ZOREAL Book
Alternatives to Microsoft Bookings
Microsoft Bookings is the appointment-scheduling app inside Microsoft 365, not a product sold on its own: a web-based booking page integrated with Outlook, in a personal shape (your own meeting types and a shareable link) and a shared shape (services, staff members and business hours), with email and SMS notifications. ZOREAL Book is the scheduling product inside ZOREAL Meet: a client defines the kinds of appointment people can book with them, gets a hosted page and a snippet for their own site, and a guest picks a free slot from a calendar that never overlaps the host’s real one, with a booking that ends in a call ending in a Meet room. This page sets the two side by side: how a booking is made, who the booker is shown to be, which calendar each reads, where the meeting happens, and what each costs.
Information last reviewed 11 September 2026. Compared: Microsoft Bookings (Personal and Shared Bookings inside Microsoft 365) with ZOREAL Book. The Teams meeting a Bookings appointment can create is compared with ZOREAL Meet on the Microsoft Teams page; Microsoft’s other products and its group revenue are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Book and Microsoft Bookings differ
Where the booked call happens
Each Bookings appointment booked as an online meeting creates a unique Teams meeting link, joinable by browser, app or phone dial-in, per Microsoft’s overview. In ZOREAL Book a confirmed booking with a Meet room location creates a ZOREAL Meet room, joined by link in the browser, where the host can require a presence check at two levels (ZOREAL Presence, ZOREAL Identity), each a full liveness capture and a face match against the document read at enrolment.
Who the booker is shown to be
On a public Bookings page the customer is the email, phone and answers they typed; the alternative Microsoft offers is restricting the page to accounts of the organisation through a Microsoft Entra sign-in, which shows the booker holds a tenant account. On an open ZOREAL Book event type the guest confirms their address with a six-digit code before the booking is made, and the guest is not asked for a phone number. Who is in the call is what Meet’s own presence check proves, in the call.
Payments at booking
Microsoft’s FAQ answers the payment question directly: "No, there’s no payment support in Bookings." A service can show a price for display. A priced ZOREAL Book event type sends the guest to Stripe Checkout on the host’s own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold; paid is read back from Stripe, refunds are handled, and the booking asserts that the guest paid before the slot was held.
Calendar sources
Bookings takes staff availability from the staff member’s Microsoft 365 calendar in Exchange Online and is "a cloud-only application", not supported in a federated or hybrid environment; no other calendar source is stated in the public materials we reviewed. ZOREAL Book’s calendars are local or connected Google calendars, read for busy time and written to with the booking; slots are computed live at booking time and a database exclusion constraint refuses a second booking over the same minutes for the same host.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Book and Microsoft Bookings, based on public materials reviewed on 11 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Book | Microsoft Bookings |
|---|---|---|
| How a booking is made | Slots are computed live at booking time from the host’s availability schedule, date overrides, public holidays, buffers, minimum notice and booking window, minus busy time from every connected calendar, and a database exclusion constraint refuses a second booking over the same minutes for the same host. A priced event type sends the guest to Stripe Checkout on the host’s own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold. A confirmed booking with a Meet room location creates a ZOREAL Meet room; the guest gets a manage link and a calendar file, and the host’s connected calendar receives the event. | A customer opens the published booking page (book.ms, a shared link or an iFrame embed), picks a service, a staff member (or "Anyone", assigned at random) and a time computed from business hours, the scheduling policy (time increments, lead time, maximum days in advance) and the staff member’s Outlook free/busy, and enters email, phone, address and notes plus custom fields; Bookings creates the appointment in a Bookings mailbox in Exchange and sends a confirmation with an ics attachment. "Bookings will only let one person book that time." (Shared Bookings FAQ; define your services; scheduling policies). |
| Identity of the person booking | On an open event type the guest confirms their address with a six-digit code before the booking is made; the guest is not asked for a phone number. Who is in a call is what Meet’s own presence check proves, in the call. | The email, phone and answers the customer typed on a public page, or a Microsoft Entra sign-in when the page is set to "Require a Microsoft 365 or Office 365 account from my organization to book", which restricts it to the tenant. A document, face or liveness check of the customer is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Shared Bookings FAQ). |
| Calendar sources | Local calendars and connected Google calendars, for busy time and event writing: consent, sync, push, event writing, and blocks written to the account as busy events. | The staff member’s Microsoft 365 calendar in Exchange Online, when events on the calendar are set to affect availability and the staff member shares free/busy; staff can be added by any email address without a Microsoft 365 account, with no calendar sync stated for them. "Bookings is a cloud-only application. It isn’t supported in a federated or hybrid environment." Google Calendar, iCloud or CalDAV as a source is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Shared Bookings FAQ; overview). |
