ZOREAL Meet
Alternatives to Microsoft Teams
Microsoft Teams is Microsoft’s meetings, calling and chat product, sold inside Microsoft 365, standalone as Teams Essentials and Teams Enterprise, and with Teams Premium as the add-on that carries end-to-end encrypted meetings and watermarking. ZOREAL Meet is video and voice meetings in the browser, joined by link, where the host can require every participant to prove that a live, enrolled human is present, with or without disclosing their verified name. This page sets the two side by side on participant identity, encryption, pricing and what each product carries inside the meeting.
Information last reviewed 10 September 2026. Compared: Teams meetings (the lobby, participant labelling, recording, transcription and the end-to-end encrypted mode) with ZOREAL Meet. Teams Phone, Teams Rooms hardware, town halls, webinars, the chat and channel surface, and Microsoft’s suite revenue are out of scope.
Where ZOREAL Meet and Microsoft Teams differ
Built into the call
ZOREAL Meet has built-in deepfake protection. ZOREAL Meet has built-in voice-cloning detection.
Identity in the meeting
ZOREAL Meet has built-in ID verification, so you can identify the person in the meeting: for a job interview, or any conversation where identity matters. ZOREAL Meet has built-in proof of human inside the meeting.
Seat price beside seat price
Teams Essentials is listed at $4.00 per user per month paid yearly, Microsoft 365 Business Basic at $7.00, and Teams Premium, the add-on an organiser needs for end-to-end encrypted meetings, at $10.00 per user per month paid yearly on top of a Teams licence (US list, September 2026). ZOREAL Meet: Free plan with unlimited 40-minute meetings; Premium for more; the encrypted room is a host setting rather than an add-on licence, and current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing.
Two encrypted modes, two claims
In an end-to-end encrypted Teams meeting the organiser holds a Teams Premium licence, up to 200 people attend, and recording, live captions, transcription, breakout rooms and phone dial-in are unavailable because the service cannot decrypt media. ZOREAL Meet: Encrypted in transit by default and readable at the media nodes; the host can start an encrypted room (SFrame end to end) in which the nodes cannot read the call and recording, transcription and AI notes are refused.
Side by side
Comparison of ZOREAL Meet and Microsoft Teams, based on public materials reviewed on 10 September 2026.
| Attribute | ZOREAL Meet | Microsoft Teams |
|---|---|---|
| Identity verification at call time | ZOREAL Meet has built-in ID verification, so you can identify the person in the meeting: for a job interview, or any conversation where identity matters. A presence check is an OAuth login: ZOREAL Meet is a relying party of the ZOREAL OpenID Provider over the same pairing protocol every relying party uses. The participant scans a QR code with the ZOREAL ID app, runs the full liveness capture, is face-matched server-side against the document read at enrolment, and approves with a device signature from a hardware-bound, biometric-gated key. The provider derives the assurance from a presence attestation it minted itself, the acr floor is enforced on the claim, and the verdict is written to room metadata by the server, never self-declared by a participant. Both levels run the same capture and the same match; they differ only in what the room learns. A check runs when the host asks a participant, or everyone who joins from then on, to prove presence; the badge lasts for that connection. | A participant is a Microsoft Entra work or school account in the host’s tenant, a trusted tenant or a guest. People outside the organisation carry a Trust Indicator: External, Guest, Unverified (an anonymous user Teams cannot verify) or Email Verified (a person who verified ownership of an email address); organisers with Teams Premium can require anonymous joiners to enter a one-time passcode sent to their email. A document, face or liveness check for participants is not stated in the materials we reviewed (learn.microsoft.com, September 2026). |
| Proof of human | ZOREAL Meet has built-in proof of human inside the meeting. | A check that a live human is on the tile is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: trust indicators, anonymous users in meetings, lobby, end-to-end encryption, Teams Premium overview and the microsoft.com plan pages). The join-time signals are the account and, with Teams Premium, the email passcode. |
