ZOREAL Book
Alternatives to Acuity Scheduling
Acuity Scheduling is appointment software for service businesses, sold by Squarespace: clients self-schedule on a branded booking page, the business takes deposits and payments, sends confirmations and reminders, collects intake forms, and sells packages, subscriptions and gift certificates. ZOREAL Book is the scheduling product inside ZOREAL Meet: a client defines the kinds of appointment people can book with them, gets a hosted page and a snippet for their own site, and a guest picks a free slot from a calendar that never overlaps the host’s real one, with a booking that ends in a call ending in a Meet room. This page sets the two side by side: how a booking is made, who the booker is shown to be, which calendars each syncs, where the appointment happens, and what each costs.
Information last reviewed 11 September 2026. Compared: Acuity Scheduling on acuityscheduling.com with ZOREAL Book. Acuity’s commerce layer (memberships, gift certificates, coupons, waitlists) has no ZOREAL counterpart and is recorded as Acuity’s; Squarespace’s websites, its other products and its group revenue are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Book and Acuity Scheduling differ
Where the appointment happens
Acuity attaches a Google Meet, Zoom or GoToMeeting link for online meetings on every plan, and otherwise the appointment is in person at the staff member’s or location’s calendar. In ZOREAL Book a confirmed booking with a Meet room location creates a ZOREAL Meet room, joined by link in the browser, where the host can require a presence check at two levels (ZOREAL Presence, ZOREAL Identity), each a full liveness capture and a face match against the document read at enrolment; a booking that does not end in a call still lives on the same calendar as the calls.
Who the booker is shown to be
Acuity shows the business the name, email and phone the client typed plus the intake form answers; verification of the client beyond that is not stated in the public materials we reviewed. On an open ZOREAL Book event type the guest confirms their address with a six-digit code before the booking is made, and the guest is not asked for a phone number. Who is in the call is what Meet’s own presence check proves, in the call.
A free plan against a trial
Acuity starts at $16 per month for Starter paying annually ($20 paying monthly), offers a 7-day trial with no card, and lists no free plan (acuityscheduling.com, September 2026). ZOREAL Book has no rows of its own on the pricing page. Part of the Meet plans: Free, or Premium for more, with scheduling and calendar invitations on both plans and a guest who books and joins without an account.
Reminders and no-shows
Acuity sends confirmation, reminder and follow-up emails on every plan and text message reminders, worldwide, on Standard and Premium, and its page pairs deposits, reminders and cancellation policies as its no-show tools. ZOREAL Book sends the 24-hour and 1-hour reminders and runs approval, attendance confirmation, no-show and conflict handling, with confirmation, reschedule and cancel mails carrying a calendar file.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Book and Acuity Scheduling, based on public materials reviewed on 11 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Book | Acuity Scheduling |
|---|---|---|
| How a booking is made | Slots are computed live at booking time from the host’s availability schedule, date overrides, public holidays, buffers, minimum notice and booking window, minus busy time from every connected calendar, and a database exclusion constraint refuses a second booking over the same minutes for the same host. A priced event type sends the guest to Stripe Checkout on the host’s own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold. A confirmed booking with a Meet room location creates a ZOREAL Meet room; the guest gets a manage link and a calendar file, and the host’s connected calendar receives the event. | A client opens the business’s booking page or the embed, picks an appointment type, a staff member or location (a "calendar" in Acuity’s vocabulary) and a time, fills the intake form, and pays a deposit or the full price where the business requires one; Acuity syncs the appointment to the business’s personal calendar ("Sync personal and business calendars to avoid double-booking."). Time zones are converted for the client on every plan (features page; pricing page). |
| Identity of the person booking | On an open event type the guest confirms their address with a six-digit code before the booking is made; the guest is not asked for a phone number. Who is in a call is what Meet’s own presence check proves, in the call. | The name, email and phone the client typed, plus the intake form answers. Verification of the client beyond that (an email code, an account, a document, a liveness check) is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (home, pricing, features, integrations and developer pages). |
| Calendar sources | Local calendars and connected Google calendars, for busy time and event writing: consent, sync, push, event writing, and blocks written to the account as busy events. | "Google Calendar", "iCloud" and "Microsoft Outlook" on the integrations page (read through a rendering proxy), synced so that personal and business calendars avoid double-booking. Inside Acuity a calendar is a staff member or location: "1 calendar" on Starter, "Up to 6 calendars" on Standard, "Up to 36 calendars" on Premium (integrations page; features page; pricing page). |