| Where the meeting happens | A confirmed booking with a Meet room location creates a ZOREAL Meet room, joined by link in the browser; the guest gets a manage link and a calendar file, and the host’s connected calendar receives the event. In the room the host can require a presence check at two levels, ZOREAL Presence (a real, enrolled, live human is present) and ZOREAL Identity (the same plus the verified legal name), each a full liveness capture and a face match against the document read at enrolment. A booking that does not end in a call still lives on the same calendar as the calls. | Each appointment booked as an online meeting creates a unique meeting link sent to attendees, joinable "via a web browser, phone dial-in, or the Skype or Teams application"; otherwise the location field carries the business address (overview; define your services). |
| Reminders and notifications | Confirmation, reschedule and cancel mails with a calendar file; the 24-hour and 1-hour reminders; approval, attendance confirmation, no-show and conflict handling. | Email confirmation, email reminders and email follow-up to customers, staff members or both, at chosen times before and after the appointment, with multiple reminder messages allowed; SMS text notifications require a Teams Premium licence and a valid United States, Canada or United Kingdom phone number, with the customer opting in per booking (define your services; SMS notifications page). |
| Payments | A priced event type sends the guest to Stripe Checkout on the host’s own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold; paid is read back from Stripe and refunds are handled. A paid booking asserts that the guest paid before the slot was held for them, referenced to a Stripe payment on the host’s own account. | "No, there’s no payment support in Bookings." A service can carry a price for display, and "Price not set" hides any reference to cost (Shared Bookings FAQ; define your services). |
| Pricing | Book has no rows of its own on the pricing page; it is part of the Meet plans. Free: unlimited meetings, up to 40 minutes per meeting, "Scheduling and calendar invitations" on both plans. Premium: up to 90 minutes per meeting, "Recurring meetings and series rescheduling". Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Joining a meeting by link is always free. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. | No separate price: "Bookings isn’t available as a standalone app." Included in Office 365 A3, A5, E1, E3, E5, F1, F3, G1, G3 and G5 and in Microsoft 365 A3, A5, E1, E3, E5, F1, F3, Business Basic, Business Standard, Business Premium, Teams Essentials and Teams Premium. US list prices, paid yearly: Teams Essentials "$4.00 user/month", Business Basic "$7.00", Business Standard "$14.00", Business Premium "$22.00", E3 "$39.00", E5 "$60.00"; the Teams Premium add-on, needed for SMS, "$10.00 user/month, paid yearly". Read through a rendering proxy of the microsoft.com plan pages; confirm in a browser (Shared Bookings FAQ; overview; plan pages, September 2026). |
| Integration | A hosted page on book.zoreal.com (book.zoreal.com/<handle> lists the active event types and book.zoreal.com/<handle>/<slug> is one of them), a one-tag snippet (embed.js, inline where the tag stands or as a layer on the host’s own button, rendered in an iframe so the host’s page never runs Book’s code and Book never reads the host’s page), and the SDK family the snippet is built from: @zoreal/book-js and @zoreal/book-react on npm, first released 2026-09-10. Calendars are local or connected Google calendars, for busy time and event writing. | The Microsoft Graph Bookings API for shared bookings ("The API is not applicable for personal bookings."), whose walkthrough starts with a Microsoft 365 Business Premium subscription; Exchange Web Services for data export and a .TSV report of the past 120 days; an iFrame embed of the booking page; apps inside Outlook and Teams. A webhook or an embed SDK beyond the iFrame is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (Graph API overview; Shared Bookings FAQ; overview). |
| Data handling and certifications | Every stored instant is UTC, every rule is in its schedule’s zone and every display is in the reader’s zone. On an open event type the guest confirms their address with a six-digit code before the booking is made; the guest is not asked for a phone number. Busy time is read from the host’s connected calendars and a booking is written into the host’s connected calendar. A retention period for bookings is not stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Book-specific certification is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | "All Bookings data is stored within the Microsoft 365 platform and in Exchange Online.", in shared mailboxes holding customer, staff, service and appointment details, under the compliance policies that apply to Exchange shared mailboxes; a customer data usage consent checkbox whose acceptance date and time is recorded; search-engine indexing of the page can be disabled; deleting a calendar deletes its Exchange mailbox. No certification specific to Bookings is stated: Bookings follows the data storage policies of every Microsoft 365 app, and Microsoft 365’s platform offerings are listed on Microsoft’s compliance hub (overview; Shared Bookings FAQ). |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Microsoft Bookings offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Book and Microsoft Bookings agree
Both are booking pages with appointment types and per-type policies: Bookings sets time increments, lead time and maximum days in advance and takes the staff member’s free/busy from their connected calendar; ZOREAL Book computes slots from the host’s availability schedule, date overrides, public holidays, buffers, minimum notice and booking window, minus busy time from every connected calendar. Both send the guest a confirmation carrying the appointment for their own calendar, an ics attachment on Bookings’ side and a calendar file on ZOREAL’s.