| Deepfake and voice-clone detection | ZOREAL Meet has built-in deepfake protection. ZOREAL Meet has built-in voice-cloning detection. | Detection of synthetic video or audio of a participant is not stated in the public materials we reviewed (pages read: the Teams admin pages on trust indicators, anonymous users, the lobby, end-to-end encryption, watermarking and external bots, the Teams Premium overview and the microsoft.com plan pages). The external-bot page covers AI note-takers joining a meeting, not synthetic media of a person. |
| Free tier | Unlimited meetings of up to 40 minutes on the Free plan, 25 on video and 100 attendees, proof of human presence included; joining by link never needs an account or a plan | Free group calls and meetings for up to 60 minutes, with up to 100 participants per meeting (microsoft.com, September 2026). |
| Paid plans | Free: unlimited meetings, up to 40 minutes per meeting, 25 on video and 100 attendees, proof of human presence included, meeting history 30 days. Premium: up to 90 minutes per meeting, presence with verified name metered per check, require presence when joining, audio recording, email meeting minutes to attendees, AI agents metered per listening minute, AI Knowledge, AI note taking listed as "Coming soon" and metered per meeting hour, meeting history unlimited. Premium is priced per user, monthly or yearly, with two months free on yearly billing; every organization member is a paid Premium seat; metered usage is charged separately. Enterprise: contact us. Joining a meeting by link is always free. Current prices are on the ZOREAL price list at zoreal.com/pricing. | Teams Essentials $4.00 per user per month paid yearly, with meetings up to 30 hours and 300 participants; Microsoft 365 Business Basic $7.00; Teams Premium add-on $10.00 per user per month paid yearly, requiring a separate Teams licence; enterprise plans run to 1,000 participants (US list, microsoft.com, September 2026). |
| Encryption | Encrypted in transit by default and readable at the media nodes; the host can start an encrypted room (SFrame end to end) in which the nodes cannot read the call and recording, transcription and AI notes are refused | Standard encryption applies by default. End-to-end encryption is a per-meeting option: the organiser needs a Teams Premium licence, a maximum of 200 participants can attend, and recording, live captions and transcription, breakout rooms and phone dial-in are unavailable because the service cannot decrypt media. One-to-one calls can be end-to-end encrypted without Teams Premium (learn.microsoft.com, updated 28 August 2026). |
| Certifications | Organization-level, as zoreal.com lists them for Bynn Intelligence, Inc.: SOC 2 (attestation), PCI DSS (SAQ A), GDPR (data protection), ISO/IEC 27001:2022 (information security certification) and CSA STAR Level One (cloud security self-assessment). No Meet-specific certification is stated on zoreal.com as of September 2026. | Microsoft’s compliance offerings hub for Microsoft 365 lists ISO 27001, ISO 27017, ISO 27018, ISO 27701, ISO 42001, SOC 1, SOC 2, SOC 3, FedRAMP, HIPAA, HITRUST, GDPR and C5 among others; the hub covers Microsoft 365 as a whole and the Teams-specific scope sits on each offering’s page (learn.microsoft.com, updated 14 October 2025). |
| Booking | Booking is built into Meet: meeting booking inside the product, included. | Scheduled and instant meetings; scheduled meeting links expire 60 days after the scheduled time (public preview). A booking page inside Teams where a guest picks a free slot is not stated in the Teams materials we reviewed; Microsoft Bookings is compared on its own page. |
| Meeting agents | Meet is unique in its meeting agents: create agents with memory, a CFO agent for example, that have access to previous meeting transcripts and minutes and can be invited into meetings. | Teams Essentials lists unlimited meetings with recordings and transcripts. An agent that joins a meeting with memory of previous meetings is not stated in the Teams materials we reviewed (pages read: the Teams Premium overview, the plan pages, the end-to-end encryption and external-bot pages). |
Third-party details on this page reflect what each provider publicly stated on the review date shown above and may have changed since. Where a provider does not state something publicly, this page says so rather than assuming. Statements about what Microsoft Teams offers reflect its public materials on the review date; absence of a feature from those materials does not mean it is unavailable. ZOREAL's current prices are on the ZOREAL price list.
Where ZOREAL Meet and Microsoft Teams agree
Both encrypt transport by default and neither is end-to-end encrypted by default. Both offer an end-to-end mode the organiser opts into per meeting, and both name that claim narrowly: Teams says the service cannot decrypt media, ZOREAL says the media nodes cannot read the call. In both products that mode turns off recording, captions and transcription, because those features need service-side access to the media.
