ZOREAL Sign
Alternatives to Dropbox Sign
Dropbox Sign, formerly HelloSign, is Dropbox’s e-signature product: a signature request goes out by email, the completed document gets an audit trail cover page with a lookup identifier, and integrity rests on SHA-256 hash records and a hashed transaction log; SMS authentication and European electronic IDs are add-ons on the API plans. ZOREAL Sign is a surface in the ZOREAL dashboard for preparing a signature dossier, sending it through its recipients and recording every step in an append-only event log that is sealed, attested by ZOREAL and timestamped by a public authority. This page sets the two side by side on identity binding, evidence, pricing, integration and certifications.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: the Dropbox Sign web app and the Dropbox Sign API, with the signature allowance inside the Dropbox storage plans, against ZOREAL Sign; Dropbox file storage, DocSend, Dash and Dropbox, Inc.’s company-wide revenue are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Sign and Dropbox Sign differ
Layers of signature
ZOREAL Sign offers several layers of signature: AES for standard business-to-business contracts, everyday business agreements and non-disclosure agreements, and QES for high-stakes cross-border transactions, regulated corporate and government use, real-estate deeds and formal government filings.
Per-user plans on both sides
Dropbox Sign lists Essentials at $10.05 per month billed annually for one user with unlimited signature requests, and Standard at $17.50 per user per month billed annually with a two-seat minimum (September 2026). ZOREAL Sign: Free for 3 dossiers a month; unlimited dossiers on Premium; 3 dossiers sent per month, unlimited signing of your own documents, and signing a document you receive is always free.
Hash records, attested on one side
Dropbox Sign keeps SHA-256 hash records of the document before and after signing and a hashed transaction log, and states it can provide the two records when tampering has to be disproved; the audit trail page carries an identifier that resolves against Dropbox’s record. ZOREAL Sign ships a detached attestation over the bundle hash, signed ES256 plus ML-DSA-65 under two ZOREAL Document Signing CAs with an RFC 3161 timestamp from a public authority, verifiable offline from the bundle and two pinned roots.
European eIDs on the API Premium plan
Dropbox Sign’s eID add-on, on the API Premium plan and priced by sales, signs through Belgian eID, EvroTrust, Danish MitID, Finnish eID, itsme, Norwegian BankID, SPID, Swedish BankID and Swisscom; SMS authentication is a separate add-on on the API Standard and Premium plans. ZOREAL Sign binds each signature to a legal entity by possession of the invited mailbox, or a ZOREAL account signed in under the invited address, plus the adopted name the person typed.
Side by side
Feature and pricing comparison between ZOREAL Sign and Dropbox Sign, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Sign | Dropbox Sign |
|---|---|---|
| Cryptography | ZOREAL Sign uses post-quantum certificate chains and encryption. Every event (viewed, email confirmed, adopted, signed, approved) is a row with actor, IP address, user agent and both clocks, hash-chained to the previous one, with the original documents’ digests as leaves and a root sealed at Send. When the log closes, the completed PDF is rendered once and stored with its SHA-256, the bundle hash is stamped on every page, and ZOREAL signs a detached attestation (a compact JWS, ES256 plus ML-DSA-65 under the two Document Signing CAs, KMS custody in production) over the bundle hash, the documents’ digests and the stored PDF’s digest, with an RFC 3161 timestamp from a public authority over the ES256 signature. The attestation is verified on every audit-trail print. | “Utilizing hashing technology, Dropbox Sign creates a unique record of the underlying document” (legality page); the developer glossary states the audit trail “Includes SHA-256 document hash proving the document wasn’t altered after signing”, and the help centre says the transaction log is processed with hashing technology so that tampering is detectable. A vendor PKI certificate inside the PDF is not described in the public materials we reviewed (legality page, developer glossary, audit trail help page). No post-quantum statement appears on the pages read. |