Both refuse two bookings of the same slot at the service, not at the client: "Bookings will only let one person book that time" when several people try at once, and a ZOREAL Book database exclusion constraint refuses a second booking over the same minutes for the same host. Both put the online appointment in a room of their own product, a Teams meeting link on Bookings’ side and a ZOREAL Meet room created on confirmation on ZOREAL’s, and both keep an in-person appointment, with the business address on Bookings and a booking that does not end in a call living on the same calendar as the calls in ZOREAL Book.
Neither claims that the person who booked is the person who turns up. Bookings’ tenant-restricted page shows that the booker signed in with an account of the organisation, and Microsoft states nothing beyond that. ZOREAL Book says so in writing: a confirmed booking asserts that a guest chose this slot and the slot was free on every calendar the host connected at that moment, and who is in a call is what Meet’s own presence check proves, in the call.
ZOREAL Book may fit you if
- You want the booked call to take place in a ZOREAL Meet room created on confirmation, where the host can require a presence check at the ZOREAL Presence or ZOREAL Identity level.
- You take payment at booking on your own Stripe account, with a ten-minute hold and a booking that asserts the guest paid before the slot was held.
- Your busy time lives in Google Calendar, read for busy time and written to with the booking, with blocks written to the account as busy events.
- You want scheduling that comes with the meeting product’s own plans. Included in the Free Meet plan (unlimited meetings up to 40 minutes, scheduling and calendar invitations); a guest books and joins without an account.
- You want the guest’s email address confirmed with a six-digit code before an open booking is made.
Microsoft Bookings may fit you if
- Your organisation already holds a Microsoft 365 or Teams licence on Microsoft’s Bookings list and wants scheduling at no separate price (Shared Bookings FAQ; plan pages).
- Your staff’s availability lives in Exchange Online and you want bookings kept inside the tenant’s compliance policies (overview).
- You want a Teams meeting link on every online appointment, joinable by browser, app or phone dial-in (overview).
- You need shared booking pages with staff assignment, group services with a maximum attendee count, multi-staff services and a Graph API (define your services; Graph API overview).
- You want SMS reminders, with a Teams Premium licence and United States, Canada or United Kingdom phone numbers (SMS notifications page).
Other alternatives to Microsoft Bookings
16 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Meet, from their own public materials.
- CalendlyCalendly scheduling (event types, booking pages, workflows, payments, embeds and API)
Calendly’s hosted scheduling: booking links and pages, event types, availability rules, up to six connected Google, Outlook/Office 365 or Exchange calendars, reminders and workflows, Stripe and PayPal payments at booking, embeds and an API.
- Pricing
- Free with one event type and one calendar connection; Standard $10 and Teams $16 per seat per month on yearly billing; Enterprise starts at $15,000 per year with a 50-seat minimum, priced in USD and no other currency (calendly.com, as of September 2026; monthly-billed amounts not captured).
- Identity of the person booking
- The name and email the invitee types; no verification of the invitee is stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Where the meeting happens
- A Zoom, Google Meet or Microsoft Teams link added to the booking, per the help centre’s summary of its video conferencing article.
- Cal.comCal.com hosted scheduling and the cal.diy community edition
Cal.com’s hosted scheduling: booking pages and event types with unlimited calendar connections, workflows, Stripe and PayPal payments, iframe embeds and an API, with team round-robin and organisation SSO and SCIM on the paid plans, and an MIT community edition (cal.diy) for personal self-hosting.
- Pricing
- Free forever for individuals; Teams $12 and Organizations $28 per user per month on yearly billing with a 14-day trial; Enterprise custom (cal.com, as of September 2026; monthly-billed amounts not captured).
- Identity of the person booking
- The name and email the booker types; no verification of the booker is stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Where the meeting happens
- Cal Video (powered by Daily.co), Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, Zoom or one of 20+ other conferencing apps attached to the booking.
- Acuity SchedulingAcuity Scheduling
Acuity Scheduling, a Squarespace product: a branded booking page for appointment-based businesses with staff and location calendars, Google Calendar, iCloud and Outlook sync, email and SMS reminders, intake forms, deposits and payments through Stripe, Square, PayPal or Venmo, packages and gift certificates, and an API on the Premium plan.