| Where the meeting happens | A confirmed booking with a Meet room location creates a ZOREAL Meet room, joined by link in the browser; the guest gets a manage link and a calendar file, and the host’s connected calendar receives the event. In the room the host can require a presence check at two levels, ZOREAL Presence (a real, enrolled, live human is present) and ZOREAL Identity (the same plus the verified legal name), each a full liveness capture and a face match against the document read at enrolment. A booking that does not end in a call still lives on the same calendar as the calls. | "Google Meet, Zoom, and GoToMeeting integrations for online meetings" on every plan; the integrations page also lists JoinMe; otherwise in person, per staff or location calendar (pricing page; integrations page). |
| Reminders and notifications | Confirmation, reschedule and cancel mails with a calendar file; the 24-hour and 1-hour reminders; approval, attendance confirmation, no-show and conflict handling. | "Confirmation, reminder, and follow-up emails" on every plan; "Text message reminders (worldwide)" on Standard and Premium (pricing page). |
| Payments | A priced event type sends the guest to Stripe Checkout on the host’s own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold; paid is read back from Stripe and refunds are handled. A paid booking asserts that the guest paid before the slot was held for them, referenced to a Stripe payment on the host’s own account. | "Accept payments and deposits through Stripe, Square, PayPal, or Venmo" on every plan; prepayment, a partial deposit or stored card details at booking; appointment packages with payment plans, subscriptions, memberships and gift certificates (pricing page; features page). |
| Pricing | Book has no rows of its own on the pricing page; it is part of the Meet plans. Free: unlimited meetings, up to 40 minutes per meeting, "Scheduling and calendar invitations" on both plans. Premium: up to 90 minutes per meeting, "Recurring meetings and series rescheduling". Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Joining a meeting by link is always free. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. | Starter "$16/ month", Standard "$27/ month" and Premium "$49/ month" paying annually (the page’s "Save 20%"), or $20, $34 and $61 paying monthly; "All prices are in USD. Prices do not include applicable taxes."; "Try any plan free for 7 days", no card needed; no free plan on the page; an enterprise version is described in Squarespace’s 2023 annual report without a price (acuityscheduling.com/pricing, September 2026). |
| Integration | A hosted page on book.zoreal.com (book.zoreal.com/<handle> lists the active event types and book.zoreal.com/<handle>/<slug> is one of them), a one-tag snippet (embed.js, inline where the tag stands or as a layer on the host’s own button, rendered in an iframe so the host’s page never runs Book’s code and Book never reads the host’s page), and the SDK family the snippet is built from: @zoreal/book-js and @zoreal/book-react on npm, first released 2026-09-10. Calendars are local or connected Google calendars, for busy time and event writing. | A REST API (v1.0 and v1.1) with OAuth2 and webhooks per the developer portal, with "Custom API & CSS for Developers" on Premium; "Embed Acuity directly on your existing website"; a mobile scheduling app, platform not named on the page we read; Zapier, Mailchimp, QuickBooks, FreshBooks, Google Analytics and Salesforce through Zapier on the integrations page; scheduling as a Squarespace website add-on (developer portal; pricing, features and integrations pages; Squarespace annual report for 2023). |
| Data handling and certifications | Every stored instant is UTC, every rule is in its schedule’s zone and every display is in the reader’s zone. On an open event type the guest confirms their address with a six-digit code before the booking is made; the guest is not asked for a phone number. Busy time is read from the host’s connected calendars and a booking is written into the host’s connected calendar. A retention period for bookings is not stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Book-specific certification is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Data handling and retention are not stated on the Acuity pages we reviewed; Squarespace’s terms apply, with customers in the United States contracting with Squarespace, Inc. under New York law and everyone else with Squarespace Ireland Limited under Irish law. No SOC 2, ISO 27001 or other audit is named for Acuity in the public materials we reviewed; the Premium plan offers "Sign BAA for HIPAA compliance", and Squarespace’s security page states its built-in payment processor integrations are compliant with PCI-DSS (Squarespace terms of service; pricing page; Squarespace security page). |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Acuity Scheduling offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Book and Acuity Scheduling agree
Both are appointment schedulers for a business or a person with a hosted page, appointment types, availability, calendar sync, confirmation and reminder email and the client’s own time zone. Acuity syncs personal and business calendars "to avoid double-booking" and converts time zones for the client on every plan; ZOREAL Book reads busy time from the host’s connected calendars, writes the booking into the host’s connected calendar, and shows every display in the reader’s zone with every rule in its schedule’s zone.
