ZOREAL Sign
Alternatives to Docusign
Docusign eSignature is the e-signature product inside Docusign’s Intelligent Agreement Management platform: a sender uploads documents into an envelope, places fields and sends, the signer is identified by an emailed link, paid step-ups tighten that binding, and the completed file is sealed with a Docusign PKI certificate. ZOREAL Sign is a surface in the ZOREAL dashboard for preparing a signature dossier, sending it through its recipients and recording every step in an append-only event log that is sealed, attested by ZOREAL and timestamped by a public authority. This page sets the two side by side on identity binding, evidence, pricing, integration and certifications.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Docusign eSignature (the Personal, Standard, Business Pro and Enhanced plans and the eSignature API, with Docusign Identify where signer identity is concerned) against ZOREAL Sign; Docusign CLM, Navigator, Maestro and the rest of the IAM platform, and Docusign’s company-wide revenue, are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Sign and Docusign differ
Layers of signature
ZOREAL Sign offers several layers of signature: AES for standard business-to-business contracts, everyday business agreements and non-disclosure agreements, and QES for high-stakes cross-border transactions, regulated corporate and government use, real-estate deeds and formal government filings.
Two published price lists
Docusign’s US page lists Personal at $11 per month on an annual commitment of $132 with 5 envelopes a month, and Standard at $30 per user per month with 100 envelopes per user per year, with ID verification as an add-on from $2.40 per attempt (September 2026). ZOREAL Sign: Free for 3 dossiers a month; unlimited dossiers on Premium; 3 dossiers sent per month, unlimited signing of your own documents, and signing a document you receive is always free.
What the completion record contains
Docusign issues a certificate of completion with every signed document and seals the completed file with a Docusign PKI certificate. ZOREAL Sign ships an evidence bundle: each burned PDF with the bundle hash on every page, the audit-trail PDF, the event log and a detached attestation signed ES256 plus ML-DSA-65 with an RFC 3161 timestamp from a public authority, verifiable offline from the bundle and two pinned roots.
Identity step-ups sold today
Docusign sells signer authentication beyond the emailed link: SMS and phone codes, an access code, knowledge-based questions, ID Verification with a government document and a liveness check from $2.40 per attempt, electronic IDs, CLEAR and an Identity Wallet for repeat signers. ZOREAL Sign binds each signature to a legal entity by possession of the invited mailbox, or a ZOREAL account signed in under the invited address, plus the adopted name the person typed.
Side by side
Feature and pricing comparison between ZOREAL Sign and Docusign eSignature, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Sign | Docusign |
|---|---|---|
| Cryptography | ZOREAL Sign uses post-quantum certificate chains and encryption. Every event (viewed, email confirmed, adopted, signed, approved) is a row with actor, IP address, user agent and both clocks, hash-chained to the previous one, with the original documents’ digests as leaves and a root sealed at Send. When the log closes, the completed PDF is rendered once and stored with its SHA-256, the bundle hash is stamped on every page, and ZOREAL signs a detached attestation (a compact JWS, ES256 plus ML-DSA-65 under the two Document Signing CAs, KMS custody in production) over the bundle hash, the documents’ digests and the stored PDF’s digest, with an RFC 3161 timestamp from a public authority over the ES256 signature. The attestation is verified on every audit-trail print. | On completion “All documents are digitally sealed with the industry-standard technology, Public Key Infrastructure (PKI)” (features page): a Docusign certificate over the completed file, not a key the signer holds, and “Every signed Docusign eSignature document comes with a certificate of completion”. Which certificate authority issues the seal, and whether the PDF carries a PAdES signature dictionary, are not stated in the public materials we reviewed (features page, EU digital signature page, certifications page). No post-quantum statement appears on the pages read. |
| Signer identity, default | A legal entity per signer, one per email address, born with a P-256 key. A signature is bound to that legal entity by possession of the invited mailbox, or a ZOREAL account signed in under the invited address, plus the adopted name the person typed. The emailed link connects the signing session to the invited mailbox, and the email confirmation is itself an event in the log. | An emailed link: “the standard way of identifying a signer is to send a link” to the signer’s email address (Docusign Identify page). Paid step-ups: an access code, an SMS one-time passcode, a phone call, knowledge-based questions, ID Verification with a government-issued document followed by a liveness check from $2.40 per attempt, electronic IDs, CLEAR, risk-based verification and an Identity Wallet for repeat signers. |