Both put a signal on the tile that the participant did not set themselves. Teams derives its Trust Indicators from the account: which tenant a person belongs to, whether they are a guest, whether they verified an email address. ZOREAL writes its presence verdict to room metadata from the server. The two answer different questions, which organisation an account belongs to against whether a live enrolled human is present, and neither lets a participant self-declare the badge.
Both have a free tier at no charge for up to 100 participants; Teams allows 60 minutes per free group meeting and ZOREAL 40. On paid plans Teams meetings run to 30 hours and 300 or 1,000 participants, while ZOREAL Premium runs to 90 minutes with 25 on video and 100 attendees. If meeting size or length is the deciding factor, the numbers favour Teams and this page says so.
ZOREAL Meet may fit you if
- You want the host to be able to require, of anyone joining, a presence check bound to a government document chip and a live face, with the verified legal name shown at the Identity level
- You want deepfake and voice-clone protection and proof of human inside the call rather than as a separate tool
- You want an encrypted room as a host setting on any plan, and a Free plan with unlimited 40-minute meetings
- You want booking pages and meeting agents with memory of previous meetings inside the same product
Microsoft Teams may fit you if
- Your organisation already licenses Microsoft 365 and Teams is included in the seat
- You need meetings of up to 300 or 1,000 participants, or meetings up to 30 hours long
- You want a free tier with 60-minute group meetings for up to 100 participants
- You need end-to-end encrypted one-to-one calls without an add-on licence, or the Microsoft 365 compliance set behind your meetings
Other alternatives to Microsoft Teams
16 more vendors compared under ZOREAL Meet, from their own public materials.
- ZoomZoom Meetings (Zoom Workplace Basic, Pro and Business)
Zoom Meetings inside Zoom Workplace: the video-meeting product with a free Basic tier, paid Pro and Business plans, and a beta integration with World ID Deep Face for human verification.
- Pricing
- Basic is free with 40-minute meetings for up to 100 participants; Workplace Pro starts at $19 per user per month billed annually and Business at $25 (US, as of September 2026); the World ID Deep Face integration has no published price.
- Participant verification
- Passcodes, the waiting room and authenticated-users-only are native controls. With the World ID Deep Face beta, a participant’s live frame is matched to their Orb enrolment image and an on-device face-authentication selfie and a Verified Human badge appears on the tile; no name is disclosed. Native deepfake risk alerts were announced in March 2026.
- Encryption
- AES 256-bit GCM with keys managed by Zoom’s servers by default. Optional end-to-end encryption with keys generated on participants’ devices, for up to 1,000 participants, with cloud recording, transcription, AI features, polls and apps unavailable.
- Google MeetGoogle Meet (free and inside Google Workspace)
Google’s video meeting product, free with a Google Account and included in every Google Workspace edition, with client-side encryption on Enterprise Plus and Education editions.
- Pricing
- Free with a Google Account for meetings up to 60 minutes and 100 participants; Workspace Business Starter $7, Business Standard $14 and Business Plus $22 per user per month at monthly billing, 16% less on a one-year commitment (US rendering, as of September 2026); Enterprise on request.
- Participant verification
- Participants sign in with a Google Account or are approved by the organiser; those outside the host’s domain are labelled External. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- Encrypted in transit by default (DTLS and SRTP). Client-side encryption on Enterprise Plus and Education editions keeps media unreadable to Google’s servers, with recordings, captions, transcription and Gemini features unavailable.
- Tencent MeetingTencent Meeting (China) and VooV Meeting (international)
Tencent’s video meeting product, sold as Tencent Meeting in China and VooV Meeting internationally, with free, Professional, Business and Enterprise editions.
- Pricing
- Free for 100 participants and 40 minutes; Professional from CNY 82.34 per account per month on an annual purchase, or CNY 98 monthly (China, as of September 2026); VooV Meeting Pro $14.99 per month or $149.00 for 12 months on the US App Store.