Both treat an in-person appointment as a first-class booking, not a video call with an address on it: Acuity’s calendars are staff members or locations, and a ZOREAL Book booking that does not end in a call still lives on the same calendar as the calls. Both take money at booking through Stripe, with the payment settled before the slot is held: Acuity collects prepayment or a partial deposit through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo, and a priced ZOREAL Book event type sends the guest to Stripe Checkout on the host’s own Stripe account with a ten-minute hold.
Neither claims that the person who booked is the person who turns up. Acuity’s public materials make no claim about it. ZOREAL Book says so in writing: a confirmed booking asserts that a guest chose this slot and the slot was free on every calendar the host connected at that moment, and who is in a call is what Meet’s own presence check proves, in the call.
ZOREAL Book may fit you if
- You want the booked call to take place in a ZOREAL Meet room created on confirmation, where the host can require a presence check at the ZOREAL Presence or ZOREAL Identity level.
- You want a free plan: ZOREAL Book is included in the Free Meet plan, with scheduling and calendar invitations on both plans and a guest who books and joins without an account.
- You want the guest’s email address confirmed with a six-digit code before an open booking is made, without asking the guest for a phone number.
- You take payment at booking on your own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold and a booking that asserts the guest paid before the slot was held.
- You want the slot check run live at booking time, with a database exclusion constraint that refuses a second booking over the same minutes for the same host.
Acuity Scheduling may fit you if
- You run a service business with several staff members or locations, up to 36 calendars on Premium (pricing page).
- You sell appointment packages, payment plans, subscriptions, memberships or gift certificates, or take deposits through Square, PayPal or Venmo as well as Stripe (pricing and features pages).
- You want text message reminders included in the plan, worldwide, on Standard or Premium (pricing page).
- You need a HIPAA business associate agreement from your scheduler, offered on Premium (pricing page).
- You already run your site on Squarespace and want scheduling as a website add-on (Squarespace annual report for 2023).
Other alternatives to Acuity Scheduling
16 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Meet, from their own public materials.
- CalendlyCalendly scheduling (event types, booking pages, workflows, payments, embeds and API)
Calendly’s hosted scheduling: booking links and pages, event types, availability rules, up to six connected Google, Outlook/Office 365 or Exchange calendars, reminders and workflows, Stripe and PayPal payments at booking, embeds and an API.
- Pricing
- Free with one event type and one calendar connection; Standard $10 and Teams $16 per seat per month on yearly billing; Enterprise starts at $15,000 per year with a 50-seat minimum, priced in USD and no other currency (calendly.com, as of September 2026; monthly-billed amounts not captured).
- Identity of the person booking
- The name and email the invitee types; no verification of the invitee is stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Where the meeting happens
- A Zoom, Google Meet or Microsoft Teams link added to the booking, per the help centre’s summary of its video conferencing article.
- Cal.comCal.com hosted scheduling and the cal.diy community edition
Cal.com’s hosted scheduling: booking pages and event types with unlimited calendar connections, workflows, Stripe and PayPal payments, iframe embeds and an API, with team round-robin and organisation SSO and SCIM on the paid plans, and an MIT community edition (cal.diy) for personal self-hosting.
- Pricing
- Free forever for individuals; Teams $12 and Organizations $28 per user per month on yearly billing with a 14-day trial; Enterprise custom (cal.com, as of September 2026; monthly-billed amounts not captured).
- Identity of the person booking
- The name and email the booker types; no verification of the booker is stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Where the meeting happens
- Cal Video (powered by Daily.co), Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, Zoom or one of 20+ other conferencing apps attached to the booking.
- Microsoft BookingsMicrosoft Bookings (Personal and Shared Bookings inside Microsoft 365)
Microsoft Bookings, the scheduling app inside Microsoft 365: a personal or shared booking page with services, staff and business hours, availability from the staff member’s Outlook calendar, a Teams meeting link per appointment, email reminders (SMS with Teams Premium), custom fields and an iFrame embed; appointments live in Exchange Online.
- Pricing
- No separate price; included in Microsoft 365 Business Basic, Standard and Premium, E3 and E5, Teams Essentials and Teams Premium among others, from $4.00 per user per month paid yearly for Teams Essentials (US list, microsoft.com, as of September 2026).