| Signature levels | ZOREAL Sign offers several layers of signature: AES for standard business-to-business contracts, everyday business agreements and non-disclosure agreements, and QES for high-stakes cross-border transactions, regulated corporate and government use, real-estate deeds and formal government filings. | Its US legality page states that electronic signatures are legally recognised under ESIGN and state versions of UETA, and says the page is not intended to serve as legal advice. For the EU, its UK digital signature page states that Docusign delivers “all of the signature types defined under the eIDAS regulation”, naming EU Advanced and EU Qualified electronic signatures. |
| Trust behind the top level | ZOREAL’s QES has the highest trust in the market, because it requires a government-linked physical ID biologically linked to the person signing. | For EU Qualified: “ID Verification for EU Qualified” on the Identify page, alongside government-ID verification with liveness and electronic IDs; the Identity Wallet stores a signer’s verified identity for re-use in AES and QES transactions “for a minimum of three years”; Docusign France is listed as a qualified trust service provider on the EU Trusted List and Docusign operates two listed remote signature devices. QES is priced “A partir de 10 € por destinatário” (from €10 per recipient) on the Portugal pricing page. |
| Evidence produced | An append-only, hash-chained event log; the completed PDF stored once with its SHA-256 and the bundle hash on every page; a detached ES256 plus ML-DSA-65 attestation with an RFC 3161 timestamp; an audit-trail PDF; verifiable offline from two pinned roots. The evidence bundle zip holds each burned PDF, Audit trail.pdf, Events.json and Attestation.json, and the attestation is verified on every audit-trail print. | An automated audit trail, a certificate of completion with every signed document, and a PKI tamper seal over the completed documents (features page). A procedure for verifying the seal outside Docusign is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. |
| Pricing | Free: 3 dossiers sent per month; "Sign your own and received documents for free." Premium: unlimited dossiers sent, private template collections, fillable PDF import. Both plans: 20 documents per dossier ("Up to 64 MB and 100 pages per document"), signer, approver and copy roles, signing order and reminders, the field editor, the public template library, "Typed, drawn and phone QR signatures", "Audit trail, timestamps and evidence bundle", "Signed PDF and completion email". Listed as "Coming soon": signer-key signing with ZOREAL ID (Premium), ID document check before signing (metered per check), SMS step-up verification ("Ask about pricing"), bulk sending, Sign API and dossier webhooks, embedded signing, signing on behalf of a company. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Signing a document you receive is always free. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. | US page, annual commitment, read 10 September 2026: Personal “$11/month” (“annual commitment of $132”) with 5 envelopes per month; Standard “$30/user/month” and Business Pro “$45/user/month”, each with “Send a total of 100 envelopes per user per year” and up to 50 users; Enhanced Plans by quote. Add-ons: Send with SMS “Starting at $0.36/delivery”; Verify Recipient Identity “Starting at $2.40/ID verification attempt”. Portugal page: Personal €9, Standard €23 and Business Pro €38 per month on annual billing. No free tier or trial is stated on the pricing pages read. |
| API and integrations | In the browser, from the ZOREAL dashboard: the editor, the details page, documents by status and templates. An invited recipient opens their own signing link from the email and acts without creating an account; the link connects the signing session to the invited mailbox, and a matching signed-in account is the other way in. Copy recipients receive the finished copy when the dossier is completed. | “1,000+ pre-built integrations” naming Salesforce, Workday, SAP, Oracle, Microsoft, Google Workspace, Box and Slack (features page); an eSignature REST API with a free developer sandbox whose envelopes “are not valid for legal purposes”; production API plans Starter “$50/month” with 40 envelopes per month, Intermediate “$300/month” with 100, Advanced “$480/month” with 100, and Enhanced by quote with a 5-user minimum (US developer page, September 2026). |