- Pricing
- Starter $16, Standard $27 and Premium $49 per month paying annually, or $20, $34 and $61 paying monthly, in USD with a 7-day trial and no free plan (acuityscheduling.com, as of September 2026).
- Identity of the person booking
- The name, email and phone the client types, plus intake form answers; no verification of the client is stated in the public materials we reviewed.
- Where the meeting happens
- In person at the business’s location, or a Google Meet, Zoom or GoToMeeting link attached to the appointment.
- Microsoft TeamsMicrosoft Teams meetings, with the Teams Premium add-on
Microsoft’s meetings, calling and chat product inside Microsoft 365, also sold standalone as Teams Essentials and Teams Enterprise, with Teams Premium as the add-on that carries end-to-end encrypted meetings and watermarking.
- Pricing
- Free tier with 60-minute group meetings for up to 100 participants; Teams Essentials $4.00 per user per month paid yearly; Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7.00; Teams Premium add-on $10.00 per user per month paid yearly on top of a Teams licence (US list, as of September 2026).
- Participant verification
- Trust Indicators label people outside the organisation as External, Guest, Unverified or Email Verified; organisers with Teams Premium can require anonymous joiners to enter an email one-time passcode. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- Encrypted in transit by default. End-to-end encrypted meetings need an organiser with a Teams Premium licence, run to 200 participants, and lose recording, captions, transcription and breakout rooms; one-to-one calls can be end-to-end encrypted without the add-on.
- ZoomZoom Meetings (Zoom Workplace Basic, Pro and Business)
Zoom Meetings inside Zoom Workplace: the video-meeting product with a free Basic tier, paid Pro and Business plans, and a beta integration with World ID Deep Face for human verification.
- Pricing
- Basic is free with 40-minute meetings for up to 100 participants; Workplace Pro starts at $19 per user per month billed annually and Business at $25 (US, as of September 2026); the World ID Deep Face integration has no published price.
- Participant verification
- Passcodes, the waiting room and authenticated-users-only are native controls. With the World ID Deep Face beta, a participant’s live frame is matched to their Orb enrolment image and an on-device face-authentication selfie and a Verified Human badge appears on the tile; no name is disclosed. Native deepfake risk alerts were announced in March 2026.
- Encryption
- AES 256-bit GCM with keys managed by Zoom’s servers by default. Optional end-to-end encryption with keys generated on participants’ devices, for up to 1,000 participants, with cloud recording, transcription, AI features, polls and apps unavailable.
- Google MeetGoogle Meet (free and inside Google Workspace)
Google’s video meeting product, free with a Google Account and included in every Google Workspace edition, with client-side encryption on Enterprise Plus and Education editions.
- Pricing
- Free with a Google Account for meetings up to 60 minutes and 100 participants; Workspace Business Starter $7, Business Standard $14 and Business Plus $22 per user per month at monthly billing, 16% less on a one-year commitment (US rendering, as of September 2026); Enterprise on request.
- Participant verification
- Participants sign in with a Google Account or are approved by the organiser; those outside the host’s domain are labelled External. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- Encrypted in transit by default (DTLS and SRTP). Client-side encryption on Enterprise Plus and Education editions keeps media unreadable to Google’s servers, with recordings, captions, transcription and Gemini features unavailable.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Microsoft Bookings’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 11 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Microsoft Bookings overview: Personal and Shared Bookings, Teams meeting link, data storage, subscription list Read 2026-09-11
- Shared Bookings frequently asked questions: subscriptions, standalone statement, payments, embed, staff without accounts, tenant restriction, concurrency, hybrid, data location Read 2026-09-11
- Define your services in Shared Bookings: online meeting, buffers, price options, attendees, custom fields, notifications, SMS licence Read 2026-09-11
- Set Bookings scheduling policies: time increments, lead time, maximum days in advance, notifications Read 2026-09-11
- Configure SMS text notifications in Bookings: Teams Premium, phone-number countries, opt-in Read 2026-09-11
- Microsoft Bookings API in Microsoft Graph for shared bookings: resources, scope, Business Premium note Read 2026-09-11
- Microsoft Teams Essentials: price, Bookings line (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-11
- Microsoft 365 Business Basic: price, Bookings line (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-11
- Microsoft 365 Business Standard: price, Bookings line (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-11
- Microsoft 365 Business Premium: price, Bookings line (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-11
- Compare Microsoft Teams enterprise options: E3 and E5 prices, Bookings and Shifts line (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-11
- Microsoft Teams Premium: add-on price (read through a rendering proxy) Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft compliance offerings hub (platform-level) Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 30 June 2026: entity, headquarters, ticker Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published plans) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Meet product page, which carries Book (our own published claims) Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Microsoft Bookings. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Book for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.