- Identity of the person booking
- The details the customer types on a public page, or a Microsoft Entra sign-in when the page is restricted to accounts of the organisation; no document, face or liveness check of the customer is stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Where the meeting happens
- A unique Microsoft Teams (or Skype) meeting link created per appointment, joinable by browser, app or dial-in, or the business’s address.
- Microsoft TeamsMicrosoft Teams meetings, with the Teams Premium add-on
Microsoft’s meetings, calling and chat product inside Microsoft 365, also sold standalone as Teams Essentials and Teams Enterprise, with Teams Premium as the add-on that carries end-to-end encrypted meetings and watermarking.
- Pricing
- Free tier with 60-minute group meetings for up to 100 participants; Teams Essentials $4.00 per user per month paid yearly; Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7.00; Teams Premium add-on $10.00 per user per month paid yearly on top of a Teams licence (US list, as of September 2026).
- Participant verification
- Trust Indicators label people outside the organisation as External, Guest, Unverified or Email Verified; organisers with Teams Premium can require anonymous joiners to enter an email one-time passcode. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- Encrypted in transit by default. End-to-end encrypted meetings need an organiser with a Teams Premium licence, run to 200 participants, and lose recording, captions, transcription and breakout rooms; one-to-one calls can be end-to-end encrypted without the add-on.
- ZoomZoom Meetings (Zoom Workplace Basic, Pro and Business)
Zoom Meetings inside Zoom Workplace: the video-meeting product with a free Basic tier, paid Pro and Business plans, and a beta integration with World ID Deep Face for human verification.
- Pricing
- Basic is free with 40-minute meetings for up to 100 participants; Workplace Pro starts at $19 per user per month billed annually and Business at $25 (US, as of September 2026); the World ID Deep Face integration has no published price.
- Participant verification
- Passcodes, the waiting room and authenticated-users-only are native controls. With the World ID Deep Face beta, a participant’s live frame is matched to their Orb enrolment image and an on-device face-authentication selfie and a Verified Human badge appears on the tile; no name is disclosed. Native deepfake risk alerts were announced in March 2026.
- Encryption
- AES 256-bit GCM with keys managed by Zoom’s servers by default. Optional end-to-end encryption with keys generated on participants’ devices, for up to 1,000 participants, with cloud recording, transcription, AI features, polls and apps unavailable.
- Google MeetGoogle Meet (free and inside Google Workspace)
Google’s video meeting product, free with a Google Account and included in every Google Workspace edition, with client-side encryption on Enterprise Plus and Education editions.
- Pricing
- Free with a Google Account for meetings up to 60 minutes and 100 participants; Workspace Business Starter $7, Business Standard $14 and Business Plus $22 per user per month at monthly billing, 16% less on a one-year commitment (US rendering, as of September 2026); Enterprise on request.
- Participant verification
- Participants sign in with a Google Account or are approved by the organiser; those outside the host’s domain are labelled External. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- Encrypted in transit by default (DTLS and SRTP). Client-side encryption on Enterprise Plus and Education editions keeps media unreadable to Google’s servers, with recordings, captions, transcription and Gemini features unavailable.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Acuity Scheduling’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 11 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Acuity Scheduling home: product description, Squarespace ownership, business figure Read 2026-09-11
- Acuity Scheduling pricing: plans, annual and monthly amounts, currency and tax line, trial, per-plan features Read 2026-09-11
- Acuity Scheduling features: calendar sync, reminders, payments, intake forms, embed, mobile app, API, HIPAA Read 2026-09-11
- Acuity Scheduling integrations: calendars, video, payments, other apps (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-11
- Acuity Scheduling developer portal: REST API, OAuth2, webhooks, versions Read 2026-09-11
- Squarespace terms of service: contracting entities, governing law, Acuity coverage Read 2026-09-11
- Squarespace security: PCI-DSS statement on payment integrations Read 2026-09-11
- Squarespace Form 10-K for 2021: the April 2019 Acuity acquisition Read 2026-09-11
- Squarespace Form 10-K for 2023: the scheduling offering, the enterprise version, the website add-on Read 2026-09-11
- Permira Completes Acquisition of Squarespace, exhibit 99.1 to the Form 8-K of 17 October 2024 Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published plans) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Meet product page, which carries Book (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Acuity Scheduling. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Book for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.