| Data handling and retention | What a signer enters is saved as they go, locked when they finish and snapshotted onto the audit event. The completed PDF is rendered once when the log closes and stored with its SHA-256. The dossier and its media are retained; a completed dossier is evidence and cannot be destroyed, because its attestation restricts destroy at the model (it is archived instead). The audit trail records the IP address, user agent and both clocks of every event and is printed with the result of a verification run. A retention period is not stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Retention and deletion terms for eSignature envelopes are not stated in the public materials we reviewed (security overview page). The Identity Wallet privacy notice states “Docusign ID Wallet will store your data for a minimum of three years”. |
| Certifications stated | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No signature-scheme certification is claimed for Sign; nothing in the hierarchy is named a qualified signature or seal, and no Sign-specific certification is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | “Docusign is ISO 27001:2022, ISO 27017:2015 and 27018:2019 certified”; SOC 1 and SOC 2 Type II; PCI DSS 4.0; C5 Type II; IRAP PROTECTED; a FedRAMP Agency authorization; GovRAMP; DoD IL4 provisional authorization; a 21 CFR Part 11 module; Docusign France listed as a qualified trust service provider (certifications page). |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Docusign offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Sign and Docusign agree
Both identify the signer by an emailed link by default. Docusign says so in as many words on its Identify page, and in ZOREAL Sign the link connects the signing session to the invited mailbox, with a legal entity per email address. Both keep an append-only audit trail with IP address, user agent and timestamps, and both produce a completed PDF plus a separate completion record: Docusign’s certificate of completion, ZOREAL’s audit-trail PDF.
Neither, in the default product, signs the document with a key the signer holds. Docusign seals the completed file with its own PKI certificate; ZOREAL signs a detached attestation over the bundle hash under its two Document Signing CAs. Both route a document through signers, approvers and copy recipients in order, with reminders, and on both a person who receives a document signs it without paying.
Both are US companies. Docusign’s legality page says its content is for general information and not legal advice, and this page carries the same line. Where the two part is what Docusign sells on top: paid identity step-ups from an SMS code to a government ID with liveness, EU Advanced and Qualified signatures through Docusign France, production API plans, 1,000+ integrations and a certification list that includes FedRAMP and DoD IL4.
ZOREAL Sign may fit you if
- You want a free plan and unlimited dossiers on Premium: Free for 3 dossiers a month; unlimited dossiers on Premium; 3 dossiers sent per month, unlimited signing of your own documents, and signing a document you receive is always free.
- You want the evidence bundle on every plan: the hash-chained event log, the completed PDF with its SHA-256, the audit-trail PDF and a detached attestation with a public-authority timestamp.
- You want to verify a completed dossier offline from the bundle and two pinned roots, without a request to the vendor.
- ZOREAL Sign is the most secure signature solution out there.
Docusign may fit you if
- You need an EU Qualified Electronic Signature from a listed qualified trust service provider, priced from €10 per recipient on the Portugal page.
- You need paid identity step-ups today, from an SMS code to a government ID with a liveness check at $2.40 per verification attempt.
- You need FedRAMP, GovRAMP or DoD IL4 authorised signing, or ISO 27017 and ISO 27018 on the certificate list.
- You need production API plans with published prices and pre-built integrations with Salesforce, Workday, SAP, Oracle, Microsoft, Google Workspace, Box or Slack.
Other alternatives to Docusign
5 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Sign, from their own public materials.
- SignRequest
SignRequest, an Amsterdam-registered e-signature tool from SignRequest B.V. that sends documents by email and returns a signing log with the signed document.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the pricing pages on signrequest.com returned 404 when read on 10 and 11 September 2026, and the homepage is the only contact surface we could read.
- Signer identity
- An emailed link; no further verification method is stated on its public pages.
- Evidence
- A signing log sent to all parties with the completed document.
- SmartwaiverSmartwaiver digital waivers
Smartwaiver, a digital waiver platform from SW Development, LLC for businesses that collect liability waivers on their website, by link, by QR code or at a kiosk.
