site and unrelated to any other site), the legal name ("[Legal Name], verified against their passport"), or, for a company, the organisation (a verified legal person signs as itself, activated by one of its authorised people, who is recorded in the organisation’s own audit log and never published). | That the media file is unchanged since it was signed by a key held in this app, with sensor data from the moment of capture and, optionally, an OpenTimestamps receipt and a Google SafetyNet device-integrity token. The key is anonymous; who held it is not asserted. |
| What is signed | Text. The extension canonicalises the text and normalises the page URL, the holder approves on the phone, and the public record binds the hash of the text to that page URL at that time. The Mark is two markers and a short id pasted into any text box, and the platform has to preserve the markers, nothing more. | Photos and video at capture: the file is hashed (SHA-256) and signed with the in-app OpenPGP key, and sensor and device data are written to a signed proof CSV. |
| Who the mark names | A mark can stand as vouched for by a verified human, carry your name, or carry your role: a president, a principal of a government agency, whatever you are. | No one, by design: the app generates an OpenPGP keypair as a persistent proof identity, does "not require a persistent identity or account generation", and the verify page notes "This key is not certified with a trusted signature". |
| Third-party evidence | ZOREAL countersigns with a presence attestation and writes an immutable public record holding the hash, the URL, the identity mode, the timestamp and the signatures; records are immutable and cacheable. | Optional notarisation receipts: OpenTimestamps (".OTS file") and Google SafetyNet (".GST file", "a Javascript Web Token signature from Google SafetyNet notarization"). |
| Reader verification | By anyone, without an account: the browser extension, the public record, or the open-source verifier library against two pinned ZOREAL roots; a moved Mark reads "Verified for another page", an altered one "Not verified" | ProofMode’s ProofCheck, any C2PA validator such as CAI Verify and C2PA.sh from SSL.com, or GPG and a hash check by hand; no platform participation. |
| Pricing | It is free to mark content and free to verify a mark. Signing and verifying are free and unlimited on every plan, with no quota: "Sign and verify with ZOREAL Mark: Free, unlimited" on Free and Premium. The pricing page lists Mark as "Coming soon" and says "ZOREAL Mark will be free and unlimited for signing and verifying when it launches." Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. | Free: the iOS app is listed as Free with no in-app purchases (US App Store), and the Android app and the Verify tool are "Free and open-source" under GPL-3.0. Commercial integration support and custom source licences are "Contact For Pricing" as of September 2026. |
| Where it works | Mark is platform independent. Any type of content can be marked, on any site. | iOS ("iPhone, iPad, and Apple Silicon devices"), Android ("Pixel, Galaxy, etc"), F-Droid, GitHub beta releases and TestFlight, with open-source SDKs for adding ProofMode capabilities and C2PA support. |
| Certifications and standards | A verifier checks the signature, the attestation, the chain to ZOREAL’s pinned roots, the timestamp and the text hash, with ZOREAL’s roots compiled into the open-source library. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Mark-specific certification is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026, and no surface describes a Mark as a qualified or certified signature. | C2PA 2.3: "ProofMode 3.x is now fully C2PA conformant" and "Proofmode Android has passed the C2PA Conformance Process" (8 May 2026); OpenPGP, OpenTimestamps and Google SafetyNet. No ISO or SOC 2 statement in the pages we read. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what ProofMode offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Mark and ProofMode agree
Both are free to use and free to verify, and both publish what a verifier must check. ProofMode’s apps and SDKs are open source under GPL-3.0 and its verify page walks through the hash, the PGP signature and the receipts; ZOREAL’s verifier library is open source on npm with ZOREAL’s roots compiled in and conformance fixtures, and the extension, the public record and the library all verify without an account.
Both add evidence from outside the signer’s own device. ProofMode’s OpenTimestamps and SafetyNet receipts come from third parties; a Mark is countersigned by ZOREAL with a presence attestation and recorded with a timestamp in an immutable public record.
Both state their limits plainly. ProofMode’s key is anonymous by design and its verify page says so; a Mark does not assert that the human wrote the text or that it is true. Neither claims to establish more than what was signed.
ZOREAL Mark may fit you if
- You want a verified human behind the signature, as a per-site persona or a legal name, with a presence grade per signature
- You want to stand behind text on a page rather than a captured file, with the page URL in the record
- You want a countersignature and an immutable public record from a named operator
- You want to verify in the browser through an extension, the public record or an npm library
ProofMode may fit you if
- You document events and need capture-time sensor evidence that stays anonymous
- You want fully open-source apps and SDKs under GPL-3.0 that you can audit or fork
- You need C2PA-conformant output from a free camera app
- You want notarisation receipts from OpenTimestamps and Google SafetyNet
Other alternatives to ProofMode
7 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Mark, from their own public materials.