| Signer identity, default | A legal entity per signer, one per email address, born with a P-256 key. A signature is bound to that legal entity by possession of the invited mailbox, or a ZOREAL account signed in under the invited address, plus the adopted name the person typed. The emailed link connects the signing session to the invited mailbox, and the email confirmation is itself an event in the log. | An emailed signature request. SMS authentication through the SMS tools add-on on the Standard API and Premium API plans, sold in annual allotments from “$60 for 200 SMS signature requests”; SMS is not supported to signers in the UK. Knowledge-based questions, access codes and government-ID checks are not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pricing pages, SMS add-on page, eID pages). |
| Signature levels | ZOREAL Sign offers several layers of signature: AES for standard business-to-business contracts, everyday business agreements and non-disclosure agreements, and QES for high-stakes cross-border transactions, regulated corporate and government use, real-estate deeds and formal government filings. | “Dropbox Sign provides you with a legally binding eSignature solution” (legality page), which states compliance with ESIGN, UETA and “the European Union eIDAS (EU No.910/2014)”; the electronic ID feature page states eIDAS-compliant Advanced and Qualified Electronic Signatures through its eID providers. |
| Trust behind the top level | ZOREAL’s QES has the highest trust in the market, because it requires a government-linked physical ID biologically linked to the person signing. | The eID add-on on the API Premium plan, priced by sales, as the help centre lists it: Belgian eID (QES), EvroTrust (QES), Danish MitID (AES through InfoCert), Finnish eID (QES), itsme (QES; Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands), Norwegian BankID (AES), SPID (QES), Swedish BankID (AES through InfoCert) and Swisscom (AES, stated as QES under ZertES). |
| Evidence produced | An append-only, hash-chained event log; the completed PDF stored once with its SHA-256 and the bundle hash on every page; a detached ES256 plus ML-DSA-65 attestation with an RFC 3161 timestamp; an audit-trail PDF; verifiable offline from two pinned roots. The evidence bundle zip holds each burned PDF, Audit trail.pdf, Events.json and Attestation.json, and the attestation is verified on every audit-trail print. | “Dropbox Sign affixes an audit trail cover page to the document itself” (legality page), carrying a globally unique identifier that maps to Dropbox’s record; SHA-256 hash records of the document before and after signing, which Dropbox states it can provide when tampering has to be disproved; a hashed transaction log. Self-signed documents do not include an audit trail (help centre). |
| Pricing | Free: 3 dossiers sent per month; "Sign your own and received documents for free." Premium: unlimited dossiers sent, private template collections, fillable PDF import. Both plans: 20 documents per dossier ("Up to 64 MB and 100 pages per document"), signer, approver and copy roles, signing order and reminders, the field editor, the public template library, "Typed, drawn and phone QR signatures", "Audit trail, timestamps and evidence bundle", "Signed PDF and completion email". Listed as "Coming soon": signer-key signing with ZOREAL ID (Premium), ID document check before signing (metered per check), SMS step-up verification ("Ask about pricing"), bulk sending, Sign API and dossier webhooks, embedded signing, signing on behalf of a company. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Signing a document you receive is always free. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. | USD, read 10 September 2026: a free plan for signing a document (“Just need to sign a document? Try our free plan”); Essentials “$15 USD/month” monthly or “$10.05 USD/month” billed annually (“$120.60 USD billed yearly”) for one user with unlimited signature requests and 5 templates; Standard “$25 USD/user/month” monthly or “$17.50 USD/user/month” billed annually, “starting at $420 USD billed yearly” for the two-seat minimum; Premium by quote; a 30-day free trial on paid plans. Dropbox’s Plus, Standard and Advanced storage plans include “Signature requests: 3 per month”. |
| API and integrations | In the browser, from the ZOREAL dashboard: the editor, the details page, documents by status and templates. An invited recipient opens their own signing link from the email and acts without creating an account; the link connects the signing session to the invited mailbox, and a matching signed-in account is the other way in. Copy recipients receive the finished copy when the dossier is completed. | Dropbox Sign API: a free test mode; Essentials API “$75 USD / mo” (“Starting at 50 signature requests/month”); Standard API “$250 USD / mo” with 100 per month; Premium API by quote; SMS tools, electronic ID and premium branding as add-ons, contact sales. The web plans list Google Drive, Microsoft Word and HubSpot integrations on Essentials and Standard, with Salesforce as an additional-cost add-on. |