- Participant verification
- Account sign-in with passwords, waiting rooms, meeting lock and watermarks. A document, face or liveness check for participants is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- SSL and AES-256 encryption stated; an end-to-end encrypted mode is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Cisco WebexWebex Meetings (Webex Free, Webex Meet, Webex Suite, Webex Enterprise)
Cisco’s Webex Meetings, sold as Webex Free, Webex Meet, Webex Suite and Webex Enterprise, with an optional Zero Trust end-to-end encrypted meeting mode.
- Pricing
- Free with 40-minute meetings for up to 100 attendees; Webex Meet $144 per user per year, shown as $12 per user per month, for 24-hour meetings and 200 attendees; Webex Suite (Meet + Call) $270 per user per year; Enterprise on request (US, as of September 2026).
- Participant verification
- Signed-in Webex identity or guest, with a lobby for guests and unverified users and passwords for phone and video-system joiners; Zero Trust meetings exchange per-participant certificates and show a shared security code. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- TLS 1.2 or later with AES-256-GCM in transit by default; Zero Trust meetings use MLS and SFrame so keys stay with participants, with recording, transcription, the AI Assistant and phone dial-in unsupported.
- GoTo MeetingGoTo Meeting (Professional, Business and Enterprise plans)
GoTo’s video meeting product, sold per organiser in Professional, Business and Enterprise plans alongside GoTo Connect and GoTo Webinar.
- Pricing
- Priced per organiser per month, billed annually, in Professional (150 participants), Business (250) and Enterprise (custom) plans; the amounts on goto.com did not render in the materials we captured on 10 September 2026, so none is quoted. A free trial needs no credit card.
- Participant verification
- Join by link; the organiser can lock the meeting after it starts and approve additional guests before they join. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- SRTP with AES-128 for video and audio, TLS in transit and AES-256 at rest for screen sharing and chat; an end-to-end encrypted mode is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- RingCentral VideoRingCentral Video (free meetings and inside the RingEX seat)
RingCentral’s video meetings, free as RingCentral Video and included in the RingEX phone, messaging and video seat.
- Pricing
- Free meetings with 50-minute meetings for up to 100 participants; RingEX Core $20 per user per month paid annually (or $30 monthly), Advanced $25 and Ultra $35, each including telephony (US, as of September 2026); the standalone paid Video plan price was not rendered in the materials we reviewed.
- Participant verification
- Account sign-in or join by link. A document, face or liveness check is not stated in the materials we reviewed.
- Encryption
- A user-toggled dynamic end-to-end encryption option; what it disables, its participant limit and the default encryption of a standard meeting are not stated in the materials we reviewed.
Common questions
How we compared
This comparison is based on publicly available information from Microsoft Teams’s official website, documentation, pricing and published materials, and on ZOREAL’s own published product pages and pricing, as reviewed on 10 September 2026. Features, pricing and availability may change at any time. Verify current details directly with each provider before deciding.
Nothing on this page is legal advice. Which electronic signature method satisfies which law, what level of identity assurance a regulation requires, and whether a content signature or provenance mark meets a given standard all depend on the jurisdiction and the regulator’s guidance. ZOREAL Sign asserts no legal effect for the signatures it records. Confirm your obligations with qualified counsel before choosing a method.
Sources
- Microsoft Teams free tier limits Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft Teams Essentials price and limits Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft Teams business plans and prices Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft Teams Premium price and protection features Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft Teams enterprise plans and prices Read 2026-09-10
- End-to-end encryption for Teams meetings and one-to-one calls Read 2026-09-10
- Trust Indicators: External, Guest, Unverified, Email Verified Read 2026-09-10
- Anonymous participants and the email one-time passcode Read 2026-09-10
- External bot detection in the lobby Read 2026-09-10
- Teams Premium admin overview Read 2026-09-10
- Limits and specifications for Microsoft Teams Read 2026-09-10
- Microsoft compliance offerings hub Read 2026-09-10
- ZOREAL pricing (our own published plans) Read 2026-09-11
- ZOREAL Meet product page Read 2026-09-11
ZOREAL is operated by Bynn Intelligence, Inc. and is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by Microsoft Teams. Third-party names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners and are used only to identify the products being compared.
See ZOREAL Meet for yourself.
A product walkthrough, pricing or volume terms, with the ZOREAL team.