- Pricing
- Basic $19 per month for up to 100 signed waivers a month, Starter $55 for 300, Business $155 for 1,000, Premium $199 for 2,500; annual plans from $194 per year; enterprise by quote. US-dollar page, as of September 2026.
- Signer identity
- A participant fills the waiver in the browser or at a kiosk; kiosks can capture a photo automatically; a parent or guardian signs for a minor. No email or identity-document verification is stated.
- Evidence
- The signed waiver stored in WaiverVault with what Smartwaiver calls certificates of authenticity; their contents are not published.
- Dropbox SignDropbox Sign (formerly HelloSign)
Dropbox Sign, formerly HelloSign, the e-signature web app and API from Dropbox, Inc. (Nasdaq: DBX), also included as a monthly allowance in the Dropbox storage plans.
- Pricing
- Essentials $10.05 per month billed annually (one user, unlimited requests) or $15 monthly; Standard $17.50 per user per month billed annually with a two-seat minimum, or $25 monthly; Premium by quote; API plans from $75 per month for 50 requests. US pages, as of September 2026.
- Signer identity
- An emailed link by default; SMS authentication as a paid add-on on the API Standard and Premium plans, from $60 per 200 requests a year; European electronic IDs (Belgian eID, EvroTrust, MitID, Finnish eID, itsme, Norwegian and Swedish BankID, SPID, Swisscom) for AES or QES on the API Premium plan, priced by sales.
- Evidence
- An audit trail page appended to the signed PDF with a lookup identifier, a SHA-256 hash of the document before and after signing, and a hashed transaction log.
- PandaDocPandaDoc e-signature
PandaDoc, a document workflow product for proposals, quotes and contracts with e-signature, notarisation and an API built in; privately held.
- Pricing
- Free eSign at $0 for 60 documents a year with two recipients each; Starter $19 per user per month and Business $49 per user per month on annual billing ($35 and $65 monthly); Enterprise by quote. From PandaDoc’s help centre, as of September 2026; the public pricing page could not be loaded.
- Signer identity
- An emailed invitation by default, with passcode, SMS code, email code, knowledge-based questions and a government ID check on the Business and Enterprise plans (SMS beyond the included allowance at $0.40 each), and a qualified electronic signature through European trust service providers at $5 per signer.
- Evidence
- A Certificate of Completion with sent, viewed and completed timestamps, and a downloaded PDF sealed with PandaDoc’s HSM-held key under an Entrust certificate, which Acrobat verifies.
- signNowairSlate SignNow
signNow, airSlate’s e-signature product, sold as web plans with unlimited users, as an API priced per signature invite, and inside the airSlate Business Cloud; airSlate, Inc. is privately held.
- Pricing
- airSlate’s homepage shows Business Premium as “($15)” without a unit and an Enterprise plan from $30 per month, with unlimited users on all plans and payment per signature invite sent; its developers page prices the API from $2 per invite for 500 invites. The pricing page itself could not be read as of September 2026.
- Signer identity
- An emailed invite by default; the sender can require a password, an SMS code or a phone call; no government-ID or eID method is stated on its public pages.
- Evidence
- A document history recording every action with full names, email addresses, IP addresses and timestamps, under a unique document ID.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Docusign’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Docusign Identify (default emailed link, authentication options, ID Verification, Identity Wallet, EU Qualified) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign eSignature features (audit trail, certificate of completion, PKI seal, integrations) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign digital signatures, UK site (eIDAS signature types, AES and QES) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign eSignature legality in the United States (ESIGN and UETA statement, disclaimer) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign certifications and authorizations (ISO, SOC, FedRAMP, QTSP, QSCD) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign Identity Wallet for QES product privacy notice (purpose, data, retention) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign eSignature pricing, United States (plans, envelope allowances, add-ons) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign eSignature pricing as geo-served in Portugal (EUR plans, QES add-on) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign developer API plans and pricing, United States (sandbox terms, Starter, Intermediate, Advanced) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign security overview (no retention terms in the text read) Read 2026-09-10
- Docusign, Inc. Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 January 2026 (customers, IAM description) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published plans) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Sign product page (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Docusign. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Sign for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.