| Data handling and retention | What a signer enters is saved as they go, locked when they finish and snapshotted onto the audit event. The completed PDF is rendered once when the log closes and stored with its SHA-256. The dossier and its media are retained; a completed dossier is evidence and cannot be destroyed, because its attestation restricts destroy at the model (it is archived instead). The audit trail records the IP address, user agent and both clocks of every event and is printed with the result of a verification run. A retention period is not stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | The Dropbox trust centre lists Data Retention and Key Management sections whose text did not render in our read; a retention period and key management specifics are not stated in the materials we could read. |
| Certifications stated | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No signature-scheme certification is claimed for Sign; nothing in the hierarchy is named a qualified signature or seal, and no Sign-specific certification is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, ISO/IEC 27001, ISO/IEC 27018:2019, HIPAA, HITECH and PCI DSS, with GDPR, CCPA, eIDAS, the ESIGN Act, UETA and the EU-US Data Privacy Framework listed as regulatory items, in the Dropbox trust centre for Dropbox Sign. |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Dropbox Sign offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Sign and Dropbox Sign agree
Both use possession of the invited mailbox as the default attribution: the signature request goes out by email and the person who opens the link is the person the record names. Both keep an audit trail with IP address and timestamps, and both append or ship a human-readable audit record with the completed document, Dropbox Sign as a cover page on the PDF and ZOREAL Sign as the audit-trail PDF in the bundle.
Both prove integrity with SHA-256 hashes and a hash-protected log rather than a certificate embedded in the PDF. Dropbox Sign’s pages describe hash records of the document before and after signing and a hashed transaction log; ZOREAL Sign chains every event to the previous one with the originals’ digests as leaves and stores the completed PDF once with its SHA-256. Neither, in the default product, signs with a key the signer holds.
Both let a person sign a document they receive for free, and both publish a price list with per-user plans. Dropbox’s storage plans include three signature requests a month, the same monthly number as ZOREAL’s free plan gives in dossiers sent. Where the two part is what sits on top: Dropbox Sign’s API plans with a free test mode, its SMS and European eID add-ons, and a trust-centre list that includes SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA and PCI DSS.
ZOREAL Sign may fit you if
- You want a free plan and unlimited dossiers on Premium: Free for 3 dossiers a month; unlimited dossiers on Premium; 3 dossiers sent per month, unlimited signing of your own documents, and signing a document you receive is always free.
- You want the completion record signed and timestamped, not only hashed: a detached attestation under two ZOREAL Document Signing CAs with an RFC 3161 timestamp from a public authority.
- You want to verify a completed dossier offline from the bundle and two pinned roots, without a request to the vendor.
- ZOREAL Sign is the most secure signature solution out there.
Dropbox Sign may fit you if
- Your files already live in Dropbox and the three signature requests a month included in the Plus, Standard and Advanced plans are enough.
- You want unlimited signature requests on a one-user plan at Essentials pricing, $10.05 per month billed annually.
- You build on an API today and want a free test mode with published Essentials and Standard API prices.
- You need a European electronic ID such as itsme, MitID, SPID or Swedish BankID on signatures and can buy the API Premium plan.
Other alternatives to Dropbox Sign
5 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Sign, from their own public materials.
- DocusignDocusign eSignature
Docusign eSignature, the e-signature product inside Docusign’s Intelligent Agreement Management platform, from Docusign, Inc. (Nasdaq: DOCU), which reports over 1.8 million customers across its products.
- Pricing
- Personal $11 per month (annual commitment $132) for 5 envelopes a month; Standard $30 and Business Pro $45 per user per month on an annual commitment, each with 100 envelopes per user per year; Enhanced Plans by quote. US page, as of September 2026.