- Adobe Content AuthenticityAdobe Content Authenticity (web app, Chrome extension and Inspect tool)
Adobe’s free web app and Chrome extension for attaching C2PA Content Credentials to image files, with an optional verified name supplied by Verified on LinkedIn.
- Pricing
- Free web app in public beta since 24 April 2025 and a free Chrome extension; no paid plan published for this product as of September 2026
- What is proven
- Who produced an image, when and with which tools, as recorded in signed metadata, optionally with a LinkedIn-verified name; the Content Authenticity Initiative states credentials are not intended to indicate whether content is real
- Verification
- A reader installs Adobe’s Chrome extension, uses the Inspect tool in the app or the public verify page at contentcredentials.org; the hosting platform does not need to participate, and LinkedIn shows a "Cr" pin
- TruepicTruepic Vision
Truepic Vision: enterprise photo and video authentication that records verified time, date, device and location at capture, with C2PA signing, for insurance, lending, warranty and recall inspections.
- Pricing
- Vision Flex from a $1,000 per month minimum, Standard $1,450 per month under an annual agreement with an example rate of $58 per inspection, Enterprise custom, as of September 2026
- What is proven
- That a photo or video was captured on a checked device at a stated time and place, with manipulation signs flagged for review; not who the person capturing is, and not the truth of what is shown
- Verification
- Truepic’s platform and partner integrations show the verified capture to the enterprise; a public reader-side verification path is not described in the pages we read
- SureMark Verified WebVerified Web
SureMark Digital’s Verified Web lets a credential holder cryptographically authorize posts, videos and statements, listed on a public registry and badged by a browser extension.
- Pricing
- Content plans from $10 per month (10 signatures) to $29 per month (unlimited), team and enterprise tiers above; the reader-side extension and iOS app are free; 14-day free trial on the Starter plan, as of September 2026
- What is proven
- That the credential holder authorized this content; the holder’s identity rests on a device-held key and attestation by people who know them, and a government-document check is not stated
- Verification
- A reader checks the holder’s public profile, the SureMark Public Registry, or installs the SureMark browser extension for inline badges; the hosting platform does not need to participate
- Outtake VerifyOuttake Verify for Email
Outtake’s Chrome extension that signs outgoing enterprise email at send time with a FIDO passkey or World ID, showing recipients a Verified badge.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; early enterprise adopters were offered complimentary access at launch (September 2025); contact sales at outtake.ai
- What is proven
- That a person authenticated with a passkey or World ID pressed send from a specific account on a specific device, and that the message’s integrity is confirmed; not who the person is under a legal identity, and not that the content is true
- Verification
- The recipient sees a Verified badge through Outtake’s extension; how a recipient outside the deployment verifies is not stated; no mail-server (MX) changes are needed
- Human MarkHuman Mark (humanmark.world)
Human Mark: a seal and public registry through which a creator declares work human-made, per ZOREAL’s landscape overview; the vendor’s pages were unreachable on 11 September 2026.
- Pricing
- No published price list could be read as of 11 September 2026; the site did not resolve
- What is proven
- A creator’s declaration that the work is human-made, listed in a registry, per the landscape overview; no identity or cryptographic detail could be read
- Verification
- Registry lookup, per the landscape overview; details not readable
- World IDWorld ID
World ID: an anonymous proof-of-human credential from an Orb iris scan or an NFC passport, which platforms such as Tinder, Razer, Zoom and Docusign integrate for verified-human badges and one-account-per-person.
- Pricing
- Free for individuals; no developer price, quota or rate limit is stated in the documentation as of September 2026; enterprise terms by contact form
- What is proven
- That a unique, live human (or a unique government document) is behind an action, once per action, with no identity revealed; not who the person is, and not that they approved any particular content
- Verification
- The integrating platform verifies the zero-knowledge proof on its backend through IDKit and World’s verify endpoint, and the badge is the platform’s; a reader-side verification path outside the platform is not stated in the documentation we read
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from ProofMode’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- ProofMode home (free and open-source camera app, Verify tool, standards) Read 2026-09-10
- ProofMode about (Guardian Project, WITNESS and Okthanks; Proofmode Reality Systems, LLC) Read 2026-09-10
- ProofMode verify (hash, PGP, OpenTimestamps, SafetyNet, compatible validators, the uncertified key) Read 2026-09-10
- ProofMode developers (SDKs, C2PA conformance, commercial tier) Read 2026-09-10
- ProofMode install (platforms and stores) Read 2026-09-10
- GitHub, proofmode-android README (mechanism, GPL-3.0, C2PA 2.3, no account required) Read 2026-09-10
- App Store listing for ProofMode (free, no in-app purchases) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Mark product page (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by ProofMode. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Mark for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.