- Signer identity
- An emailed link by default, with paid step-ups: SMS or phone codes, an access code, knowledge-based questions, ID Verification with a government ID and liveness check from $2.40 per attempt, electronic IDs, CLEAR, an Identity Wallet, and an EU Qualified offering from €10 per recipient on the Portugal page.
- Evidence
- An automated audit trail, a certificate of completion with every signed document, and a Docusign PKI tamper seal over the completed documents.
- SignRequest
SignRequest, an Amsterdam-registered e-signature tool from SignRequest B.V. that sends documents by email and returns a signing log with the signed document.
- Pricing
- No published price list as of September 2026; the pricing pages on signrequest.com returned 404 when read on 10 and 11 September 2026, and the homepage is the only contact surface we could read.
- Signer identity
- An emailed link; no further verification method is stated on its public pages.
- Evidence
- A signing log sent to all parties with the completed document.
- SmartwaiverSmartwaiver digital waivers
Smartwaiver, a digital waiver platform from SW Development, LLC for businesses that collect liability waivers on their website, by link, by QR code or at a kiosk.
- Pricing
- Basic $19 per month for up to 100 signed waivers a month, Starter $55 for 300, Business $155 for 1,000, Premium $199 for 2,500; annual plans from $194 per year; enterprise by quote. US-dollar page, as of September 2026.
- Signer identity
- A participant fills the waiver in the browser or at a kiosk; kiosks can capture a photo automatically; a parent or guardian signs for a minor. No email or identity-document verification is stated.
- Evidence
- The signed waiver stored in WaiverVault with what Smartwaiver calls certificates of authenticity; their contents are not published.
- PandaDocPandaDoc e-signature
PandaDoc, a document workflow product for proposals, quotes and contracts with e-signature, notarisation and an API built in; privately held.
- Pricing
- Free eSign at $0 for 60 documents a year with two recipients each; Starter $19 per user per month and Business $49 per user per month on annual billing ($35 and $65 monthly); Enterprise by quote. From PandaDoc’s help centre, as of September 2026; the public pricing page could not be loaded.
- Signer identity
- An emailed invitation by default, with passcode, SMS code, email code, knowledge-based questions and a government ID check on the Business and Enterprise plans (SMS beyond the included allowance at $0.40 each), and a qualified electronic signature through European trust service providers at $5 per signer.
- Evidence
- A Certificate of Completion with sent, viewed and completed timestamps, and a downloaded PDF sealed with PandaDoc’s HSM-held key under an Entrust certificate, which Acrobat verifies.
- signNowairSlate SignNow
signNow, airSlate’s e-signature product, sold as web plans with unlimited users, as an API priced per signature invite, and inside the airSlate Business Cloud; airSlate, Inc. is privately held.
- Pricing
- airSlate’s homepage shows Business Premium as “($15)” without a unit and an Enterprise plan from $30 per month, with unlimited users on all plans and payment per signature invite sent; its developers page prices the API from $2 per invite for 500 invites. The pricing page itself could not be read as of September 2026.
- Signer identity
- An emailed invite by default; the sender can require a password, an SMS code or a phone call; no government-ID or eID method is stated on its public pages.
- Evidence
- A document history recording every action with full names, email addresses, IP addresses and timestamps, under a unique document ID.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Dropbox Sign’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Dropbox Sign pricing (web plans, users, templates, trial, free plan) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Sign API pricing (API plans, test mode, add-ons) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Sign legality (legal statements, audit trail page, identifier, hash records) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Sign developer glossary, security and compliance (SHA-256 hash, tamper-evident audit trail) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Help, Dropbox Sign audit trail overview (transaction log hashing, self-sign exception) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Help, SMS tools add-on (plans, prices, UK note) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Help, Dropbox Sign and eID (providers, AES or QES, plan availability) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Sign electronic ID feature page (AES and QES statement) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox Trust Center, Dropbox Sign (certifications; retention and key management sections without text) Read 2026-09-10
- Dropbox plans (signature request allowance in the storage plans) Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published plans) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Sign product page (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Dropbox Sign. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Sign for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.